We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

University Hotel and Conference Center

5790 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Hotel amenities
University Hotel and Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015
Bear W
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    44
    18
    12
    15
See reviews for
39
19
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Hornell, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I gave it 2 stars because the room was nice. There was a lot of construction going on which I understand but my key didn't work and the hallway the hallway to my room was 60% blocked after I got off work and the noise of construction continued til 7PM. I called the front desk and her only response was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The front staff was nice and pleasant and that is where the experience ends. The hotel from outside looks distinctively 3star and modern. But they should inform their guests on website and portal like Priceline that it is under a major renovation. Parking:Limited parking as the place is full of construction bins. Lobby: Dusty with tarp and construction material Room:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna C, Assistant General Manager at University Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing University Hotel for your recent stay in our area. It is these reviews that help us to be sure that the standards which we wish to maintain are being upheld. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken: We have updated our internet third party sites to reflect the renovations so each... More 

Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked our three-night stay here through Hotwire. Thank goodness we didn't pay any more than we did ($52/night) to stay here. We're settling in for our second night, and we have decided to stay with friends for our third and final night in town instead. The hotel is still under construction as others have stated. I really don't care... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna C, Asst. General Manager at University Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it should have been. Our hotel strives to provide the best guest satisfaction and very disappointed that you did not receive that kind of service. I would like to apologize on behalf of the... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't even want to think about it again people on the front were nice but room was not clean at all. Smelled smoke so switched room, second room card key was not working so had to make another trip from 5th to front for the key. After enter the room I found lots of hair on sheet and pillow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Anna C, Asst. General Manager at University Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it should have been. Our hotel strives to provide the best guest satisfaction and very disappointed that you did not receive that kind of service. I would like to apologize on behalf of the... More 

Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

I've stayed at this location for years for a local business visit and the updates make it likely I will keep returning. It used to be Holiday Inn, and the location is good for north side Winston-Salem or Wake Forest U. Based on my last stay, I would recommend or return. The good: Nice new decor, clean throughout the halls,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna C, Asst. General Manager at University Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reviews of our hotel. We work really hard to serve the best guest service in a great environment. I am glad that your overall stay was a success. We are still currently under renovations and the rooms are still being upgraded. The rooms will have new furniture, new doors, and new linens when they... More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015 via mobile

This was our first time staying at hotel. Its still under construction. Our room was okay. The furniture needs to be updated. Chipping. Check in lady was unprofessional.Overall-okay. Continental breakfast was served.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna C, Asst. General Manager at University Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it should have been. Our hotel strives to provide the best guest satisfaction and very disappointed that you did not receive that kind of service. I would like to apologize on behalf of the... More 

Cumberland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
89 hotel reviews
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Yes they are renovating and will according to the clerk at the desk become a Doubletree. We got this hotel on Priceline as we were passing through the area and were a little worried when we read the reviews. However, we had mostly a good experience. Check in was easy and friendly and she even gave us a few of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna C, Asst. General Manager at University Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reviews of our hotel. We work really hard to serve the best guest service in a great environment. I am glad that your overall stay was a success. We are still currently under renovations and the rooms are still being upgraded. The rooms will have new furniture, new doors, and new linens when they... More 

Hanover, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

As other reviewers have mentioned, this hotel is undergoing renovation that I believe will continue until sometime in the spring. When complete, this should be a very nice hotel, and I believe it will abandon the current "University" name, being listed instead as a Hilton DoubleTree property. However, until then, unless you are a very sound sleeper, I would hesitate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna C, Asst. General Manager at University Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it should have been. Our hotel strives to provide the best guest satisfaction and very disappointed that you did not receive that kind of service. I would like to apologize on behalf of the... More 

Mount Airy, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

This hotel has potential. It is being renovated, so we tried to be understanding, however there are some complaints. The toilet in our bathroom had not been cleaned when we arrived. Also, there is no light above the bathroom counter. The only light is above the shower. Also, the front desk attendant was not overly friendly. She did not tell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna C, Asst. General Manager at University Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it should have been. Our hotel strives to provide the best guest satisfaction and I am very disappointed that you did not receive that kind of service. I would like to apologize on behalf... More 

Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Be forewarned..this hotel is going through renovations and is FAR from being ready to receive guests when it comes to the condition of the individual rooms! There are signs at the front desk encouraging you to ask for an upgrade to a "renovated" room, so, naturally, we did that. Well, room 613 is far from being ready for guests!! There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anna C, Asst. General Manager at University Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it should have been. Our hotel strives to provide the best guest satisfaction and very disappointed that you did not receive that kind of service. I would like to apologize on behalf of the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question