We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Winston Salem hotels

University Hotel and Conference Center

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5790 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added University Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
University Hotel and Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
71%
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Winston Salem
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014
MJD5579 Cleveland, Ohio
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    14
    8
    12
See reviews for
38
15
9
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Found this hotel through a number of different booking sites and it appeared under a couple of different names. It's own website is still there, but directs you to a number to book. I booked through the parent website 'Magnuson Hotels'. What it doesn't say is that the bar and restaurant have closed, the pool is closed and the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brentwood, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We booked a Holiday Inn. when we arrived after dark, the sign had been changed so we had to drive around for a while looking for the right place. When we finally checked in, we were told the hotel had changed hands and was under renovation. The lobby was clean and attractive. Not so for the floors with rooms. the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We enjoyed our one-night stay at Holiday Inn Winston-Salem. The pool was closed due to renovations but it was still a pleasant stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and they offer a free breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We made a reservation a month ago for the Holiday Inn. We pulled off the highway and drove around a few minutes looking for a Holiday Inn. We stopped and asked for directions. We pulled in and there was no sign for Holiday Inn but for a University Hotel. It looked like no one was even there. The outside landscaping... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were so excited to visit Winston-Salem But it is not owned by Holiday Inn any longer, it's not warm and welcoming. There is no bar or resturant .. The pool I was so looking forward to enjoying is a slim hole.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Thank you HI Winston Salem, after a very long grueling trip Chris B took extra care and offered up a beautiful comfortable room. It was welcoming and a much needed retreat, the staff can't do enough and always polite, courteous, and professional. Thank you..... I' ll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for several days in April when I was in the area on business. The hotel has a good location, is clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful staff. There's an excellent restaurant off of the main lobby that has delicious food at reasonable prices. The restaurant is managed by an outside company, not the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

There was nothing at all wrong with this hotel. It was average in every way, from check-in and value, to sleep quality, bathroom and check-out. There was some hair (someone else's) in the shower but overall the room and entire property was clean. No free hotel breakfast (not that I mind), but there is a restaurant in the hotel. I'd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at University Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear waddayouthink, Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your stay at our Hotel. We appreciated the time and effort you have taken to inform us of your experience. Guests such as yourself enable us to maintain the high standard of service expected of us. If there is anything we can do to make your stay... More

Louisa, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed at this Holiday Inn this past week and had a nice stay. The hotel staff was very nice and made the stay enjoyable. Along with other reviewers I did have trouble sleeping due to the air conditioning unit. It was loud and startled me a couple times throughout the night. During the evening I also found a couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

What a terrible stay. Up late working on paper work. Went to bed around 4:00 a.m. and was in route to the hospital at 6:00 am due to fact I was covered in bed bugs. Jump into the shower and was able to capture the bugs and notified the front desk and all they wanted to do was transfer me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at University Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Super T, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with the room accommodations you had and the service you received fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional information regarding your stay. Thank you for staying... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage University Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to University Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 5790 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — University Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your University Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Holiday Inn

51 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Winston Salem with
any amenities