We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guludo | Cabo Delgado, Quirimbas National Park, Cabo Delgado Province, Mozambique
Hotel amenities
Guludo Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quirimbas National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    6
    4
    10
See reviews for
10
56
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely place located on a 12 kms stretched beach where you are alone with the other residents of the lodge and the fishermen from the nearby village... GO: 1. Immaculate part of the world 2. True eco resort, employing local people, using local resources, and doing some programs to improve the nearby village 3. Kind and good willing staff 4.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The place looked great on paper but unfortunately we did not get to enjoy it. We only received an email cancelling our stay, not even a phone call. It also took them way too long to refund our money which was disappointing. Poor service for such a boutique accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Guludo, Manager at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

We are very sorry you felt the need to post this. We tried calling you as soon as we were aware we would not be able to offer diving over your stay but with no success, so ended up emailing almost 2 weeks before your arrival. We actioned your refund immediately and helped book a new lodge. More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A socially responsible project, employs local people only and you get great food, mostly what they can produce and fish in area. The people are extremely nice and work hard to make you feel welcome. It took a couple of days to fully appreciate. The basic infrastrcture (they should get electricity soon) and the rythm of waking up at 5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Guludo on our honeymoon a few weeks ago. We love the ethos of this lodge and found it lived up to and exceeded our expectations. Don't come here expecting 5* luxury but come for a 5* experience. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a fantastic time and managed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at the end of our honeymoon at Guludo. It was the perfect way to end our time in Mozambique. As other reviewers have commented, it's probably not for everyone but if you want unadulterated relaxation, away from the distractions and stresses of the outside world, Guludo really is perfect. There is no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Guludo isn't 5* in the traditional sense of the word, there aren't lots of mod cons, so if this is what you're after then this isn't the place for you. But for us (family of 4 with 2 small children) it was everything we wanted and more. Our chalet (or "banda" as they call it) was fantastic - the kids... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We're just back from a wonderful week in Guludo. It's hard to compare and contrast with the other places we stayed on our honeymoon. I was really struck by how different what Guludo are trying to do is - we thought the general overall experience was fab and the whole objective of the lodge is amazing. We really like the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Innerleithen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Guludo Lodge is a rather special place if you're looking for peace and tranquility. It is a beautiful location with outstanding beach views and luxurious lodge accommodation. The hospitality was generous and the food wonderful. I particularly liked to see that as much as possible was sourced locally. Felt like a king for the short time I was there and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This feedback is from a parent of two kids; stayed at GL with my wife and four other couples (also with young children; altogether we had 11 children ages b/n 9 and 1) over Xmas and new years 2012/13. Pls note some of the references below may not be valid for other times of the year (such as temperatures, tide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Guludo, Owner at Guludo Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Before you arrived in Guludo we tried our best to make sure you were fully aware that due to a fire a couple of months prior to your arrival, that we would not be able to offer our usually high level of service. We gave you the option to cancel or to have have a huge discount, of which you... More

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was my first time to Mozambique and as it was going to be a special time in my life I wanted to do something different - and I found it!! What a fantastic place! The accommodation was as stated on the website and the hospitality shown by everyone there was really the icing on the cake. I just loved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Been to Guludo Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guludo Beach Lodge

Also Known As:
Guludo Beach Hotel Quirimbas National Park
Guludo Beach Hotel
Guludo Beach Lodge Mozambique/Quirimbas National Park
Address: Guludo | Cabo Delgado, Quirimbas National Park, Cabo Delgado Province, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Cabo Delgado Province > Quirimbas Archipelago > Quirimbas National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Quirimbas National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guludo is a tropical, barefoot beach paradise; 12km of deserted powder-white sand nestled between the dazzling azure Indian Ocean and wild African Bush. Accommodation provides everything you need and nothing you don’t. With high roofs, gentle sea breezes, alfresco en-suite bathrooms with a stunning “loo with a view”; barefoot luxury never felt more indulgent. The essence of Guludo is relaxation and discovery. Time is spent drifting over magnificent coral reefs, watching humpback whales, visiting islands and mingling in the local village. Guludo is also responsible tourism at its finest, even while snoozing in your hammock you are helping to relieve poverty. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guludo Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Guludo Beach Lodge to your Saves list