We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summer Sands Suites

104 S Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Summer Sands Suites
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    16
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family has been visiting Summer Sands for many years. They have done a lot of updating but it was never in poor shape. The layout of the suite is perfect for our family of three. We appreciate having the full kitchen. I always request my favorite rooms - upper level, sound side - with views of the ICW, bridge,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winston Salem, North Carolina
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Beautiful place and view of the sunrise and sunset! I was very shocked at the motel TBH.... it was last minute and i wasnt sure what i was going to expect. But when I got there it was everything i wanted and more. Thank you! Even though it ran the whole time i was there I enjoyed this clean motel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Murphy, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As you can see in the below pic there are roaches, or as they called them "water bugs", bigger than a quarter. They wouldn't discount the room or give us a later check out because of it either...not even after i towel-swept our bathroom floor be side of all the little, And big, black hairs. I also cleaned poop off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

When any of our guest rooms are not up to our high standards it is a cause for alarm and staff training. Our cleaning staff work double time in the busy summer months to clean our guest rooms in a fast but thorough fashion. When something gets missed we would like the chance to make it right. What happens when... More 

Fenton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

The staff @ Summer Sands gave a key to our room to an unwanted guest over Memorial Day weekend 2015. That person smoked pot in my room when I wasn't there and Summer Sands stole $250. out of my account that I used to pay for the room. I demanded a refund for the $250.00 and they said there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

We regret that anyone is charged a smoking fine, however, the owners of Summer Sands have a zero tolerance for this policy violation. I can not speak to the fact of how your guest was in your room, it sounded very complicated when you explained it to me over the phone. Any unwanted guest should be reported as an intruder... More 

Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We come to this sweet little gem every year for our anniversary get-away. Have never been disappointed. Yes, it may be a little dated, however, we have been witness to so many upgrades over the years, so we know the management is always on it's toes to keep up with repairs, etc. Were happy to see the brand new shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

Well I could not have put it any better myself. Thank you from the staff and myself. We take pride in our "Little Gem" and are so pleased you have noticed the upgrades every year. We strive to keep the rooms clean, contemporary and still keep it a good value. The location can't be beat as you said--just steps away... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We just returned from another great weekend at Summer Sands. We love staying here because of the location - we usually never move our car the entire weekend as you can walk to restaurants, shops, and grocery. We also like having the separate living/dining from the bedroom so you are't as cramped. The waterway views are great, especially the sunsets!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

Best value that is great praise, thank you. We are working this summer on more room updates that include new bedroom furniture and updates to the living room furniture as well. Rooms are getting painted and new carpet being installed. We can't stop ourselves! Leaving your car parked the entire stay is a huge plus when you consider parking and... More 

Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

The check in process was easy & the condo was well appointed, clean & comfortably stocked. Finding pet friendly locations is difficult enough so locating one that was so nice certainly made for a great stay in Wrightsville Beach. The only suggestion I would make would be for the desk staff to be knowledgeable about where to tell guests to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time to let others know about your stay here at Summer Sands. We have been very pleased to offer accommodations to guests who travel with their dogs. The rooms are well appointed and held up to the same high standards as all our rooms. The Wrightsville Beach town rules allow dogs on the... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Summer Sands has been a convenient , pleasant place to stay in Wrightsville Beach. We have stayed many times with minimal complaints. Our last visit however was a disappointment. When making our reservation we requested a specific room and told the room was available. This room request was also confirmed in an email. Upon arrival we were told our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

We are very aware that our long time guests do prefer certain rooms and their locations. We are also disappointed when we can not meet those requests and do our very best to keep those reservations in tact. The off season finds us in unique situations where we have long term guests staying for in excess of thirty days and... More 

Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Summer Sands was a pleasant stay. A functional room with a friendly helpful staff. The location was wonderful a quick walk to the beach, coffee, shop and restaurant. My only problem with our unit was the water pressure in the shower was pretty non-existent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to let everyone know how Summer Sands is just steps away from everything here in Wrightsville Beach. We also are sorry to hear that you experienced and issue with water pressure in your room. The water department has been doing and continues to do several line flushes to remove sand that gets in the... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The suites are clean and have a full kitchen, dining room/area and living room. You can walk to the beach, shopping, boutiques, surf shops. There are bikes available at Summer Suites, or if you want to try a two-person trike, you can rent one right up the street. Parking is available and the beach is steps away. You cannot beat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities