We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Grand Forks hotels

Budget Inn Express Grand Forks

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 Gateway Dr, Grand Forks, ND 58208
Hotel amenities
Budget Inn Express Grand Forks
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Budget Inn Express Grand Forks to your Saves list
25%
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Grand Forks
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    1
    1
    17
See reviews for
2
2
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Better off staying in a tent place is a dumpster dive and a crack house . Pass due for wrecking ball. A/c no good fly infes plus roach I got no picture to show but I will but beware you will need to go to er after you see and you may need a tet shot to

Was this review helpful? Yes
Web-Dinger, Owner at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Due to poor spelling, grammar, and sentence structure I will try to decode this review and respond the best I can. First, no guest has ever had to go to the ER after staying with us. NEVER, has this happened. Also, we DO NOT have a fly infestation and I don't know why a guest would have to get a... More

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family stayed here for one week... my children have scabies from staying here.... so be aware. Alao the bathtub was black from soap scum the shower curtain had black mold all over it. Overall the price was decent but was not satisfied

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Web-Dinger, General Manager at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Dear Brandy and Joseph, Please do your research before you recklessly accuse a business of something like this. Scabies is most commonly transmitted via skin to skin contact. You can also contract scabies through the water. For you to post a review like this is border line slander and I will dispute this review with TripAdvisor. Also, scabies is a... More

Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place should be closed. It is dirty and un-safe. Upon check-in, the woman at the desk said she required credit card or cash payment up front (should of been our first clue this place a disaster) She would not hold payment until our check-out like other hotels. When we got to our room, what we found was outrageous. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Web-Dinger, General Manager at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am very sorry about your stay here. I did locate that blanket from our linen and it has been removed from our inventory. The wall outlet has been repaired. I would like to say if you would have come to my front desk about these issues a full refund would have been given. Credit cards are pre-authorized... More

ThiefRiver Falls
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at this motel when I came to GF to visit a friend who was living here while working in GF. It was gorgeous weather and the pool is amazing Super clean, heated and well maintained. But the best is that the pool is outside. It is almost impossible to find an outdoor pool in this region. Being from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Web-Dinger, Owner at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Due to poor spelling, grammar, and sentence structure I will try to decode this review and respond the best I can. First, no guest has ever had to go to the ER after staying with us. NEVER, has this happened. Also, we DO NOT have a fly infestation and I don't know why a guest would have to get a... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago It really was OK. Now it reminded me of a flophouse. Looked at the hot & filthy room. Went straight back to the desk. Only good thing was, I got my money back. Stay anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Web-Dinger, Owner at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

I would like to say we are very sorry that you didn't like your room. I feel you were a bit harsh in your statements concerning our motel. I am also surprised because you mentioned your stay here a "few years ago" was "OK"...(You have actually stayed here MANY times), Since "that" time we have re-carpeted, painted, and bathroom remodels... More

Baudette, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was traveling West Into ND. when i couldn't go any farther the snow storm was at its worst and i couldn't see the road any moor. I pulled into a gas station and asked for a phone book. and started calling places so i would have a place for the night and wait out the storm. every one was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Last October, we called every single hotel in Grand Forks to book a room for Saturday, February 16th. No vacancies due to George Strait concert. The Budget Inn Express was the only one with a room available. Great price, very friendly on the phone. What a relief to have a place to stay! We checked in, took one look at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Web-Dinger, Owner at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Oh my God! You have to be kidding me. We remember this couple very well. I would just like to say to the husband.... "Hang in there buddy!". I did refund this guest, although I found it unusual this "spider" was in full force in the North Dakota winter. I don't understand the bathroom comment but would like readers of... More

Livingston, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked two rooms at this hotel because it was the only one in town with rooms available. They had jacked the price up to three times the normal rate for the event in town but, unfortunately, didn't see the need to clean the room. The bedding was below sub-par, with dirty, cigarette burned sheets and blankets. THERE AREN'T EVEN... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Web-Dinger, Owner at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

I am contesting this review with Trip Advisor, but will respond until review gets pulled. First, ALL of our rooms are 50 dollars. We take pride in NEVER gouging. This guest was "stood up" on one of her tickets to George Strait and wanted to trade the ticket for the room. She became outraged when my front desk clerk declined.... More

Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I read the other reviews when i came to this site to post a thankyou note. Now i need to be fair. I did not see anything wrong with my room and i was there 10 days. It is a historic motel under renovation, and the shower and bath was clean, and different in that it was old, and built... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Web-Dinger, General Manager at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Well Thank YOU! We did some digging in our folios and found out who you are, and I must say, my entire staff remembers you. They referred to you as "the sweet little man, who likes his coffee". Your kind words were very appreciated as I show these reviews to my staff and even though guests compliment us in person... More

Lawton, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The place is falling apart and the staff is rude and has crack heads in the other rooms there is not manys good things to say but it is the 3rd cheapest place in town and the other two don't have a pool

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Web-Dinger, General Manager at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

This guest was an extended stay guest who was asked to leave because he repeatedly left his room a filth for my housekeepers. As far as WiFi, this property has 3 - 40 foot towers, each for WiFi, these cover all 20 acres of property, we handle as many as 200 simultaneous users at once. Access is NEVER down and... More

Do you own or manage Budget Inn Express Grand Forks?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Budget Inn Express Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Express Grand Forks

Address: 3400 Gateway Dr, Grand Forks, ND 58208
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn Express Grand Forks 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Budget Inn Express Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Inn Express Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Budget Inn Grand Forks

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Budget Inn Express Grand Forks