We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Winston Salem hotels

Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3111 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
69%
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Winston Salem
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
gusdogDetroit detroit
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    8
    15
    4
See reviews for
30
12
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
detroit
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 days.... while attending family wedding . Outside looks very old.. Parking is great. Right next to hotel. The rooms have been updated & very clean .. On Sunday when many quest have checked out ... The cleaning service. Out all the bedding into hallway. Looked very unkept ... Did not enjoy walking by and around all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments about your experience. I regret that your check-out experience was not a pleasant one. We strive to provide excellent service from beginning to end, and if that was not accomplished, we apologize. I hope you will give our hotel another opportunity to accommodate you the next time you are in Winston-Salem. More

VA
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
105 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here two nights while visiting Wake Forest. As others remark, this is a very friendly hotel, and the rooms are clean and updated. The exterior of the hotel makes it look like the property is perhaps 30+ years old. But clearly the rooms and lobby have been extensively remodeled. Don't know the year, but looks like in the past... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

It is truly a New Stay at the Courtyard by Marriott!! We are very pleased with the updates and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love being your home away from home while you are traveling, and would love the opportunity to serve you again if you are in Winston-Salem! More

Atwater, California, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here 3 nights while attending baseball games of the Winston-Salem Dash. It is a little pricey, but so are the other hotels in the University area. It was truly clean and the maid staff are very friendly and attentive, but never in the way. I liked how close the parking is to the lobby entrance and that they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about our hotel! We would love an opportunity to serve you the next time that you are in the area!! More

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

nice clean hotel. The lobby is very nice and our rooms were clean and updated. hotel staff was nice. I reserved two rooms with a late arrival and they were able to keep us two adjoining rooms. The hotel seemed nicer than their rates indicated to me. The only minuses were they don't have complimentary breakfast (but they have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you Mr. Burgett for the wonderful comments about your stay. We are so happy that your stay was enjoyable. I appreciate the information about the carpet, and I will address that immediately with the maintenance department. If you are ever in the area again, please make us your choice for your overnight needs! More

Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family of four stayed two nights at the Courtyard W-S University during a college tour of NC/VA/MD. We were very impressed with the level of friendliness and courteous service of everyone on staff there. It might have been a bit more expensive than other alternatives but I would not hesitate to stay again and would look forward to it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

What a wonderful Review!! Your kind words mean so much to our staff. Providing excellent service is very important to us, and we are pleased that we achieved that during your stay. If one of our local Universities becomes your choice, we welcome the opportunity to accommodate you and your family again!! More

Alabama
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This Courtyard is one of the cleanest I have stayed in as well as the nicest staff I have experienced. This was a welcome experience after traveling all day! It is very close to Wake Forest and has to be the most convenient of locations for a visit to campus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments! The entire staff appreciates you taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know that you enjoyed your accommodations. Anytime that you are in the area, we would love for you to stay with us! More

Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have 748 total stays at Marriott Courtyards - this the best property I have ever stayed at. Everything is excellent - this should be their training model! If you are in Winston don't waste time with anything else. Just stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you Gregg for this wonderful review! The entire staff appreciates your wonderful comments. We strive to exceed the expectations of our guest, and we are overjoyed that you had a good experience at our hotel! Please visit us anytime you're in Winston-Salem! More

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is exactly what you would want from a place charging what they did. This is not for the economically-minded traveler. The check-in was nice and I appreciated the fitness room. The vacuuming of the lobby was a little annoying when my business associate & I were trying to watch a hockey play-off game on TV. You think they may... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at the Courtyard by Marriott University. We are sorry if you were inconvenienced by the vaccuming in the lobby. Unfortunately, with the nature of what you were watching, the houseman may have assumed that the vaccuuming would not disturb you. In any case, it... More

North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I made this reservation late (after 6pm, night of stay) and I arrived very, very late. The property was easy enough to find off I-40, no turns whatsoever. The location is convenient to the University as advertised. Parking was tight, but then again I arrived in the wee hours. The front desk agent went out of her way to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you DrQuality for your kind review. Despite your arrival time, our staff is ready to provide excellent customer service to each and every guest. I am pleased that you recieved your coporate rate, and had a good night's sleep! Anytime you are in the area I hope your will stay with us again. Regards, Vickie Koger More

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This Courtyard lives up to it's Brand name consistency with a nice lobby, good light meal offerings for breakfast and dinner and clean rooms. The staff is very friendly and focused with constant follow-ups on what could improve your stay. They also had a nice program to offer cafe $ for each night of stay that you could use at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you StanD for your wonderful comments. We are always looking for ways to go above and beyond to show our guest we appreciate your business. The Bistro bucks is one one to show how we value your business. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we welcome the opportunity to accomodate you in the future! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University

Address: 3111 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winston-Salem University Hotel Winston Salem
Courtyard Winston Salem
Winston Salem Courtyard
Winston Salem Marriott
Courtyard Hotel Winston Salem

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Winston Salem with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#13 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
123

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer