We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Smithers hotels

Aspen Inn & Suites

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4268 Highway 16, Smithers, British Columbia V0J 2N0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Aspen Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Aspen Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Smithers
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Steven M Winnipeg, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (53)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
14
11
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've been impressed each time I've stayed here at the effort the owner is putting into improving the property. The furniture is beautiful solid wood, the fixtures are high quality, the masonry on the exterior is really nicely done. The rooms have always been clean and the staff are nice. It has definitely avoided the depressing half-baked renos seen on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owensboro, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in a suite with a separated living space and bedroom, very roomy. Prob wasn't the cleanest place in the world, but it was fine. The internet didn't work and when I went down to reception to see if there was a problem they didn't seem to be bothered enough to fix it. Restaurant was very good but was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do not be fooled by the nice photos on line they DO NOT REPRESENT the actual place. The bedspreads/comforter were old, lumpy and appeared to have seen better days a long time ago, thankfully we had extra blankets and did not use the provided comforters..there was a noticeable odour upon entering the room of dirty carpet, nothing in this room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Gerold. I was disappointed to hear that your time @ The Aspen was not enjoyable. After our phone call we have refunded your CC. It is however unfortunate that this issue was only brought to our attention at the last minute and that our front desk was not given the chance to rectify the situation. Our front desk agent... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here a few times but never really noticed how crappy the WIFI is until this visit. I have been disconnected once every 10 or so minutes. The hotel has a restaurant on site but does not offer room service. Really? You don't think it would be that hard to figure out. The room is tidy and clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello Reno 51. Thank you so much for your positive view on Mary. We are very happy to have Mary with The Aspen Inn. Our Internet has finally been upgraded by Telus today June 27th our speed was quadrupled . This will fix the internet issues from this day forth. As for Room service we are very rarely asked. This... More

PG, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Because of my job I stay there at least twice a week. Since the beginning of this year, their wi-fi has not worked properly. It continuously disconnects. After repeated complaints to the front desk staff, it still has not improved. I think good internet service has become as much of a mainstay as TV in hotel rooms these days and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Terhel. Thank you for your review. We have been lobbying hard for the providers to increase the quality of internet provided. This is not an issue of our equipment as we have invested a great deal of time and money into our wireless. The issue is that the wireless providers who offer service in this area only offer small... More

Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The room was what one would expect from a typical small town roadside motel. However it was comfortable and clean. The staff were really nice and as value for money there are no complaints. The breakfast was hearty and again the staff make or break any establishment. The servers here again were very friendly and made one feel welcome. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Lefthandseat. Thank you for your kind words. I feel the same way about the amazing staff that I get the chance to work with everyday. Comments like these do make the team feel proud. I will pass on your feedback. Thank you. Colin Bateman. General Manager. More

Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our way from Prince rupert back to the Okanagan . We called in on our way through and were made most welcome,the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Given that we were Brits it would be nice to have a kettle to make some tea!!! But as the everyone else... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear William. Thank you for writing about your visit with us. Thank you also on your feedback of The Riverhouse Restaurant. Hopefully you will choose The Aspen again if you are ever coming through Smithers and next time I will make sure we have a Kettle for you to use. Thanks again. Colin Bateman. General Manager. More

Banff, Alberta
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Started off good, clean, comfy beds, pet friendly. Awoke in the morning at 7:30 to loud diesel trucks outside of the room idling, and the smell of diesel filled the room. This is life in a northern motel in the winter, I guess. Had a drink and nachos at the bar the night of the stay and they were tasty.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Lillytail. Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you and your pet were well accommodated. I am however sorry to hear about the fumes. We do try to make sure that any trucks we see park with the exhaust facing the parking lot. For future reference a quick call to the front desk which is... More

Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here in January with a group of girlfriends for a ski weekend. Aspen Inn is good value - not fancy, but clean sheets and towels, and comfy beds. The staff were very accommodating, assisting with some changes to our reservation, and allowing a later checkout. Hot tub and sauna were great for after skiing. We had a suite with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you DD Star 100. It is always a great day when we hear such positive feedback. We are very happy to hear you had a good time on your visit with us in Smithers. On Behalf of all of our staff Thank you for choosing The Aspen Inn and thank you for the feedback. More

Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Similar to other reviews, we received a very smokey and not very clean room. Staff were accommodating and quickly provided a new room which was better. Dark, but sufficiently clean. Unfortunately I didn't check every drawer in the room when we checked out and I forgot some clothing. I contacted the Aspen Inn by email and their first response was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Marg S. Please accept my apologies for this situation I have checked all emails for October and November and was unable to find this communication. The only issue I could find was one lady had lost an item but could not remember if they had left it at the bar the night before. We checked the room and the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Aspen Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Aspen Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Inn & Suites

Address: 4268 Highway 16, Smithers, British Columbia V0J 2N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Smithers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Inn & Suites 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Aspen Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Hotel Smithers
Aspen Inn And Suites

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Canada Select three and a half star Hotel. Enjoy the special gems Smithers has to offer each & every day of your stay & retire comfortably in our contemporary, alpine designed rooms that include warm wood furniture & duvet beds. Enjoy our Riverhouse Restaurant & Lounge for comfort food & beverages served with local flare. We are the only Hotel in Smithers with an indoor pool, whirlpool & sauna. Complimentary coffee, fridges & microwaves. Ski packages available. Enjoy Smithers, a 4-season destination spot, from sightseeing to fishing, snowmobiling & skiing. Complimentary hot breakfast included. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer