We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Driftwood Inn

2.5 of 5 5454 Trail Avenue, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Driftwood Inn
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Driftwood Inn
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
20
32
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The driftwood is an honest little place and doesn't pretend to be anything it's not. The prices are comparable with really standard motels but I think this is better than that. The setting is lovely- Sechelt itself is a sweet little place and if you pay a few dollars more for a sea view, it really means it- the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Driftwood Inn for the second time during the Remembrance Day long weekend and were happy we chose here again (the first time was in summer and we had a good time too). We booked the suite which was spacious and facing the beach. The only thing I did not like was the thermal control was in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments; our staff are always glad to get positive feedback. The air conditioners in the rooms are heat pumps so they provide warmth in winter and cooling in summer. Sorry that you did not realize that; I will be happy to demonstrate the controls next time. More 

nova scotia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

The Driftwood Inn is an ocean front motel in a central area of Sechelt. The motel has maybe 6 rooms with ocean view. The hotel is in bad need of a renovation. We stayed in an ocean front room, nice view, walked out onto the ocean walk which was nice. The room was clean, beds comfortable, but the carpets were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Sorry that you felt negative about your stay. We are very busy this year and it has been difficult to get in to the rooms for carpet cleaning. The waterfront rooms however are all due for recarpeting in January. We try to replace carpets in 20 to 25% of our rooms each year. More 

New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights recently, and were very pleased with the rooms. We were trying to find a room while we were traveling since we didn't book anything ahead and I was happy to have this option (the other nearby hotel was a bit scary)! My husband and I were traveling with another friend, so the suites worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Glad that you were here to see the Humpback Whales; this was a first for us as we normally only see Orcas, Dolphins and the occasional Grey Whale. More 

Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to see that the Driftwood Inn has installed the much needed air conditioning to their rooms which they've updated with new carpet , new paint and other cosmetic changes since our last visit , all combined this made for a comfortable stay in an older establishment in a beautiful spot by the ocean and right downtown.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. All our management and staff strive to ensure every guest is happy so it is great to know you enjoyed your stay. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Very clean. Quiet. Just off Highway 101. Wonderful king size bed. Peekaboo view of the ocean from our second floor room. Very nice ocean side stroll just steps away. We were only looking for an overnight stay before moving on to other spots on the Sunshine Coast and not disappointed. Not a family vacation hotel for this area but overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Glad that you enjoyed your stay; thank you for giving us a positive review. More 

The Road
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
31 hotel reviews
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Seriously, the other choice is the Cozy Court, and at least the Driftwood Inn is on the water! Strangely, however, the orientation of the motel is such that almost all of the rooms look out on the parking lot rather than the ocean. Anyway, it's clean, the staff are friendly, it's central, and it's air conditioned, which means a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed one night here. Pros: bed was comfortable Cons: felt it was over priced for what it was. No view, stayed in the standard room. There was only one lamp that actually worked, the light bulbs in the other lamps were burnt out, found one of the plug ins didn't work. Ate at the restaurant and found that was pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review; sorry that you did not realize that the switch by the door operates the lights by the bed. The plug did not work because it was switched off. We do have duty management available at least twelve hours every day to assist with concerns. More 

Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was happy that the Inn had a room for us as it was short notice on Saturday afternoon. We picked Driftwood after a family member recommended it and they told us they had just finished renovating. The rooms were all updated/modern looking and clean. Soundproof rooms and Flat screen TV's. As for Value we paid $$157.00 for a family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We have just completed around $250,000 worth of renovations that we hope will enhance everyone's stay with us. More 

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My buddy and I spent one night here as we were playing in a golf tournament early the next day. The beds were good but the room was tired and in need of an update. We chose un upstairs room so noise wasn't an issue. The restaurant is excellent and has a great view of the water.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review; we do try to update continuously and are close to finishing nearly a quarter million's worth of renovations this year. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driftwood Inn

Address: 5454 Trail Avenue, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Driftwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driftwood Hotel Sechelt
The Driftwood Inn Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay