We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Grand Forks hotels

Budget Inn Express Grand Forks

3400 Gateway Dr, Grand Forks, ND 58208
Hotel amenities
Budget Inn Express Grand Forks

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com Hotels.com
26%
Ranked #27 of 27 hotels in Grand Forks
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    2
    1
    15
See reviews for
2
2
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place should be closed. It is dirty and un-safe. Upon check-in, the woman at the desk said she required credit card or cash payment up front (should of been our first clue this place a disaster) She would not hold payment until our check-out like other hotels. When we got to our room, what we found was outrageous. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Web-Dinger, General Manager at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am very sorry about your stay here. I did locate that blanket from our linen and it has been removed from our inventory. The wall outlet has been repaired. I would like to say if you would have come to my front desk about these issues a full refund would have been given. Credit cards are pre-authorized... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It has come to my attention that the Budget Inn Express has greatly improved their motel. With remodeling and taking their customers complaints seriously I would definitely recommend this motel. Way to step up to the plate and improve service and the quality of your motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThiefRiver Falls
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at this motel when I came to GF to visit a friend who was living here while working in GF. It was gorgeous weather and the pool is amazing Super clean, heated and well maintained. But the best is that the pool is outside. It is almost impossible to find an outdoor pool in this region. Being from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago It really was OK. Now it reminded me of a flophouse. Looked at the hot & filthy room. Went straight back to the desk. Only good thing was, I got my money back. Stay anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Web-Dinger, Owner at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

I would like to say we are very sorry that you didn't like your room. I feel you were a bit harsh in your statements concerning our motel. I am also surprised because you mentioned your stay here a "few years ago" was "OK"...(You have actually stayed here MANY times), Since "that" time we have re-carpeted, painted, and bathroom remodels... More

Baudette, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was traveling West Into ND. when i couldn't go any farther the snow storm was at its worst and i couldn't see the road any moor. I pulled into a gas station and asked for a phone book. and started calling places so i would have a place for the night and wait out the storm. every one was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Last October, we called every single hotel in Grand Forks to book a room for Saturday, February 16th. No vacancies due to George Strait concert. The Budget Inn Express was the only one with a room available. Great price, very friendly on the phone. What a relief to have a place to stay! We checked in, took one look at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Web-Dinger, Owner at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Oh my God! You have to be kidding me. We remember this couple very well. I would just like to say to the husband.... "Hang in there buddy!". I did refund this guest, although I found it unusual this "spider" was in full force in the North Dakota winter. I don't understand the bathroom comment but would like readers of... More

Livingston, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked two rooms at this hotel because it was the only one in town with rooms available. They had jacked the price up to three times the normal rate for the event in town but, unfortunately, didn't see the need to clean the room. The bedding was below sub-par, with dirty, cigarette burned sheets and blankets. THERE AREN'T EVEN... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Web-Dinger, Owner at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

I am contesting this review with Trip Advisor, but will respond until review gets pulled. First, ALL of our rooms are 50 dollars. We take pride in NEVER gouging. This guest was "stood up" on one of her tickets to George Strait and wanted to trade the ticket for the room. She became outraged when my front desk clerk declined.... More

Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I read the other reviews when i came to this site to post a thankyou note. Now i need to be fair. I did not see anything wrong with my room and i was there 10 days. It is a historic motel under renovation, and the shower and bath was clean, and different in that it was old, and built... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Web-Dinger, General Manager at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Well Thank YOU! We did some digging in our folios and found out who you are, and I must say, my entire staff remembers you. They referred to you as "the sweet little man, who likes his coffee". Your kind words were very appreciated as I show these reviews to my staff and even though guests compliment us in person... More

Lawton, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The place is falling apart and the staff is rude and has crack heads in the other rooms there is not manys good things to say but it is the 3rd cheapest place in town and the other two don't have a pool

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Web-Dinger, General Manager at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

This guest was an extended stay guest who was asked to leave because he repeatedly left his room a filth for my housekeepers. As far as WiFi, this property has 3 - 40 foot towers, each for WiFi, these cover all 20 acres of property, we handle as many as 200 simultaneous users at once. Access is NEVER down and... More

Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We have stayed there on at least 4 occasions in the last year and a half. Now, if you want to pay the $$$$ go to the $$$$ hotels and inns which give you bells and whistles and charge you $$$$$$$$ for them but the service is not even close to the personal service we've experienced here for fact. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Web-Dinger, General Manager at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Well, Thank you! We ALL appreciate your kind words. More

Been to Budget Inn Express Grand Forks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn Express Grand Forks

Also Known As:
Budget Inn Express Grand Forks Hotel Grand Forks
Budget Inn Express Grand Forks Hotel
Budget Inn Grand Forks
Address: 3400 Gateway Dr, Grand Forks, ND 58208
Location: United States > North Dakota > Grand Forks
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 27 hotels in Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Budget Inn Express Grand Forks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Budget Inn Express Grand Forks to your Saves list