We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marystown Hotel & Convention Centre

76 Ville Marie Drive, Marystown, Newfoundland and Labrador A0E 2M0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marystown
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Marystown Hotel & Convention Centre
Add a photo

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    4
    12
    10
    7
    19
See reviews for
13
6
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
St. John's, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here this past weekend and what a horrible experience. I will say that the room was clean but that was the only positive thing that I can say. I was there with my son for soccer so we had two early mornings, we needed sleep. Friday night there was a wedding and a DJ in the hotel bar,... More 

Colborne, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My nephew got married in Marystown last weekend and had the reception at this hotel. We had booked our rooms 1 year in advance. My brother booked his room first and then a few minutes later I called to book mine. When I called to book mine I told them that I would like to have my room for the... More 

PeterK431, Operations Manager at Marystown Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay at our hotel. Notably the weekend you stayed we were at full capacity with large numbers of check-outs and new arrivals on Saturday. Check in time is 3pm & check out time is 11am and while we try to be lenient, at times like this we have to try and abide by... More 

Travelers are raving about these Marystown hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

We stayed here on 23 of July 2015 first of all the rooms are like little coffins very dark and grungy then to top it off my daughter found a used condo in our room. So much for clean and comfortable hotel first and last time in that fleabag hotel. And for all the grief it caused my wife and... More 

PeterK431, Operations Manager at Marystown Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

After a thorough investigation of your claim we have conducted disciplinary discussions with the employee responsible for cleaning your room on that date. We cannot apologize enough for the ordeal you and your family went through after checking in and fully understand your disappointment and anger. We also understand and accept your review of what happened but in all fairness... More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

My husband and I attended an event with a group of friends in Marystown for a weekend and the majority of our group stayed at the hotel. It was not the first time we stayed there. We stayed there the year before in a room that had an entrance to the parking lot as well as inside the hotel. Our... More 

PeterK431, Operations Manager at Marystown Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it’s always great to see good reviews from repeat customers. We do apologize for the noisy AC but we are pleased to state that we are replacing all those old window units with new incremental heating and cooling units. More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I was there on business. The rooms were spacious, clean and bright. The staff is friendly and helpful. Restaurant onsite. Next to grocery store & mall. It not new but keep up good. I would stay here again.

PeterK431, Operations Manager at Marystown Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

It's always a pleasure to read positive reviews; thank you Heather. More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Stayed here for a few nights in winter, pretty much snowed in for one day. It's OK - room was clean, staff were helpful and friendly, and the attached restaurant was pretty good too. Yes, it is an older place, but no real issues, other than be careful when you stay - as I see from some other reviews, it... More 

PeterK431, Operations Manager at Marystown Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Thank you nixfix70 Your review and observation is very much appreciated and look forward to having you stay with us again More 

St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Room was clean and restaurant in hotel was good. However the lady at the front desk was incredibly rude and unprofessional, it ruined an otherwise pleasant stay. Only other hotel in town burned down last week so I guess I will be staying in BnB's instead.

PeterK431, Operations Manager at Marystown Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear about your objectionable experience with our GSR which ruined an otherwise pleasant stay. We trust our handling of this unfortunate incident was handled to your satisfaction after our GM contacted you on this matter. Once again I have to reiterate if any customer is dissatisfied with the service or accommodations... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Stayed one night at this hotel. Its old and outdated. But clean and staff were friendly, and it seems to be pretty busy, so the bar and restaurant had the feeling of being alive, although the food was nothing to remember. Its location in the heart of Marystown is convenient, but there are newer motels in the area.

PeterK431, operations manager at Marystown Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. There’s nothing we can do about the age of our Hotel but we are working on upgrading anything outdated. Our guest rooms take priority and that’s where we've concentrated most of our efforts but we’ve also updated our restaurant & banquet facilities. This year our lobby & reception area will receive a facelift and we will... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Terribly rude receptionist and staff....ignorant and unpleasant. I was denied my room first, as I didn't sound as young on the phone when booking my reservation and then demanded to show my id, regardless of being in my mid 20's and have already paid for the room. I've stayed away since my encounter with this staff, and directed my friends... More 

PeterK431, operations manager at Marystown Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It’s been to long since your stay to adequately investigate your experience and do apologize if our staff were rude to you. Our staff are expected to treat all customers politely & respectfully but they also have to exercise due diligence at times. If they suspect a room is being rented to a minor that... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice and clean. Beds were comfortable. The kids and drunk adults yelling and screaming all hours of the night on weekends was not pleasant. The staff moved me to another room and things were better.

PeterK431, operations manager at Marystown Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for a great rating and review. We’re pleased to hear our staff was accommodating and made your stay with us more enjoyable More 

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marystown
0.0 mi away
St. Jude Hotel
St. Jude Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clarenville
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarenville Inn
Clarenville Inn
#2 of 4 in Clarenville
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 21 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fortune
Hotel Fortune
#1 of 4 in Fortune
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fortune Harbour View B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities