We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berjaya Hotel Colombo

3.0 of 5 36 College Avenue, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka (Formerly Berjaya Mount Royal)
Hotel website
Special Offer
LIVE. STAY & REST
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    65
    45
    24
    35
See reviews for
48
45
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (204)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good Hotel - Far-off from the city Food quality is good Rooms are nice and well maintained Trains will be disturbing your sleep Good beach view Timings of swimming pool are horrible. We stayed for a night.... we were not allowed to use the pool in night or in the morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

They wouldn't even book us a taxis at reception. Manager was drunk in the middle of the night on the second night I had to complain about the noise... Pool guy refused to get us a sunbed saying there was none which we worked out later was just a lie... They were stacked near the beach bar... Full review to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels

Maldives
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my last destination on my Sri Lanka trip in November 2014, and it was a good spot to has as a base while in Colombo. As my travel company went on, I were staying two nights while awaiting my day of departure. Arrival experience was very nice, the guy assisting me with check in, and later also assisting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was there with my family for New year 2015!. This is an awful hotel -- to reach the beach you have to go over the train tracks. The rooms are really bad and there was no hot water. The staff could not assign a room for us and had to change it three times. The place looked very unsafe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pravir_Mishra, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Dear T S, Thank you for staying with us and disappointed to know that you could not enjoy your stay with us. Our New Year Gala dinner was huge success and if you were part of it then you might have noticed that actually hotel was full with family guest. We are the only hotel in whole Colombo which got... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this Hotel almost 20 years ago and it was good then. We stayed there in September 2014 for 2 weeks. And just shocking Breakfast disappointing same everyday. Room service poor don't seem to understand a request in English. We lost a bottle of aftershave and a slab of chocolate from the room. When "Do Not Disturb "... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pravir_Mishra, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Dear Ben N, We thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the shortcoming in our services and our Executive Housekeeper had personally spoken to you during your stay. We had big group who stayed with us in Sept and music was off at mid night. We also appreciate you kind words to our reception and service staff. Rest... More 

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed four nights in this property from Christmas 2014. The plus points: 1> The property is in a strategic location, just across the beach 2> All rooms face the beach and the architecture is such that there is absolute privacy, even if you sit in the portico. 3> Staff is helpful and always smiling. The new manager, Mr. Mishra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pravir_Mishra, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Dear Mr Narendra, We thank you for staying in our hotel with your entire family. It was great to meet you and have discussed your feedback with our team for our improvements and actions. Rest assured that your valuable comments will definitely help us to be a better hotel in future. Look forward to see you soon and Happy New... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came this hotel before two weeks ago but there was no previous staff in front office ( Shali, malindu, ruksha, Chathura , Prasad ) and specially mgr Ayantha... With out them this hotel is nothing but new staff friendly and very kind.. Thank you again berjaya.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pravir_Mishra, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Dear Mr Trevin B, We thank you for staying with us and great to know that you been here before. I would like to see you during next visit and rest assured that you will continue get our best services. Keep well and Take care. Your bSinecerly, Pravir Mishra GM More 

Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I have been to Berjaya Praline and it was great experience. I made my decision on my past experience but it was horrible experience in Colombo. The garlic butter prawns were cooked with oil and ketchup. Fish n chips was made out of fish patty. Breakfast was terrible. The oil for cooking has been used for frying before. Rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pravir_Mishra, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Dear Sarnaik, We thank you for staying with us and disappointed to know that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I had sent you two message on your mail and did not get any answer. I have personally checked with our Executive Chef on food preparation method which you have mentioned. For your information, our garlic butter prawn... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

I TRAVELED WITH MY FAMILY TO THIS HOTEL IN FIRST WEEK OF OCTOBER 2014.THIS IS AN GOOD BEACH PROPERTY WITH VERY GOOD HOSPITALITY.THE MANAGER i traveled with my family to this hotel in first week of October 2014.this is an good beach property with very good hospitality.the manager operations mr.ayantha indica is jewel of personality in himself.with a very kind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pravir_Mishra, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Dear Mr Singh, Thank you for staying with us and appreciate your kind words for our beach, rooms, food and services. You have specially mentioned the name of our Operation Manager and travel desk driver for their excellent services which has been communicate to them for encouragement. As you have mentioned, we would like to see you back and our... More 

Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Ï stayed here in Nov-14. Good about the place... 1) very near to the beach. 2) Staffs are very helpful. 3) Food is good. What I though was not so good... passing trains... they wont allow you to sleep. And of course mosquitoes... Mosquitoes and train kept me awake... Lift in the morning was out of operation ;( I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pravir_Mishra, General Manager at Berjaya Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Dear Biswajit dev, Thank you for staying with us and appreciate your kind words for our beach, food and services. We noticed increase of Mosquitoes during heavy rain and hired the pest control company to control it as this year Monsoon season still active which usually ends in first week of November. Hotel pricing of rooms depends on occupancy, high... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Berjaya Hotel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Hotel Colombo

Address: 36 College Avenue, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka (Formerly Berjaya Mount Royal)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berjaya Hotel Colombo 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Berjaya Hotel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Mount Royal Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Berjaya Hotel Colombo Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (109)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay