We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Owinka Lake Resort

Kawatayagoda Road, Abayawatta | Gonaduwa, Wadduwa, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Owinka Lake Resort
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    9
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

Stayed 1 night with my family. Kids enjoyed the sorrounding and playing in the rain. Spacious and modern cabanas with bath tub. Nice pool and boat house facing the lake. Nice food but not buffet. Friendly staff, but poor can do attitude due to lack of empowerment. No manager was around, place is handled by staff according to their standards.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charitha G, Director of Sales at Owinka Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your valuable comments. We highly appreciate it. We will definitely looking to the areas that you are highlighted. Best Regards More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Lovely place.. I went with my wife... awesome rooms..but the swimming pool is bit small..Would love to go back..food was also good..Rooms are excellent.Had a lovely tome there...I would say this is an excellent place for spend the days...The day we went it was little too noisy as there was another group of people...

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We stayed there with my friend for a two night at Owinka in December 2014. We had a wonderful eco-experience when we were there. The management organized us a special bird watching lake ride on traditional Sri Lankan boat (Katamaran). It was so amazing, we saw lots of lake birds, Some are purple coot bird, white breasted waterhen, brahminy kite.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

The rooms/chalets are very spacious and the staff is very friendly. It was a nice place to spend some quality time. The pool wasn't that big but it was okay. There were so many outdoor activities. It was so much fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We spent a day at this place on last week end. This hotel is a mixed bag. The positives are the place itself, food and chalets. The hotel is situated near Bolgoda river and the scenery is mind blowing I must say. The hotel has a medium sized pool and it is adequate for a small group. Chalets are spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We spent the day at this wonderful eco lodge. It has a value for the money. The prices were average. The staff was friendly and helpful. It's advisable to order food at least one hour before to avoid any disappointment. The fruit juices were fresh and pleasant. You can take a boat ride for Rs 3000 for an hour. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lancs England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at Owinka Jan 14 loved every minute, rooms/chalets are huge, with comfy sofas and satellite TV it is great to be able to sit and relax, enjoy dinner in front of the Telly (just like home) the staff are lovely especially the manager Suisse who went out of his way to make our short stay memorable.Paid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spend one night at this lovely place, when we arrived there, we were really surprise. It’s like a hidden Gem in the jungle. The access road is very scary and feels like we are in jungle. I loved the wooden cottages they are awesome and really good in quality. The staff was very nice and hospitable. We had experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It is an Eco resort located at the edge of a Lake (Bolgoda lake) If you are looking for a hideout Eco resort close to Colombo (Less than 1 hour drive from Colombo) this is where you should go. The food also was OK & the staff was very friendly & helpful. Few negative things about the place - Hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

There is no organic farm as such..... boat ride is boring so slow we had to turn back after 30min. the cycles for rent are very old, the toilets are not very clean, the bed linen are hopeless...... the wardrobe panel came out and almost injured. The food is horrible, the dinner is again served for lunch, and the breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charitha G, Director of Sales at Owinka Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We apologies to what happen during your holiday at Owinka. Some of your valuable comments are important to us and we took necessary actions to correct them. As a policy of our hotel we do not serve Beef. We do have organic farm near to our hotel, but you may not seen it. Again we apologies what you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
0.0 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 7 in Wadduwa
5.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ocean View Hotel
Villa Ocean View Hotel
#6 of 7 in Wadduwa
3.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#2 of 9 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 19 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haridra Resort & Spa
Haridra Resort & Spa
#4 of 7 in Wadduwa
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Ripples Resort
Ocean Ripples Resort
#11 of 19 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay