We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
3111 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    10
    15
    4
See reviews for
33
14
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our son is a junior at Wake Forest. We have been staying at this Courtyard since he was a prospective student, as it is so close to campus and the sports complexes. The staff is consistently friendly and courteous and goes out of its way to be helpful. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. We feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you MImis65!! What a wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. Your feedback is so beneficial and helps to keep us successful. I really appreciate you taking time out of your day to let us know about your stay would love to meet you on your next visit!! Vickie Koger More 

Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is located very close to Wakeforest University. Good location with many restaurants and activities. The lobby is clean and quiet and the check-in was smooth. All of the staff were courteous and helpful. The rooms were well maintained and the free wifi was a plus. As we were there the first weekend of March Madness I was expecting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

We are so happy that your experience was good! We strive daily to satisfy each and every guest, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your time here at our hotel! Anytime that you are in the area please allow us the opportunity to accommodate you. Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review! More 

Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Older property but renovated. Rooms were clean and generally comfortable but the bed was a little too soft. Housekeeping service was good. Front desk staff was friendly and efficient. Ample parking. Internet service (the free one) was very slow. I paid the $4.95 for upgraded service and it was passable. Lot of teams staying there (our son was playing baseball),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

DocRMP thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are honored that you allowed us to accommodate you during your stay. Hopefully the next visit you will have the opportunity to enjoy and see all that Winston-Salem has to offer. Thank you again for taking time to let us know about your stay. More 

Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

This hotel was on our path to a longer vacation in Myrtle Beach. Nice hotel, clean with friendly service. The only reason for less than a perfect rating was no free breakfast, or we couldn't figure out where to get it. Weird setup for a Marriott as they normally have a free breakfast area and this had a bistro instead,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! Although Courtyard by Marriott does not offer complimentary breakfast, the Bistro is available for breakfast and dinner and is very reasonably priced. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We did not score a perfect 100% this trip, but when you are passing through please give us another opportunity to accommodate you... More 

Indianola, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Conveniently located near Wake Forest University. Walk to sporting events and short drive to buildings and dorms.Clean and comfortable good value and great service. Will definitely return to the area and stay at this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Julie thank-you for the wonderful review!! We strive to ensure all our guest enjoy their stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to accommodating you whenever your travels bring you to Winston-Salem!! More 

Gastonia, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

Was disappointed no free coffee only at breakfast nor was there a free breakfast of any sort. Rooms were okay considering the price you have to pay. There were no microwaves and in room coffee service was a joke. The location was great view was not the best only roof tops. Would I stay again probably not.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay. I apologize that we no longer offer complimentary coffee in the lobby. We do however serve Starbucks coffee in the Bistro daily. I apologize that we did not meet your Expectation on this visit, but I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I normally stay at the Downtown Marriott but this time tried the Courtyard and was very happy with the hotel, its staff and the quality of the rooms. The location is nice and not having to Valet park was lovely. The new lobby of the hotel looks excellent. Very nicely done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Catherine what a wonderful review! Thank you for the kind comments about our Courtyard. It is our pleasure to provide a clean and comfortable hotel during your time away from home. Anytime that you are in our area, please give us the opportunity to be of service to you again. More 

Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Nice courtyard Marriott- color scheme is orange- are we back in the 70s? Small lobby, bar and bistro combined. Food at the Bistro was great- thank you Sasha and Carl! Broccoli cheese soup was wonderful- Checkin staff great- thanks Diana, Austin and Randy! Now about the room. I asked (and got) a handicap room w/walk in shower. Great right? Well,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you for your informative comments. We strive very hard to accommodate every guest and make you comfortable during your stay. Please allow of the pleasure of accommodating you again when you are in the area. More 

Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We stayed here with a group during a visit to Wake Forest University. The staff was exceptionally helpful,going overboard to satisfy guests. The hotel was very full. Rooms were clean and spacious. Community spaces were modern. A nice bar with food in lobby. More choices than you might expect.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!! Taking time out of your busy day to let our staff know we are doing a good job is very much appreciated! Anytime that you are in the Winston-Salem area, please allow us the pleasure of accommodating your family again!! More 

detroit
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here for 2 days.... while attending family wedding . Outside looks very old.. Parking is great. Right next to hotel. The rooms have been updated & very clean .. On Sunday when many quest have checked out ... The cleaning service. Out all the bedding into hallway. Looked very unkept ... Did not enjoy walking by and around all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments about your experience. I regret that your check-out experience was not a pleasant one. We strive to provide excellent service from beginning to end, and if that was not accomplished, we apologize. I hope you will give our hotel another opportunity to accommodate you the next time you are in Winston-Salem. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question