We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ranveli Beach Resort

Hotel website
56/9 De Saram Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Special Price
Low Rates
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranveli Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ranveli Beach Resort
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    61
    27
    12
    26
See reviews for
38
55
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
great britain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When arrived checked in nice and early but it was in june, give room no 7 upstairs end of corridor small wardrobe for 2 no fridge bathroom ok for hotel but you must remember this is not 5star and the water is cold but the weather allows for that, beds nice and firm and if you want your room cleaned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ranveli B, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Ranveli Beach Resort Mount Lavinia and for your appreciative and recommending review. your comments is really helpful to people to get idea about our resort , this is budgeted hotel but we are try to give always star class services,you have book non air condition room, non AC rooms does not have hot water... More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Adequate is probably the best word to describe the 'resort' - standard rooms are not recommended, however, the A/C rooms are good. Our's had 2 comfy beds, small but clean bathroom, and an ocean facing balcony. The resort has very basic creature comforts - don't expect anything fancy. + Very close to the Mount Lavinia beach, literally on the other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Ranveli Beach Resort Mount Lavinia and for your appreciative and recommending review. We are very pleased that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the facilities and dining options and do appreciate your compliments. We trust you will stay with us again in the future for another indulgence in our services and Ranveli Beach... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

I stayed at Ranveli Beach Resort with group of 15 guests. Really it was memorable. Very good Resort & excellent staff. Nice swimming pool. Perfect location. Beach few steps away. I recommend to all travelers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Ranveli Beach Resort Mount Lavinia and for your appreciative and recommending review. We are very pleased that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the facilities and dining options and do appreciate your compliments. We trust you will stay with us again in the future for another indulgence in our services and Ranveli Beach... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We stayed for 21 days and found it a great place to be. The rooms are nice and the hotel staff is very helpful. During my stay I get a good impression of the hotel. The hotel owner does everything to help you and he is a great man. We are looking forward to return to the hotel. Advice: Go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Ranveli Beach Resort Mount Lavinia and for your appreciative and recommending review. We are very pleased that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the facilities and dining options and do appreciate your compliments. We trust you will stay with us again in the future for another indulgence in our services and Ranveli Beach... More 

Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Me and my wife stayed here for a couple of days. The resort is not at all customer friendly. They charged us for our early checkin and also asked us to pay the room charges before we checked in. The manager her is very rude and will not help you with anything. The rooms are dull and the bathrooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Owner at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Prashant Thanking you stay with Ranveli Beach Resort, the hotel policy is to pay when you chick in like any other hotels.when you want the room 6.00am we charge for the room as checking time is 2.00 pm and we cannot sell the room the previous day. ,so you were angry for that and we are very sorry about... More 

Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

we stayed here for one night and I am glad it was only one night, the room we was in was damp the bed was damp and it was hot and sticky, with no air con and a nosey fan that made a really loud noise, there was bars on the windows so was a bit of a prison, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thanking with you staying with us, however we note that you have stayed in a non AC room. So its hot and sticky. Although you say pool / rooms were clean ,you have given it one night . we are a budget hotel with star class facilities.hope you book a AC room which was hot water the next... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Stayed here for a night before flying out of Colombo at the end of our hols. The resort gave a good impression - nice reception, pool, welcome drinks. The room is very basic - I could tell that there had been painting done recently as the smell of pain was very strong in the room. Was a bit of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

The swimming pool and reception area is very inviting and a pleasant area. On arrival, we were greeted with welcome soft drink, our room was rather a shocker, don't be fooled by the room pictures, nothing like it, our room was damp, dark and dull with rotten curtains at the windows, you can't draw them, as the veiw from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

There was no info on any site that said if you book a standard room you dont get any hot water...then they try to upgrade you for a room with ac and a higher cost, when I spoke to boy in reception and said where does it say there is no hot water in standard rooms?? He said where does... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

This hotel is right next to the beach near Mt. Lavinia. Its a quaint property and has a swimming pool. A railway track runs between the hotel & the beach, so there are trains passing by. But these do not cause any significant disturbance and only add to the local color. Foot over-bridges are available to cross the tracks. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ranveli B, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Ranveli Beach Resort Mount Lavinia and for your kind review and recommendation. We are very glad to note that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your room and dining experiences in particular. We trust you will continue to stay with us and enjoy more of our services and Ranveli Beach hospitality. Best regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities