We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Smithers hotels

Aspen Inn & Suites

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4268 Highway 16, Smithers, British Columbia V0J 2N0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Aspen Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Aspen Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
64%
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Smithers
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Becca F Burns Lake, Canada
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
12
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Burns Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 3 nights for business. First - the good things - Well, there's nothing spectacularly great to point out other than when I pointed something out to the front desk clerk about maintaining my confidentiality, she took immediate responsibility and apologized. She remembered me after that and was quick to assist me when I asked. Now, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca. We are saddened to hear you thoughts on The Aspen Inn. The Aspen is a popular destination for tourists and business travellers alike. Customers like the Breakfast voucher that is supplied with our rack rates. The Aspen is also the only accommodation with a Pool Hot Tub and Saunas. Family's tend to enjoy our family rooms that include... More

Prince Rupert
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The Aspen is a great place to stay, was in Smithers for 5 nights for sons Hockey School, very close to arena, the room was clean and large, had 2 double beds and a set of bunk beds. Staff was very friendly, and accommodating, allowed me to extend our check out time by 2 hours. Restaurant was also very good

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Boston, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was hesitant to stay here because of some of the reviews but was very impressed by how each bad review was promptly answered so we decided to try it. First of all, the photos are a good representation of the rooms. The room was large, quiet and very clean-I checked it out thoroughly! The bedspread looked new and there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I've been impressed each time I've stayed here at the effort the owner is putting into improving the property. The furniture is beautiful solid wood, the fixtures are high quality, the masonry on the exterior is really nicely done. The rooms have always been clean and the staff are nice. It has definitely avoided the depressing half-baked renos seen on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owensboro, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed in a suite with a separated living space and bedroom, very roomy. Prob wasn't the cleanest place in the world, but it was fine. The internet didn't work and when I went down to reception to see if there was a problem they didn't seem to be bothered enough to fix it. Restaurant was very good but was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Do not be fooled by the nice photos on line they DO NOT REPRESENT the actual place. The bedspreads/comforter were old, lumpy and appeared to have seen better days a long time ago, thankfully we had extra blankets and did not use the provided comforters..there was a noticeable odour upon entering the room of dirty carpet, nothing in this room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Gerold. I was disappointed to hear that your time @ The Aspen was not enjoyable. After our phone call we have refunded your CC. It is however unfortunate that this issue was only brought to our attention at the last minute and that our front desk was not given the chance to rectify the situation. Our front desk agent... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have stayed here a few times but never really noticed how crappy the WIFI is until this visit. I have been disconnected once every 10 or so minutes. The hotel has a restaurant on site but does not offer room service. Really? You don't think it would be that hard to figure out. The room is tidy and clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Hello Reno 51. Thank you so much for your positive view on Mary. We are very happy to have Mary with The Aspen Inn. Our Internet has finally been upgraded by Telus today June 27th our speed was quadrupled . This will fix the internet issues from this day forth. As for Room service we are very rarely asked. This... More

PG, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Because of my job I stay there at least twice a week. Since the beginning of this year, their wi-fi has not worked properly. It continuously disconnects. After repeated complaints to the front desk staff, it still has not improved. I think good internet service has become as much of a mainstay as TV in hotel rooms these days and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Terhel. Thank you for your review. We have been lobbying hard for the providers to increase the quality of internet provided. This is not an issue of our equipment as we have invested a great deal of time and money into our wireless. The issue is that the wireless providers who offer service in this area only offer small... More

Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The room was what one would expect from a typical small town roadside motel. However it was comfortable and clean. The staff were really nice and as value for money there are no complaints. The breakfast was hearty and again the staff make or break any establishment. The servers here again were very friendly and made one feel welcome. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Lefthandseat. Thank you for your kind words. I feel the same way about the amazing staff that I get the chance to work with everyday. Comments like these do make the team feel proud. I will pass on your feedback. Thank you. Colin Bateman. General Manager. More

Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our way from Prince rupert back to the Okanagan . We called in on our way through and were made most welcome,the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Given that we were Brits it would be nice to have a kettle to make some tea!!! But as the everyone else... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AspenInnSmithers, General Manager at Aspen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear William. Thank you for writing about your visit with us. Thank you also on your feedback of The Riverhouse Restaurant. Hopefully you will choose The Aspen again if you are ever coming through Smithers and next time I will make sure we have a Kettle for you to use. Thanks again. Colin Bateman. General Manager. More

Do you own or manage Aspen Inn & Suites?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Aspen Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Inn & Suites

Address: 4268 Highway 16, Smithers, British Columbia V0J 2N0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Smithers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aspen Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Inn And Suites
Aspen Hotel Smithers

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay