We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Wrightsville Beach hotels

Shell Island Resort

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2700 North Lumina Ave., Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Shell Island Resort to your Saves list
Shell Island Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
73%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
David R
  • Reviews (422)
  • Photos (135)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (114)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    140
    57
    44
    24
See reviews for
163
116
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cary, nc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The first thing you need to know about this place is that it is NOT a hotel (nor a resort). That means that a management presence is lacking, and what management IS around, is completely worthless in that position. There is NO general manager. There are only "directors of operations". We checked in on July 2 and like previous reviewers,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

George and Sasha and staff made the wedding absolutely wonderful. We didn't want for anything. They covered every detail and then some. From the staff at the pool to the bartenders to the front desk staff to the ones who cleaned the room....everyone had a smile on their face. It was a joy and we can't wait to go back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Prior to our trip, we read a number of reviews of the hotel. They seemed to be evenly divided between the "two thumbs up" and "both thumbs down" camps. The fact of the matter is there was nothing either amazing or terrible about the experience. The view was spectacular, they let us check in early, the staff was polite, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear revjr1, I apologize that your stay at the Shell Island Resort did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide every guest with the most spectacular vacation experience that we can and it is disappointing that we were unable to achieve this with you. All of our suites are the same square footage, 660sqft. Even with the smaller square... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Shell Island is our favorite vacation spot and we go there as much as possible. My husband and I just returned from another visit and were so impressed by the recent upgrades that had been made to our room. We always request one of the "01" end units because of the extraordinary view of the huge sandbar at the North... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sarah R, Wow, thank you for the kind words. We are so happy that you and your husband had such a wonderful experience at the Shell Island Resort. The view from the North end of the island cannot be replicated by anyone else and we are happy to have been able to share it with you. We can't wait... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a 3 day 3 night stay at this resort a few weeks ago online. I received a confirmation that indicated they charged me one night stay as a deposit and that the remaining 2 nights would be due at checkin. They also notified me that I could cancel with a full refund within 48 hours from my arrival.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Cody T, Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear sara t, We apologize that you had a negative experience and would like to explain again what occurred in order to clarify the situation. The rate that you chose on our website is an "Early Bird" rate. Our website clearly describes the Early Bird rate in the section where guests choose their rate as: "Rate is 100 PCT Non... More

Piney Flats, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had reservations here on June 17th 2014.when we arrived after driving 10hours.as we r from tennessee.we were informed by Andrew the desk employee. That our credit card would not b excepted .his reason "because we we,'re out of state." We did not know that the resort for locals only.we we,'re left without a place to stay and he would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Cody T, Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn M, We apologize that you had a negative experience and would like to shed some light on the situation to make what occurred more clear. Your credit cards declined not because Andrew decided that they should, but because your bank declined the transaction. This is usually due to either insufficient funds, or as Andrew suggested because you were... More

Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on the 9th floor. The room was a bit dated but clean and very spacious with King bed and one and 1/2 bathrooms and deck facing the ocean above the pool. We were very impressed with the Marsh in the back for kayaking and the stretch of beach. Being on the end of the beach, there is wonderful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kara T, Thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased that you had a wonderful time at the Shell Island Resort. I am glad you took advantage of the salt marsh behind us for kayaking. We are one one of the few places that has direct access to both the ocean and the marsh. We look forward... More

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just spent the night at a friend's condo at this resort. Since the units are individually owned their decor and amenities will vary, but ours was fantastic. All of the units have balconies overlooking the beach and the ocean. We were on the 8th floor (Room 803), of 9, so the view was fantastic, especially as we hit full... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear AMH51, It sounds like you hit all the high spots with a moonlight views of the beach down to the delicious waffle and omelet bar at the Island End Bar and Grill. We are very pleased that we were able to make your stay with us a memorable experience. There are plenty of things do to on the island... More

Asheboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Attended a conference (200 folks) and all our needs were well met. Food was good and rooms were clean. Grounds are quite nice. Beach is great because it is on the "end" of the beach. Lovely inlet and marsh to explore. Staff was very accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew G, Guest Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear LHR70, Thank you for choosing us to host your conference at the Shell Island Resort and your nice comments about your experience. We enjoyed being your host and are happy we were able to provide you with excellent service and a great place to meet. Not to mention the amazing beach backdrop! We look forward to hosting your group... More

Cha rlotte
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been going to Wrightsville Beach for years, and this is our favorite spot. We love the large beach, the two pools and the units are setup perfect for our needs. Make sure you walk to the end of the island and enjoy the channel and view of Figure 8 Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Andrew G, Public Relations Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear GibbKim, Thank you for giving us the title of "Best place at the Beach!" We love our long term returning guests and are so happy that you think of us each time you visit the beach. The walk to the end of the island can not be duplicated anywhere else. We can't wait to see you again. Warm Regards,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Shell Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Shell Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 North Lumina Ave., Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (36)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
145

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer