We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Holyrood hotels

The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites

299 Salmonier Line | Route 90, Holyrood, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites to your Saves list
The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
65%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Holyrood
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Celine A Burin, Newfoundland, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (47)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    6
    9
    2
See reviews for
3
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Falls, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (after 3p.m.), we did not receive our wake up call for the next morning & to top it all off....I found a sanitary napkin backing strip down by the corner of the bed! I was disgusted! Obviously the room wasn't cleaned very well which made me feel not clean. It was also an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burin, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We discovered this place because everything was sold out in St John's. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff is really kind and the place is beautiful. Sure we'll come back if we have the oppurtunity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Wilds_Mgmt, Manager at The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites, responded to this review

Hello Celine, great to hear from you! Thank you for the great review. We love that you had a fantastic time with us during your stay. We also look forward to your next stay with us. Until we see you again! More

st. john's, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was at a wedding on July 11/14 and would like to express my congrats on the wonderful customer services I received from the time I called to confirm the time my room would be available to the second I left. When we arrived we were greeted with courtesy and checked in at timely fashion, (the room was lovely with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Wilds_Mgmt, Manager at The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites, responded to this review

Hello Paul, glad you had an awesome time! We are looking forward to the next time you visit us. By that time, we should have even more updates to our property completed and ready for you to use. Thanks again! More

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't want to be too hard on this place as there isn't anything terrible about it, it is just bland and dull. The room was reminiscent of a Travelodge and the food was OK but not very interesting. We weren't there for the golf and I am sure golfers would have their view coloured by the course but as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Wilds_Mgmt, Manager at The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites, responded to this review

Hello MacEddey family! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Wilds during your stay. We are pleased that you found our amenities conducive to your stay. We are sorry to hear that you found our rooms bland in appearance. We are currently working on updating our hotel rooms to match the splendid interiors of our Villas and Cottages. Perhaps... More

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

What a breath taking place and although we only golfed for the day it was a beautiful experience and we will return again soon. Driving directions and sign-age could be improved as GPS is not much help. Customer Service was very newfoundlandish.....in other words "excellent"!

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Wilds_Mgmt, Manager at The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites, responded to this review

Hi Glenn, thank you for your awesome review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It always pleases us to hear that our customers have had an awesome time! Thank you for the heads up on the GPS system. We are looking into them in order to better direct customers to our location, as we know we are... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This was the most disappointing part of my stay in Newfoundland. The young lady on reception when we checked in was very pleasant but was apparently running the thing single-handed, juggling phone enquiries about the golf and the hotel and trying to check people in. We were informed that there was a walk on the grounds, unfortunately this doesn't appear... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Wilds_Mgmt, Manager at The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant time at our resort. The quality level of our food was rather surprising, as we have not had any negative reviews concerning food in recent memory. We will certainly check into it to make sure our quality levels are kept high. As our resort is one of the... More

Travelers are raving about these Holyrood hotels

Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The directions to the property are not sign posted at all. It just appears on the highway! The address says it is in Holyrood but the GPS does not show it. The lady at the check in acknowledged that there is a problem with the address. The property itself appeared beautiful but not the accommodations. This is a basically golfing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Wilds_Mgmt, Manager at The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant time at our resort. As per your review, we are primarily a Golf destination during the summer months. Our website does outline that Golf is one of our three main features. We apologize for not being able to make this clearer, as we understand the noise of a... More

St. John's Newfoundland Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just got back from a 2 day retreat at the Wilds. The room I was in was fantastic. It was nice and clean and had a king size bed, mini bar fridge, fireplace and a 40 inch flat screen. The ceiling was very high and gave the room a bigger feel. Check in was easy. The staff were all pleasant.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

A group of friends and myself are just back from a stay at The Wilds cottages. It was beautiful, I have to be honest. However we were very disappointed with the readiness of the facility. Upon arriving there was a sheet of ice in the driveway about 2" thick, no sign of anyone trying to break it up or even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Wilds Golf Resort staff have been an absolute PLEASURE to deal with this year. We're currently here for our 17th Paperie Scrapbook Retreat, and for five days we've had fantastic customer service, warm & cosy NEW beds/bedding and great food! They have the chef and management team from The Battery and everyone has been very kind and accommodating. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites

Address: 299 Salmonier Line | Route 90, Holyrood, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Holyrood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilds At Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites Holyrood, Newfoundland

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A four-season resort located in beautiful Salmonier Line, Newfoundland. Nestled deep in nature, The Wilds represents Newfoundland hospitality and adventure. Come play with nature at The Wilds! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
100

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites and other travelers.
1 question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Wilds at Salmonier River Hotel Rooms & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer