We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summer Sands Suites

104 S Lumina Ave, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
Hotel amenities
Summer Sands Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
tripler94 Cynthiana, Kentucky
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    16
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Cynthiana, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Where to start. We had always stayed in Wilmington. But because most of our activities were in Wrightsville this time we changed to the Summer Sands. And wow are we glad we did. It was in walking distance of all Our activities with Wrightsville Beach Scenic tours and it's within 1000 feet of the ocean. Our room was spotless...the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We always love staying at Summer Sands. We've been coming here for years and always have a wonderful time! The staff is friendly and always helpful. Views are beautiful and what a treat to park your car and walk where you want to go. The food in the area is top notch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Conveniently located where you never have to deal with traffic. Friendly, accommodating staff. Wouldn't stay in any other hotels in Wrightsville Beach. We had a group of 25 friends split up in rooms and it was the best decision we all made.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family has been visiting Summer Sands for many years. They have done a lot of updating but it was never in poor shape. The layout of the suite is perfect for our family of three. We appreciate having the full kitchen. I always request my favorite rooms - upper level, sound side - with views of the ICW, bridge,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words. We are so pleased to be part of many families traditions. Summer Sands has been here to see many of the young children who played here now come back to plan their weddings. Grandparents now bringing the second generation to Summer Sands to experience Wrightsville Beach. The upgrades are a way to... More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful place and view of the sunrise and sunset! I was very shocked at the motel TBH.... it was last minute and i wasnt sure what i was going to expect. But when I got there it was everything i wanted and more. Thank you! Even though it ran the whole time i was there I enjoyed this clean motel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

Great words from new converts to Wrightsville Beach and Summer Sands. We were glad you found us and we exceeded your expectations. Our very words are leave your car keys in the room because everything you need is just a few steps away from your door. We look forward to your next trip and don't forget to share with others... More 

Murphy, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015 via mobile

As you can see in the below pic there are roaches, or as they called them "water bugs", bigger than a quarter. They wouldn't discount the room or give us a later check out because of it either...not even after i towel-swept our bathroom floor be side of all the little, And big, black hairs. I also cleaned poop off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

When any of our guest rooms are not up to our high standards it is a cause for alarm and staff training. Our cleaning staff work double time in the busy summer months to clean our guest rooms in a fast but thorough fashion. When something gets missed we would like the chance to make it right. What happens when... More 

Fenton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

The staff @ Summer Sands gave a key to our room to an unwanted guest over Memorial Day weekend 2015. That person smoked pot in my room when I wasn't there and Summer Sands stole $250. out of my account that I used to pay for the room. I demanded a refund for the $250.00 and they said there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

We regret that anyone is charged a smoking fine, however, the owners of Summer Sands have a zero tolerance for this policy violation. I can not speak to the fact of how your guest was in your room, it sounded very complicated when you explained it to me over the phone. Any unwanted guest should be reported as an intruder... More 

Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We come to this sweet little gem every year for our anniversary get-away. Have never been disappointed. Yes, it may be a little dated, however, we have been witness to so many upgrades over the years, so we know the management is always on it's toes to keep up with repairs, etc. Were happy to see the brand new shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

Well I could not have put it any better myself. Thank you from the staff and myself. We take pride in our "Little Gem" and are so pleased you have noticed the upgrades every year. We strive to keep the rooms clean, contemporary and still keep it a good value. The location can't be beat as you said--just steps away... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We just returned from another great weekend at Summer Sands. We love staying here because of the location - we usually never move our car the entire weekend as you can walk to restaurants, shops, and grocery. We also like having the separate living/dining from the bedroom so you are't as cramped. The waterway views are great, especially the sunsets!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

Best value that is great praise, thank you. We are working this summer on more room updates that include new bedroom furniture and updates to the living room furniture as well. Rooms are getting painted and new carpet being installed. We can't stop ourselves! Leaving your car parked the entire stay is a huge plus when you consider parking and... More 

Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

The check in process was easy & the condo was well appointed, clean & comfortably stocked. Finding pet friendly locations is difficult enough so locating one that was so nice certainly made for a great stay in Wrightsville Beach. The only suggestion I would make would be for the desk staff to be knowledgeable about where to tell guests to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
laura s, Manager at Summer Sands Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time to let others know about your stay here at Summer Sands. We have been very pleased to offer accommodations to guests who travel with their dogs. The rooms are well appointed and held up to the same high standards as all our rooms. The Wrightsville Beach town rules allow dogs on the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
4.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
4.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites By Marriott Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach
13.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay