We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budget Inn Express Grand Forks

3400 Gateway Dr, Grand Forks, ND 58208
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Budget Inn Express Grand Forks
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1
    4
    1
    2
    20
See reviews for
2
2
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

I booked this Hotel from looking at the pictures on Booking.com, unfortunately biggest error. This place is not fit for animals forget about people. Entrance was like being in a junk yard, rooms were smelly, musty, filthy bathroom. The photos on the website are nothing like what we saw. Absolute crap in the name of a hotel. I cancelled my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

This is the nastiest hotel I have ever stayed in everything is dirty and not clean wood floors have gaps in them nasty stain on the bed just totally gross in general.This place should not be in business

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Grand Forks hotels

Minot, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

The only nice thing I can say about this place was the front desk lady was very nice and didn't argue over the refunds. Me and three others had no other choice in town. We all checked our rooms then met at the front desk to see if we could exchange rooms for new rooms. Well that was a mistake... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Stayed here once, thought there was about a 50/50 chance of being mugged. Its about as low as it gets in the Grand Forks area and i dont think i would stay here again unless it was your very last option! And even then I would consider sleeping in the car ha

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Better off staying in a tent place is a dumpster dive and a crack house . Pass due for wrecking ball. A/c no good fly infes plus roach I got no picture to show but I will but beware you will need to go to er after you see and you may need a tet shot to

Was this review helpful? Yes
Web-Dinger, Owner at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Due to poor spelling, grammar, and sentence structure I will try to decode this review and respond the best I can. First, no guest has ever had to go to the ER after staying with us. NEVER, has this happened. Also, we DO NOT have a fly infestation and I don't know why a guest would have to get a... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Me and my family stayed here for one week... my children have scabies from staying here.... so be aware. Alao the bathtub was black from soap scum the shower curtain had black mold all over it. Overall the price was decent but was not satisfied

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Web-Dinger, General Manager at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Dear Brandy and Joseph, Please do your research before you recklessly accuse a business of something like this. Scabies is most commonly transmitted via skin to skin contact. You can also contract scabies through the water. For you to post a review like this is border line slander and I will dispute this review with TripAdvisor. Also, scabies is a... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This place should be closed. It is dirty and un-safe. Upon check-in, the woman at the desk said she required credit card or cash payment up front (should of been our first clue this place a disaster) She would not hold payment until our check-out like other hotels. When we got to our room, what we found was outrageous. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Web-Dinger, General Manager at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am very sorry about your stay here. I did locate that blanket from our linen and it has been removed from our inventory. The wall outlet has been repaired. I would like to say if you would have come to my front desk about these issues a full refund would have been given. Credit cards are pre-authorized... More 

ThiefRiver Falls
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at this motel when I came to GF to visit a friend who was living here while working in GF. It was gorgeous weather and the pool is amazing Super clean, heated and well maintained. But the best is that the pool is outside. It is almost impossible to find an outdoor pool in this region. Being from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Web-Dinger, Owner at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

Due to poor spelling, grammar, and sentence structure I will try to decode this review and respond the best I can. First, no guest has ever had to go to the ER after staying with us. NEVER, has this happened. Also, we DO NOT have a fly infestation and I don't know why a guest would have to get a... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago It really was OK. Now it reminded me of a flophouse. Looked at the hot & filthy room. Went straight back to the desk. Only good thing was, I got my money back. Stay anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Web-Dinger, Owner at Budget Inn Express Grand Forks, responded to this review

I would like to say we are very sorry that you didn't like your room. I feel you were a bit harsh in your statements concerning our motel. I am also surprised because you mentioned your stay here a "few years ago" was "OK"...(You have actually stayed here MANY times), Since "that" time we have re-carpeted, painted, and bathroom remodels... More 

Baudette, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was traveling West Into ND. when i couldn't go any farther the snow storm was at its worst and i couldn't see the road any moor. I pulled into a gas station and asked for a phone book. and started calling places so i would have a place for the night and wait out the storm. every one was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Forks hotels
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Grand Forks
1.0 mi away
Knights Inn & Suites
Knights Inn & Suites
#21 of 29 in Grand Forks
3.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
1.6 mi away
Expressway Suites of Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Select Inn
Select Inn
#28 of 29 in Grand Forks
3.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Forks
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Forks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay