We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Quirimbas Archipelago, Cabo Delgado Province 0000, Mozambique (Formerly Medjumbe Private Island)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    86
    9
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
80
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Five years ago we visited Medjumbe for our 25th wedding anniversary and had an absolutely fantastic time! We decided to celebrate our 30th anniversary at Medjumbe and we hoped that it would be just as good. Thanks to Jonathan the Resort Manager, Nick the Head Chef and Joanne the Spa/Beauty Therapist and all the staff - Tome, Adamo, Riquitto, Shorty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

With light clouds in the sky and even a thunderstorm Medjumbe became " island in the sun " for us, due to the warmth of the services and the exclusivity of the nature we enjoyed. We felt to be provided with first rate service despite the fact that the villas and facilities are asking for refurbishment. Free wifi in lounge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Harald, Many thanks for your appraisals shared with the staff and sunny Medjumbe is missing your good stories and happy laughs we had before dinner! After the refurbishment, you will come again to share more and we will make sure to keep the nature intact and protected for you to enjoy. We are looking forward to seeing you again!... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

My husband and I have just returned from magical holiday on the island of Medjumbe. The island for us was heaven on earth as we were so spoilt not only by the magnificent natural beauty but by Ann and her staff. The chefs prepared delicious meals , Tiago was always amiable to help us with the different activities – scuba... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Helena, The staff of Medjumbe would like to thank you for your excellent review and sharing with us your love for our little paradise. You have a point, Medjumbe is all about a unique location, tailor-made service and spectacular diving and snorkeling (without forgetting being pampered by our therapist!). Renovations will be done this year for our guests to... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

This area is not so well known yet. It was a amazing surprise to find this place, the sand, the water, the service, the food... truly a diamond at the Indian Ocean. Really small, for lovers of beach and relax destinations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jimenairobito, Thank you so much for your appreciation of Medjumbe and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay among us from service to food without forgetting the island and the surroundings. Although we would like to keep it a secret, we happily share the beauties of this tiny hidden gem with all our guests. Because there is little... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This most beautiful of islands is more or less situated in the middle of the Indian ocean far from the mad pace of everyday life. The days there are timeless. If peace and quiet, beautiful sun, sand and the bluest of seas is your thing, this is the place to be. We have visited many places in Mozambique, and this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, Thank you very much for being our guests and taking the time to share with us your deep appreciation of Medjumbe. The island certainly cast a spell with its timeless quiet atmosphere!. The cell phone connectivity is limited...or growing lazy for enjoying too much the island?! (Movitel network) but this also helps our guests to disconnect and that... More 

London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We were here for a week on our honeymoon, and had a really wonderful time. The feeling of being somewhere so remote simply cannot be put into words, and it is probably the most peaceful place we have ever been. Unfortunately we were a bit unlucky with the wind, so didn't have as many opportunities to be out on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Traveller_C_London, Thank you for sharing with us your experience in Medjumbe, it is true that the location is unique and serene and always an enchantment for our guests. It is unfortunate that the weather conditions were not perfect but we are glad you enjoyed your diving all the same. Since you have stayed with us, last July, we have... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

We have been there ONLY 2 days (wish we were there for a month or more...) at the end of February. The island is wonderful with white sand and crystal clear water. During low-tide the island doubles its size and you can walk for hours with amazing sceneries. Medjumbe is way way better than any other beach/island we have visited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_Medjumbe, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Walter, Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us and the whole staff also keeps fond memories of you two. We felt very privileged to share with you that moment of serenity and thank you for choosing us for that new threshold in your lives. You are part of the family now... More 

Nanjing, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

It is the best holiday of my life. Peaceful island, friendly staff of hotel, best service, and best food. Snorkeling, sailing. My lady doesn't know swimming, but one staff accompany us for snorkeling, she really loves it. For the hotel, Only 12 rooms, with few visitors, peaceful island. And the chief even made Chinese noodle for us, since we are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cpezel, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Yang M, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and comment on your holidays with us. I have passed on your appraisals to the team and you made them very proud. We will welcome you back with great pleasure and will make sure to have a new challenge ready for your lady! Looking forward... More 

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

The perfect honeymoon destination We spend 7 nights here for our honeymoon following 10 days on safari. The island is simply breath-taking and the flight onto the island is just as stunning. There is quite an extreme tide. We spent over an hour walking through knee deep water to get to somewhere deeper and eventually gave up. We learnt there... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cpezel, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear James M, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and thank you for loving Medjumbe so much. We have passed on your appreciation to the staff although we do apologize for the few mishaps you have experienced. With much training and effort we hope to improve the quality of our service to a higher... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

The location of this island is breathtaking. The beaches are good. The resort itself is terrible. Nothing more than a 3 star location. The lodges are very dated. Extremely small with ancient decor. The towels are horrendous. The food was nothing excitng with limited seafood options. Served pasta for lunch and dinner. They need a new chef. Tea time at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Cpezel, Manager at Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear YolandeRose, Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback and we would like to express our apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your stay with us. As a valued guest, your comments have received the highest priority and we would like to share with you some of the action taken in response to your feedback. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (164)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay