We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia B&Bs / inns

Ranveli Beach Resort

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   56/9 De Saram Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Offer
Save Saved
You added Ranveli Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ranveli Beach Resort
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (172)
  • Photos (159)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (50)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    52
    19
    8
    22
See reviews for
33
39
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very good resort close to beach and friendly staff a good place one can select and the place were we can spend more than a month with out any trouble the cost is very less when compared to other hotels or resorts

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My ten days of stay in Ranvelli Beach Hotel was great! Though it was such a short stay for lots of activities to do, my stay in Ranvelli Beach hotel was a big help. It became easier for me because of the help and warm accommodation of the Hotel friendly staff. They welcomed me like a family and that is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

During my last days vacation in Srilanka, I decided to ended in Mount Lavinia, because of geographic place. It was a good place to relax after long 7 days tour in different city of Srilanka. Ranveli beach resort, was my destination, & it was the best choice I've made. Great view form the room, the wild Indian Ocean & the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

worst possible stay at hotel in Sri Lanka.Rooms were absolutely disgusting.Damp smell,torn,moulded curtains.Very noisy due to location very close to busy railway line.possibility of getting run over by trains while trying to cross over the railway line in order to get to the beach.Hotel is nothing like the photos on the internet. A/C does not blow cold air.Food was terrible,cooked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are shocked to read your review which shows so much Anger, Revenge and hurted. Dear sir However let us read what you wrote on our guest review book. ‘’VERY FRIENDLY STAFF.WILLING TO GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO HELP.HOTEL IS VERY BASIC.’’ You stayed for six days paid US $ 270 (157GBP)we changed your room from no 18 to... More

Delhi, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my second visit to Ranveli with my daughter .Nice hotel which has all the five star facilities though it's a budget hotel. Closer to the main road. Good food, clean rooms and most of all very friendly staff. Good cheap place to relax with the pool and the private beach a must place to visit again. Keep it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, General Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review

So happy to hear that you had a wonder full holiday at Ranveli. being on of the so many repeat customers, we appreciate your comments so much. hope to see you again soon. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the worst possible stay at hotel we could have imagined. My husband booked this hotel looking at so good reviews of the same on trip advisor and we were very excited as it was our first tour to Sri Lanka. Though the tour went well but this resort had left us with a sour experience. Not recommended for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Owner at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Shwetha and Ashwin We are so sad and disturbed why you wrote a Review with so much hatred and anger.when so many Guests over the years have been very happy staying at our Hotel. you haven't mentioned your sour experience and why you felt cheated after all you paid only US $ 88 nett for 2 days for a... More

Patna, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose this hotel after seeing thee reviews on tripadvisor, this hotel has everything that is required to make a trip memorable.Its well maintained,equipped with a swimming pool,and location is also great.Its right beside the beach.Since I like trains a lot,I liked this hotel even more,there is a reasonably busy railway line beside the hotel,ie between hotel and the beach.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Actually this is the best budget hotel in Colombo. Ofcourse best in Mt Lavinia. Friendly staff. Parking available.I pick this because of the good reviews on tripadvisor and it proved me right. This is not a very big hotel; but a hotel with very reasonable prices hotel plus decent rooms. Highly recommend if u want a cheap and a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel during for a couple of weeks during April and I have to say I was very impressed with not only the hotel itself but the staff. Everyone one staff was very polite and smiling and tried to accommodate any need that I had during my time there. Everything is very clean and well kept as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Moscow, Russia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Comfortable hotel near the ocean. Very responsive, honest, polite and smiling personnel. The rooms are clean, cleaning done in a timely manner, there is hot and cold water and air conditioning! (This is very valuable on Sri Lanka) The hotel has free WI-FI even poolside. Also include a private beach with the ability to organize parties. At the reception to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ranveli Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ranveli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranveli Beach Resort

Address: 56/9 De Saram Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranveli Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ranveli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranveli Beach Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Ranveli Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

159 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In operation since 1972,one of the oldest budget hotels in mount Lavinia, which has been creating memorable holidays for thousands of satisfied visitors from around the world, such as USA, UK, Australia, Germany, Italy, France, Netherlands, Sweden, India, Maldives etc.Due to our long experience in the hotel trade we have many repeat guests. The main attraction in our hotel is located by the beach, adjoining to the famous Mount Lavinia Hotel and the affordable rates that we offer. Ranveli Beach Resort has 32 comfortable, Clean, well furnished rooms (with attached bathrooms) equipped with standard and Semi Luxury amenities. All A/C double rooms and family rooms are equipped with Air Conditioning, hot/cold water and cable TV and also over looking the Indian ocean. Most of our rooms are with private Balcony where can watch the incredible “sunset” or the breath taking view of the Indian Ocean.In addition we are famous for our very friendly and helpful staff. The well laid large Garden and our private beach can be used for “sun bathing & relaxing while enjoying the fresh air of the Mount Lavinia beach.Most guests like our “Rice & Curry “However our restaurant offers its guests a tasteful a la carte menu of Eastern, Western & International cuisine at a very low price. Sea food "Platter” which is prepared by our well experienced chef is delicious and popular. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;