We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Driftwood Inn

2.5 of 5 5454 Trail Avenue, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Driftwood Inn
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Driftwood Inn
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
21
32
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Maple Ridge, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

had been offered a place to stay for the weekend by a friend, however cleaner did not show up after renovations had been completed and house was a complete mess. caught last ferry from horseshoe bay, next ferry back was not until morning so had to find somewhere to stay for night, out of wind & rain. checked in with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Powell River, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed in the Driftwood Inn several times now and really like it. The rooms are nice and clean, reasonable quiet and they are a good size. It is an older hotel but well maintained. The only time it shows its age is when you have a shower. The water stays the same temperature until someone else in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

The driftwood is an honest little place and doesn't pretend to be anything it's not. The prices are comparable with really standard motels but I think this is better than that. The setting is lovely- Sechelt itself is a sweet little place and if you pay a few dollars more for a sea view, it really means it- the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Driftwood Inn for the second time during the Remembrance Day long weekend and were happy we chose here again (the first time was in summer and we had a good time too). We booked the suite which was spacious and facing the beach. The only thing I did not like was the thermal control was in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments; our staff are always glad to get positive feedback. The air conditioners in the rooms are heat pumps so they provide warmth in winter and cooling in summer. Sorry that you did not realize that; I will be happy to demonstrate the controls next time. More 

nova scotia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

The Driftwood Inn is an ocean front motel in a central area of Sechelt. The motel has maybe 6 rooms with ocean view. The hotel is in bad need of a renovation. We stayed in an ocean front room, nice view, walked out onto the ocean walk which was nice. The room was clean, beds comfortable, but the carpets were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Sorry that you felt negative about your stay. We are very busy this year and it has been difficult to get in to the rooms for carpet cleaning. The waterfront rooms however are all due for recarpeting in January. We try to replace carpets in 20 to 25% of our rooms each year. More 

New Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights recently, and were very pleased with the rooms. We were trying to find a room while we were traveling since we didn't book anything ahead and I was happy to have this option (the other nearby hotel was a bit scary)! My husband and I were traveling with another friend, so the suites worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Glad that you were here to see the Humpback Whales; this was a first for us as we normally only see Orcas, Dolphins and the occasional Grey Whale. More 

Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to see that the Driftwood Inn has installed the much needed air conditioning to their rooms which they've updated with new carpet , new paint and other cosmetic changes since our last visit , all combined this made for a comfortable stay in an older establishment in a beautiful spot by the ocean and right downtown.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. All our management and staff strive to ensure every guest is happy so it is great to know you enjoyed your stay. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Very clean. Quiet. Just off Highway 101. Wonderful king size bed. Peekaboo view of the ocean from our second floor room. Very nice ocean side stroll just steps away. We were only looking for an overnight stay before moving on to other spots on the Sunshine Coast and not disappointed. Not a family vacation hotel for this area but overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Glad that you enjoyed your stay; thank you for giving us a positive review. More 

The Road
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
32 hotel reviews
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Seriously, the other choice is the Cozy Court, and at least the Driftwood Inn is on the water! Strangely, however, the orientation of the motel is such that almost all of the rooms look out on the parking lot rather than the ocean. Anyway, it's clean, the staff are friendly, it's central, and it's air conditioned, which means a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed one night here. Pros: bed was comfortable Cons: felt it was over priced for what it was. No view, stayed in the standard room. There was only one lamp that actually worked, the light bulbs in the other lamps were burnt out, found one of the plug ins didn't work. Ate at the restaurant and found that was pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review; sorry that you did not realize that the switch by the door operates the lights by the bed. The plug did not work because it was switched off. We do have duty management available at least twelve hours every day to assist with concerns. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driftwood Inn

Address: 5454 Trail Avenue, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Driftwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driftwood Hotel Sechelt
The Driftwood Inn Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay