We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
42 Old Airport Road, North Head, New Brunswick E5G 1A9, Canada
Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    2
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After reading some previous reviews, I was a little apprehensive about what to expect. From check in to checkout, it was an amazing experience. I drove slow on the "rougher" roads and had no problems. I had been tempted to bring earplugs after reading about the foghorn, but actually found it quite comforting to hear as I fell asleep. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

WOW! This is one of the best campgrounds I have been to. Not for amenities and man made fun but for the natural beauty of Grand Manan. We were staying on the Cliff Top sites as we have an 8 year old but from there we were able to hear the calls and "huffs" of the whales and seen them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canada
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was so prepared to enjoy our time there. Everything looked so perfect and we couldn't have asked for more.. until we dealt with the owner and staff. I've never been spoken to so rudely for no reason or treated like some kind of criminal. We were not aware that showers needed to be paid for prior to arriving and when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KathleenS17, Owner at Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground, responded to this review

Terrible Customer Service, etc. I trust that you did find congenial activity on Grand Manan. The shower prices are posted and on hand outs. And all of us champion all of Grand Manan, its people, and everyone that we interact with. I do wish you had spoken to me or my assistant before leaving and perhaps could have clarified some... More 

Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights last week and enjoyed it immensely. When we checked in we were given information about Grand Manan and offered a hiking map to the island and were also showed some hiking trails we could access within the campground. From our campsite we hiked approx 45 mins to the Swallowtail Lighthouse and another short hike... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I (and our dog), and at times our extended family, have been camping at the hole-in-the-wall campground for years. We love this place! The views from the campsites are amazing. You can see the Swallowtail Lighthouse, high cliffs, whales passing by, ferries and fishing boats passing, coves, caves, and of course the hole in the wall. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this was the most amazing camping experience. I can't even begin to describe the beauty of this place,still wild still rough around the edges and oh so beautiful. We camped in cliff top section D and have never been in a more perfect site. We wTched seals and whales and fishing boats and ferries. The staff was friendly and accommodating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fredericton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 via mobile

This campground is so beautiful that it seems unbelievable or surreal. With side campsites are like no place I have ever seen and their hiking trails are extraordinarily beautiful. You can watch the sunrise out of the ocean and look down on the whales spouting in the bays and inlets below. It is off the charts gorgeous. However….... Your campsite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Guttenberg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for breathtaking views, and an adventurous cliff side camping spot, on a a quaint, low key non-corporate and friendly island- this is the place! Hole in the wall provided all the basic necessities: showers, rest rooms, soda, water, ice, firewood, etc for a comfortable campground- all on the honor system. This kind of hospitality makes staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
KathleenS17, Owner at Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send on your kind comments. The feed back from our guests is important to all of the team at Hole in the Wall. Regards, Kaye More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

This campground is incredibly unique as you pitch you tent on the cliffs of Grand Manan looking out into the ocean. The sunrise on the ocean horizon was serene. I woke up and could see whales from my tent and you can often hear them singing in the evenings. This area offers such a special and different experience. I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KathleenS17, Owner at Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground, responded to this review

Excellent Place. Your review is well received -- and happy to know there were some compensations for the au natural road systems. As to the check in, experience has been the teacher. First there is the geography of the campsite -- the sites are easily located in some areas, in others, it is more complicated. Secondly, all the sites cannot... More 

Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Fantastic views, fabulous management/owner! Treated fantastically and can't wait for next year to return!!! They even took time to recommend the best coffee shop I have been to, even beat my Tim's craving lol!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
KathleenS17, Owner at Hole-in-the-Wall Park & Campground, responded to this review

Sorry to reply months later. We do appreciate the feedback and work with the positive (and negative comments) as we prepare for summer 2015. Please join us again.Kaye More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Manan
25.0 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marathon Inn
Marathon Inn
#1 of 1 in North Head
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.8 mi away
SeaCup Inn
SeaCup Inn
#4 of 8 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#2 of 8 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
18.5 mi away
45th Parallel Motel and Restaurant
19.7 mi away
Harbour Tide Inn
Harbour Tide Inn
#1 of 1 in Blacks Harbour
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities