We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge East

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1401 35th St. S., Fargo, ND 58103
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge East
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    40
    23
    11
    10
See reviews for
30
27
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (115)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We're not ones to write harsh reviews but if you rely on Trip Advisor reviews (like we did) it's important to be honest. The front desk clerk was painfully annoyed to even take one of his two ear buds out when we showed up and it went downhill from there. Our room was shabby, obviously not cleaned, and had clothes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The most important thing we look for in a hotel is cleanliness. Unfortunately, this one dropped the ball. Cons: The carpet was incredibly filthy. Our feet were black and sticky if we walked barefoot. They seriously need to replace the carpet. Our feet left black footprints on the bottom of the tub when going in to shower. The coffee maker... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

We apologize for the issues you had. Yours is not the only room with overspray from the painting and we are very disappointed with the quality of work they did. We are having to use harsh chemicals and even throw some things out because of it. When we get the upstairs done we will be addressing carpets. Some will be... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A no-frills, budget hotel in need of updating. We stayed in a lower level room, worn down through years of use, with bare bulbs (no fixture) over the bath mirror, multiple holes in the entry door where the chain latch had been replaced, and re-replaced, and chafed and worn woodwork. The complimentary breakfast is similarly bare-bones, with minimal selections and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

We apologize for the issues with your room. We are working hard at getting things fixed or changed completely. The delay on our remodeling upstairs has thrown a big wrench in many of our plans timing wise. Many things are going to change though, and the breakfast options is one of them. Have a great day. Chris and Patti More 

Bonner Springs, Kansas
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Econo Lodge in Laramie WY and loved it so we specifically sought this one out. What a mistake. Checked in and bathroom had someone's clothes hanging on back of bathroom door and hair on the floor. Then I pulled back the sheets and realized they had not been changed on the first one and the second one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gretna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is easy to find. We booked by phone. The rate was good, Chris took the time to answer all questions, and made sure we had the best room for our needs.The facility is clean and quiet. Everything we need is included, in good condition.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Even though your stay was good, we are still working hard to make many improvements to lift the level of this hotel. We believe it can be a higher quality hotel than a typical economy class hotel. Have a great day Chris and Patti More 

Flasher, North Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Econo Lodge Fargo is really clean, quiet, & reasonably priced. It's close to many restaurants, West Acres Mall, and right off I29. I'd stay there again next time I'm in Fargo. The room was very quiet. They offer a very nice free breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. If all goes well, the next time you are here the breakfast will be even better. We are also going to be adding some hot food items available at night to our guests. Have a great day. Chris and Patti More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was clean and cheap. It was not amazing, nor would I want to stay there more than a night. But for a place to stay while passing through on a longer road trip, it was fine. The points that weren't great: place was a bit worn, room was SUPER humid and hot on arrival (A/C was left off),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Yes, we have just recently painted our current rooms and changed over to all new ADA toilets. We are waiting for the upstairs to get done and then we are going to be working on more updates for our current rooms. Have a great day Chris and Patti More 

International Falls, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The fridge was not cleaned out from previous day. Too few convenient plug-ins. I needed to crawl under the desk thing to plug in my kindle; other plug-in was full. Good central location. Nice breakfast but a very small area; probably would not have enough room during a busy season!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Yes, we very much need to expand the breakfast area and that is one of the projects we are going to be doing. It will be about 3x the size it is now. We have also added usb charging plugs by the night stands in our rooms. Have a great day. Chris and Patti More 

United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

My friend and I were traveling to the women's World Cup and needed a place to sleep for the night before. We booked ahead of time here because it was cheap and off the highway. So, that's one positive I would give this hotel, it's location is great if you just want to get off the highway and be at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your experience, if you could please let us know which room we will have it checked out, but we have not found any dead bugs yet. Many things will be different quite soon when this remodeling is completed. Have a great day Chris and Patti More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. It is just off the freeway yet it is very quiet. Very reasonable rate. My room was large with a queen bed, fridge, microwave, easy chair with ottoman and desk. Nice flat screen TV also. Bathroom was clean and stocked. Comfortable bed and pillows. Only complaint was the desk chair not being comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris H, General Manager at Econo Lodge East, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while in Fargo. We hope you had a pleasant time in town and look forward to seeing you again. Maybe the next time our remodeling will be done. Have a great day! Chris and Patti More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fargo hotels
0.5 mi away
Fargo Inn & Suites
Fargo Inn & Suites
#31 of 48 in Fargo
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#20 of 48 in Fargo
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Fargo
Super 8 Fargo
#38 of 48 in Fargo
3.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge West Fargo
Econo Lodge West Fargo
#41 of 48 in Fargo
3.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#39 of 48 in Fargo
3.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn West Acres
Quality Inn West Acres
#42 of 48 in Fargo
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay