We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia B&Bs / inns

Ranveli Beach Resort

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   56/9 De Saram Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ranveli Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ranveli Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
71%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Sanjana305 Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    55
    20
    8
    23
See reviews for
35
41
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Located right on the seashore, we had a very pleasant stay here for five days. Very helpful and friendly staff, adequate restaurant and service. Wifi is good and moderately fast but occasionally drops to really slow speeds. They have a shower gel with an aroma so good, I felt like eating it!! Rooms are clean and well maintained. The ambience... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ellicott City, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a wonderful small hotel with about 30 rooms. I have stayed in this hotel in the past. I returned to this place back from the USA. Now they have a pool . I took a swim in the Morning everyday during my stay. Very refreshing. They call it a budget hotel but the cleanliness of the rooms and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a hotel that is away from the daily buzz. Quiet location. Low rate, so don't expect everything to be perfect. Nor expect anything extra. You get what you paid for. Check-in, go out in the city, come back to sleep. Friendly staff, they got a pool, that's a huge plus though. It's next to a rail road, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a little gem next to the beach. The price we paid for what we received was unbelievable. The rooms were clean and tidy and the staff helpful and friendly. We stayed here for three weeks and loved every minute of it. The hospitality of the owner Buwaneka is second to none. He's one of the most helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was the best hotel I ever stayed in . Staff are very nice and helpful whenever I ask for help .hotel is clean . Nice location and nice pool and next to them there is a very nice resturant on the beach . I would like to thank all staff especially the manager Mr Susantba

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jaffna, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent four wonderful days at Ranveli and felt very safe and relaxed considering I'm a single female who was on a long weekend business trip. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating to my demands. The room was very clean and comfortable with both a fan and A/C as well as a cable TV, fridge, sofa and a lockable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

very good resort close to beach and friendly staff a good place one can select and the place were we can spend more than a month with out any trouble the cost is very less when compared to other hotels or resorts

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My ten days of stay in Ranvelli Beach Hotel was great! Though it was such a short stay for lots of activities to do, my stay in Ranvelli Beach hotel was a big help. It became easier for me because of the help and warm accommodation of the Hotel friendly staff. They welcomed me like a family and that is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

During my last days vacation in Srilanka, I decided to ended in Mount Lavinia, because of geographic place. It was a good place to relax after long 7 days tour in different city of Srilanka. Ranveli beach resort, was my destination, & it was the best choice I've made. Great view form the room, the wild Indian Ocean & the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

worst possible stay at hotel in Sri Lanka.Rooms were absolutely disgusting.Damp smell,torn,moulded curtains.Very noisy due to location very close to busy railway line.possibility of getting run over by trains while trying to cross over the railway line in order to get to the beach.Hotel is nothing like the photos on the internet. A/C does not blow cold air.Food was terrible,cooked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RANVELIMOUNTLAVINIA, Front Office Manager at Ranveli Beach Resort, responded to this review

We are shocked to read your review which shows so much Anger, Revenge and hurted. Dear sir However let us read what you wrote on our guest review book. ‘’VERY FRIENDLY STAFF.WILLING TO GO OUT OF THEIR WAY TO HELP.HOTEL IS VERY BASIC.’’ You stayed for six days paid US $ 270 (157GBP)we changed your room from no 18 to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ranveli Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ranveli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranveli Beach Resort

Address: 56/9 De Saram Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranveli Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ranveli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranveli Beach Hotel Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
Ranveli Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia with
any amenities