We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Guludo Beach Lodge

Guludo | Cabo Delgado, Quirimbas National Park, Cabo Delgado Province, Mozambique
Guludo Beach Lodge
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    16
    6
    4
    11
See reviews for
12
59
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Having seen Guludo's website, we thought this was the place we wanted to say our vows but we visited in October just to make sure. It was perfect! If you're looking for a rustic and eco-friendly holiday destination with a beautiful beach, delicious seafood, and the most wonderful staff who are eager to help and always have big smiles (Omar,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Having travelled a lot in East Africa and visited many beaches on the coast of Kenya, Tanzania, Mauritius I know how hard it is to find one that is completely untouched. Guludo has benefitted from the 55km of dirt and sand road that prevents unwelcome development and will only tempt the most intrepid visitors on the road less travelled. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Just been to stay at Guludo for a second time and fell in love with the place and people all over again. If you're looking for something totally authentic, simple, beautiful and off the beaten track then Guludo is just perfect. We'll definitely be back again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Guludo is a natural wonder. Beautiful and eco-friendly lodge. The bandas has nice arcitecture and natural aircondition from the sea breeze. Great outdoor showers and toilets with a sea view. It is just a few footsteeps down to the beatiful beach where you are complitely alone. The food is excellent with lot of fish and lobster. The staff is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
barcelona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is the place to go if you want to explore nature at its best. You have one of the best beaches in the world almost on your own. We had an amazing time during our 7 day stay. The resort is very much into Eco friendliness and also supports a local charity. We loved being involved in the charity... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Guludo Beach Lodge combines perfect taste with total simplicity. Staying here makes you realise how little we need to be happy. Perfect weather (sunshine and light sea breezes), stunning countryside, good company and the knowledge that your stay is benefitting the local population of one of the poorest countries in the world - rather than exploiting them, as so often... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
london
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place located on a 12 kms stretched beach where you are alone with the other residents of the lodge and the fishermen from the nearby village... GO: 1. Immaculate part of the world 2. True eco resort, employing local people, using local resources, and doing some programs to improve the nearby village 3. Kind and good willing staff 4.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The place looked great on paper but unfortunately we did not get to enjoy it. We only received an email cancelling our stay, not even a phone call. It also took them way too long to refund our money which was disappointing. Poor service for such a boutique accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Guludo, Manager at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We are very sorry you felt the need to post this. We tried calling you as soon as we were aware we would not be able to offer diving over your stay but with no success, so ended up emailing almost 2 weeks before your arrival. We actioned your refund immediately and helped book a new lodge. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A socially responsible project, employs local people only and you get great food, mostly what they can produce and fish in area. The people are extremely nice and work hard to make you feel welcome. It took a couple of days to fully appreciate. The basic infrastrcture (they should get electricity soon) and the rythm of waking up at 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Bromley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Guludo on our honeymoon a few weeks ago. We love the ethos of this lodge and found it lived up to and exceeded our expectations. Don't come here expecting 5* luxury but come for a 5* experience. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a fantastic time and managed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities