We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Winston Salem hotels

Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5790 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
Ranked #23 of 39 hotels in Winston Salem
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
MJD5579 Cleveland, Ohio
  • Overview
  • Reviews (113)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (41)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
37
15
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our one-night stay at Holiday Inn Winston-Salem. The pool was closed due to renovations but it was still a pleasant stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and they offer a free breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We made a reservation a month ago for the Holiday Inn. We pulled off the highway and drove around a few minutes looking for a Holiday Inn. We stopped and asked for directions. We pulled in and there was no sign for Holiday Inn but for a University Hotel. It looked like no one was even there. The outside landscaping... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were so excited to visit Winston-Salem But it is not owned by Holiday Inn any longer, it's not warm and welcoming. There is no bar or resturant .. The pool I was so looking forward to enjoying is a slim hole.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Thank you HI Winston Salem, after a very long grueling trip Chris B took extra care and offered up a beautiful comfortable room. It was welcoming and a much needed retreat, the staff can't do enough and always polite, courteous, and professional. Thank you..... I' ll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for several days in April when I was in the area on business. The hotel has a good location, is clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful staff. There's an excellent restaurant off of the main lobby that has delicious food at reasonable prices. The restaurant is managed by an outside company, not the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

There was nothing at all wrong with this hotel. It was average in every way, from check-in and value, to sleep quality, bathroom and check-out. There was some hair (someone else's) in the shower but overall the room and entire property was clean. No free hotel breakfast (not that I mind), but there is a restaurant in the hotel. I'd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway, responded to this review

Dear waddayouthink, Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your stay at our Hotel. We appreciated the time and effort you have taken to inform us of your experience. Guests such as yourself enable us to maintain the high standard of service expected of us. If there is anything we can do to make your stay... More

Louisa, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed at this Holiday Inn this past week and had a nice stay. The hotel staff was very nice and made the stay enjoyable. Along with other reviewers I did have trouble sleeping due to the air conditioning unit. It was loud and startled me a couple times throughout the night. During the evening I also found a couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

What a terrible stay. Up late working on paper work. Went to bed around 4:00 a.m. and was in route to the hospital at 6:00 am due to fact I was covered in bed bugs. Jump into the shower and was able to capture the bugs and notified the front desk and all they wanted to do was transfer me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Super T, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with the room accommodations you had and the service you received fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional information regarding your stay. Thank you for staying... More

Chicago
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

An average Holiday Inn for the traveler. Although both check-in staff and bartender were very delightful, follow thru was lacking. Promised complimentary drink tickets never arrived and it took a long time to be served as bartender was closing up in back as I arrived an hour before closing. Actual rooms were fine and ongoing renovations may make the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway, responded to this review

Dear Chicagoehc, Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore,... More

Rural Hall, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The evening staff was amazing. We needed a last minute overnight stay for my mother and I due to an emergency. We called this hotel hoping for any chance that they may have a wheelchair available to use during our stay as well as a handicap room for the night and they had both amazingly. The gentleman at the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway

Address: 5790 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winston - Salem - University Parkway Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Holiday Inn

41 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Winston-Salem- University Parkway is located close to a wide variety of activities and local attractions, from touring the local wine vineyard to spending the day tracing back history in Old Salem. Families can enjoy visit the hands-on children's discovery museum SciWorks, and for those fashionista divas the Hanes Mall is the largest mall in the state of North Carolina (as well as one of the top 5 along the entire eastern U.S. coastline. Among the other fanfare that downtown Winston-Salem is able to offer travelers is the popular eclectic art district, restaurant row, Hanesbrands Theater, and numerous local vendor store fronts. The hotel is within 2 miles of Wake Forest University and about a 10-minute drive to Winston-Salem State University and Salem Women's College. Teams will appreciate having both the tournament-sized Sara Lee Soccer Complex and BB&T Field just down the street, along with the many sports fields housed on either of the two major university campuses mentioned above. Corporate guests will appreciate the Holiday Inn Winston-Salem-University Parkway's proximity to a long list of corporate clients housed just behind the property in Madison Park (business park), such as: Blue Cross/Blue Shield, BB&T, Vulcan Materials, Wilco Hess, Hanesbrands, Champion Industries, Rock-Tenn, Blue Rhino, American Red Cross, Amarr Garage Doors, and Cook Endoscopy just to name a few of the larger corporate groups. Medically speaking, we are central to both the Wake Forest University Baptist Hospital and Forsyth Medical Center. Few hotels in Winston-Salem are able to compare to the amount of amenties we are able to provide for our guests. For starters, guests are able to enjoy the convenience of complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout all public and guest room areas the hotel. Recharge and get bikini-ready in our recently renovated fitness center updated in order to include ultra chic elliptical, treadmill, and stair-master machines (so that you won't have to miss a beat being away from your home workout facility). Reward yourself after your workout and show off your hard work outside at our large, seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
150

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer