We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Houghton Conquest hotels

The Knife & Cleaver

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Grove, Houghton Conquest, Bedford MK45 3LA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Knife & Cleaver to your Saves list
The Knife & Cleaver
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
87%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Norman N Whitstable, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (262)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (53)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    33
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
55
116
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have been staying here on and off for the last 20 years or so when we race our Powerboat at Stewartby Powerboat Club 10 mins away, the last time we stayed it had a different owners and the people who own it now have made it even better, and if you are dog lovers and want to take you're... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My partner and I had made an advanced booking for a nights stay, the booking was well handled, with a confirmation email almost instantly. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival and our room was very well appointed and comfortable.... we decided to eat in the restaurant... and were not disappointed... our food was excellent, as was the house red... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Slough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 5 nights while attending a local event. This is a converted pub with 9 rooms in an adjacent single storey buildong. The rooms are comfortable and the location is very peaceful. We were leaving very early for the event and coming back late so did not eat in the restaurant. The owners provide that personal service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we stayed here in August and we had a lovely time, we were due to stay for 2 days but unfortunately had to leave early which was no problem to amend our booking. I am a veggie that has a severe garlic allergy but nothing was too much trouble for the chef who came out and spoke to me prior... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind comments, it was a pleasure having such wonderfull guests. our chef's are very happy to prepare to your requests, they enjoyed bening atentive. We hope to have you stay again soon. PS our spirit measures are large ones not the normal bar measures. Thankyou again for your lovely comments and thank you Graham, Terry... More

Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

my wife and I stayed here for two nights last week, while attending my grandsons passing out parade at raf halton. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the meal was excellent. We are likely to return next year for our silver wedding anniversary.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review

Thanks so much and so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to serving you again. Thanks for the wonderful review. Graham, Terry & all at The Knife & Cleaver More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Using the recommendations from Trip Advisor we chose The Knife & Cleaver as it came highly recommended. We were staying at Center Parcs and as all their restaurants were booked up, my sister-in-law found The Knife & Cleaver. This was a lucky escape as the food at Center Parcs was disgusting and the food we had at The Knife &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review

Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed yourselves, we enjoyed serving you, what a great family party. Thanks again Graham & Terry and all at The Knife & Cleaver More

Rhuddlan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here last week on business. A great place in a nice quiet villiage. Plenty of parking space when you get there. The Knife & Cleaver is a gem of a place. The selection of real ales is good & I can vouch for that via a tasting session, with a good choice of other beers to choose from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review

Thank so much for taking time and writing your review we very much appreciate your kind comments Graham, Terry & All at The Knife & Cleaver More

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although I would agree with elements of the most recent reviews, our experience wasn't quite so positive. For a room priced at over £100 per night, fresh towels shouldn't be too much to ask, and yet the dirty towels left in the bath were simply folded up and placed back for use. Moreover, the wifi only appeared to work in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Graham R, Front Office Manager at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review

Dear Family, (expat) If I may I need to correct you in your review, the content is not factual for a few reasons........... The rooms are not charged at over £100 per night, please see our web site for prices, one of your rooms (room 5) was only £89.00. Including Full English Breakfast. You and your party specifically requested late... More

Plymouth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have recently returned from a family wedding in Bedfordshire. Six of us stayed at this very pleasant, warm and friendly pub which is run by Graham and Terry. The pub is situated in a very quiet and picturesque village where the only noise at night is the sound of the church bells ringing. The accommodation was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review

Great to hear from you and thanks so much for coming. Your kind comments will be passed on. Thanks again Graham, Terry & all at The Knife & Cleaver More

Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights at the knife and Cleaver for a family wedding at Wrest Park. All the rooms are separate from the pub and are purpose built comfortable and well maintained en-suites. It was very hot the weekend we were there and so we slept with the windows open. The village church clock strikes every quarter hour. Not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Graham R, Owner at The Knife & Cleaver, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will see you all again. Thanks Graham, Terry and all at The Knife & Cleaver More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Knife & Cleaver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Knife & Cleaver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knife & Cleaver

Address: The Grove, Houghton Conquest, Bedford MK45 3LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Houghton Conquest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Knife & Cleaver 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Knife & Cleaver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knife & Cleaver Hotel Bedford
The Knife And Cleaver
Knife Cleaver Bedford
Knife Cleaver Hotel Bedford

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly re built Knife & Cleaver is situated in the pretty village of Houghton Conquest just 5 miles from the centre of Bedford and only 1 hour by rail from London.Overlooking the magnificent grade 1 listed All Saints church and beautiful countryside. The Knife & Cleaver is a ramblers paradise, with a great selection of walks ranging from two & a half miles, three miles, four and four and a half miles. We offer 9 beautiful double or twin rooms, each en-suite & offering T.V. Tea & Coffee making facilities, hairdryer, room service open 7 days a week from 7 am until midnight.The mainline Rail station to Brighton thru London for Flitwick runs 7 days a week and there are trains almost every 20 minutes.We have disabled access & Cots available. Our four fine chefs are very proud to offer you a varied menu only using all fresh locally sourced ingredients. Special dietary requirements are offered. We are here to serve you and look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Knife & Cleaver staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer