We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Sechelt hotels

The Driftwood Inn

5454 Trail Avenue, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Driftwood Inn to your Saves list
The Driftwood Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
50%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sechelt
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
justmartha New Mexico
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
19
31
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights recently, and were very pleased with the rooms. We were trying to find a room while we were traveling since we didn't book anything ahead and I was happy to have this option (the other nearby hotel was a bit scary)! My husband and I were traveling with another friend, so the suites worked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Glad that you were here to see the Humpback Whales; this was a first for us as we normally only see Orcas, Dolphins and the occasional Grey Whale. More

Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to see that the Driftwood Inn has installed the much needed air conditioning to their rooms which they've updated with new carpet , new paint and other cosmetic changes since our last visit , all combined this made for a comfortable stay in an older establishment in a beautiful spot by the ocean and right downtown.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. All our management and staff strive to ensure every guest is happy so it is great to know you enjoyed your stay. More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Very clean. Quiet. Just off Highway 101. Wonderful king size bed. Peekaboo view of the ocean from our second floor room. Very nice ocean side stroll just steps away. We were only looking for an overnight stay before moving on to other spots on the Sunshine Coast and not disappointed. Not a family vacation hotel for this area but overall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Glad that you enjoyed your stay; thank you for giving us a positive review. More

The Road
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
29 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Seriously, the other choice is the Cozy Court, and at least the Driftwood Inn is on the water! Strangely, however, the orientation of the motel is such that almost all of the rooms look out on the parking lot rather than the ocean. Anyway, it's clean, the staff are friendly, it's central, and it's air conditioned, which means a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed one night here. Pros: bed was comfortable Cons: felt it was over priced for what it was. No view, stayed in the standard room. There was only one lamp that actually worked, the light bulbs in the other lamps were burnt out, found one of the plug ins didn't work. Ate at the restaurant and found that was pretty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review; sorry that you did not realize that the switch by the door operates the lights by the bed. The plug did not work because it was switched off. We do have duty management available at least twelve hours every day to assist with concerns. More

Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was happy that the Inn had a room for us as it was short notice on Saturday afternoon. We picked Driftwood after a family member recommended it and they told us they had just finished renovating. The rooms were all updated/modern looking and clean. Soundproof rooms and Flat screen TV's. As for Value we paid $$157.00 for a family... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We have just completed around $250,000 worth of renovations that we hope will enhance everyone's stay with us. More

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My buddy and I spent one night here as we were playing in a golf tournament early the next day. The beds were good but the room was tired and in need of an update. We chose un upstairs room so noise wasn't an issue. The restaurant is excellent and has a great view of the water.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review; we do try to update continuously and are close to finishing nearly a quarter million's worth of renovations this year. More

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed 2 nights Cons: -heard the upstairs people pacing back and forth -not soundproof, as you could easily hear people talking outside as well -overpriced with no fancy extras Pros: -very comfy beds -extremely courteous and kind staff who go out of their way to convenience you -beautiful quiet spot close to the ocean Great stay other than the overall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We charge the rate for the rooms that we do in order to support a total of 28 management and staff not including ourselves. All profit is ploughed back in to the business as we have to continuously renovate to keep up. We are presently completing the installation of new closets in... More

Quesnel, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel while in Sechelt for a family gathering. The room was very clean, the staff friendly. The restaurant is great! The only problem everyone in our group seemed to have problem keeping the room keys working. However, the front desk staff was very good about giving us new keys that worked!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. There is a bit of a trick to the keys! More

Taber, AB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The view from restraunt ocean side. I enjoyed my stay and will return again sometime. Location is one block from shopping mall. Sechelt is very nice . August features a huge car show, writer's convention etc. Excellent place to holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob C, Owner at The Driftwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, glad that you enjoyed your stay. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Driftwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Driftwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driftwood Inn

Address: 5454 Trail Avenue, Sechelt, British Columbia V0N 3A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Sechelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Driftwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driftwood Hotel Sechelt
The Driftwood Inn Sechelt, Sunshine Coast

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sechelt with
any amenities