We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Lavinia Home Stay

17/7 Off De Saram Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10370, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Mount Lavinia Home Stay
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
8
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

For Business Reasons i had to come to Lanka on a Short notice and stayed at Mount Lavinia homestay for 45 days... It was a memorable experience in a calm quiet place with a nice garden where my partners would visit me to discuss several tasks at hand...... The houseowner, a sweet lady was very accomodative and understanding. In addition... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Been Going to this place continuasly for the past 5 years, and I cant find anything like this place in colombo, Priyani is sooo kind and very friendly. You cant expect anything in colombo with this price with all the basic facilities.For those who are not happy after staying there and complianing, I think at first you should have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is not a homestay at all. This is staying in a house. Homes are welcoming and convivial. This was a functional property that did not fulfil its basic function - to provide a good night's sleep, a kitchen you'd be pleased to cook in, and a shower you can have without effort. My wife and I shared a twin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount lavinia H, Owner at Mount Lavinia Home Stay, responded to this review

They came here without a booking and forced themselves here when I said I am not able to give them a proper room .They paid much less than the normal price with all the complains . More 

Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We had a fantastic stay at mount Lavinia homestay- the owner is lovely flexibke and very helpful! The room was clean and comfortable and the communal room was spacuous! 2 minutes walk from the beach! Extremely good value for money, especially pleased we had a lockable cabiet, fridge and towels in rooms, which no other hostel of this price has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

I travelled to Sri Lanka with my husband and 2 year old daughter to renew an Indian visa and take vacation. Priyani was absolutely wonderful in helping us arrange transportation. The house was quiet and the other guests were so considerate and friendly. I think my daughter was the noisiest thing there :-). It was within walking distance to many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ischia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Nice place to stay is very quit, a little far away from the noisy Colombo and this is good . We had to walk quite long to get there from the train station, better if you take a tuk tuk.The owner is a gentle and welcoming woman. We loved the turtle in the garden!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014 via mobile

When we stayed here we had the whole place to our selfs, it's almost like your own home, nice lady who runs it and get what you pay for, nice sitting area with tv and computer however the kitchen is very dirty. Recommend eating out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The woman of the house is very kind. It is a regular neighberhood house of the area. Near the beach crossing the train track. Simple rooms, just a bed and a private restroom with a shower. Cold water ofcourse. But good! This house offer to guests a shared equipped kitchen and a livingroom. WiFi is open and available. Near 15min... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We came here twice because of the good ratings and they are true! The owner is a nice woman and the rooms are spacious and clean, tough they could be a little more decorated... Ther are a few good restaurants close to the home stay and the train is a 5 minute walk Overall perfect for a few nights

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I was on a trip to colombo, looking to do a Chef Course and needed a budget place to stay. Owner-lovely lady and very helpful. Situated- in a quiet and safe neighbourhood. Room-old town house classic type (Sir Lanka style ) basic amenities that one could ask for in a guest home. Home a way from home atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia hotels
0.5 mi away
Mount Lavinia Hotel
Mount Lavinia Hotel
#3 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Lodge
Mount Lodge
#1 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropic Inn Hotel
Tropic Inn Hotel
#2 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
Berjaya Hotel Colombo
#6 of 9 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
3.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa In Lavinia
The Villa In Lavinia
#1 of 31 in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
5.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay