We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University

3.0 of 5 3111 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    10
    15
    4
See reviews for
31
12
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Indianola, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Conveniently located near Wake Forest University. Walk to sporting events and short drive to buildings and dorms.Clean and comfortable good value and great service. Will definitely return to the area and stay at this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Julie thank-you for the wonderful review!! We strive to ensure all our guest enjoy their stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to accommodating you whenever your travels bring you to Winston-Salem!! More 

Gastonia, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Was disappointed no free coffee only at breakfast nor was there a free breakfast of any sort. Rooms were okay considering the price you have to pay. There were no microwaves and in room coffee service was a joke. The location was great view was not the best only roof tops. Would I stay again probably not.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay. I apologize that we no longer offer complimentary coffee in the lobby. We do however serve Starbucks coffee in the Bistro daily. I apologize that we did not meet your Expectation on this visit, but I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

I normally stay at the Downtown Marriott but this time tried the Courtyard and was very happy with the hotel, its staff and the quality of the rooms. The location is nice and not having to Valet park was lovely. The new lobby of the hotel looks excellent. Very nicely done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Catherine what a wonderful review! Thank you for the kind comments about our Courtyard. It is our pleasure to provide a clean and comfortable hotel during your time away from home. Anytime that you are in our area, please give us the opportunity to be of service to you again. More 

Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Nice courtyard Marriott- color scheme is orange- are we back in the 70s? Small lobby, bar and bistro combined. Food at the Bistro was great- thank you Sasha and Carl! Broccoli cheese soup was wonderful- Checkin staff great- thanks Diana, Austin and Randy! Now about the room. I asked (and got) a handicap room w/walk in shower. Great right? Well,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you for your informative comments. We strive very hard to accommodate every guest and make you comfortable during your stay. Please allow of the pleasure of accommodating you again when you are in the area. More 

Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We stayed here with a group during a visit to Wake Forest University. The staff was exceptionally helpful,going overboard to satisfy guests. The hotel was very full. Rooms were clean and spacious. Community spaces were modern. A nice bar with food in lobby. More choices than you might expect.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!! Taking time out of your busy day to let our staff know we are doing a good job is very much appreciated! Anytime that you are in the Winston-Salem area, please allow us the pleasure of accommodating your family again!! More 

detroit
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here for 2 days.... while attending family wedding . Outside looks very old.. Parking is great. Right next to hotel. The rooms have been updated & very clean .. On Sunday when many quest have checked out ... The cleaning service. Out all the bedding into hallway. Looked very unkept ... Did not enjoy walking by and around all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments about your experience. I regret that your check-out experience was not a pleasant one. We strive to provide excellent service from beginning to end, and if that was not accomplished, we apologize. I hope you will give our hotel another opportunity to accommodate you the next time you are in Winston-Salem. More 

VA
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
109 hotel reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed here two nights while visiting Wake Forest. As others remark, this is a very friendly hotel, and the rooms are clean and updated. The exterior of the hotel makes it look like the property is perhaps 30+ years old. But clearly the rooms and lobby have been extensively remodeled. Don't know the year, but looks like in the past... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

It is truly a New Stay at the Courtyard by Marriott!! We are very pleased with the updates and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love being your home away from home while you are traveling, and would love the opportunity to serve you again if you are in Winston-Salem! More 

Atwater, California, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here 3 nights while attending baseball games of the Winston-Salem Dash. It is a little pricey, but so are the other hotels in the University area. It was truly clean and the maid staff are very friendly and attentive, but never in the way. I liked how close the parking is to the lobby entrance and that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about our hotel! We would love an opportunity to serve you the next time that you are in the area!! More 

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

nice clean hotel. The lobby is very nice and our rooms were clean and updated. hotel staff was nice. I reserved two rooms with a late arrival and they were able to keep us two adjoining rooms. The hotel seemed nicer than their rates indicated to me. The only minuses were they don't have complimentary breakfast (but they have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you Mr. Burgett for the wonderful comments about your stay. We are so happy that your stay was enjoyable. I appreciate the information about the carpet, and I will address that immediately with the maintenance department. If you are ever in the area again, please make us your choice for your overnight needs! More 

Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My family of four stayed two nights at the Courtyard W-S University during a college tour of NC/VA/MD. We were very impressed with the level of friendliness and courteous service of everyone on staff there. It might have been a bit more expensive than other alternatives but I would not hesitate to stay again and would look forward to it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

What a wonderful Review!! Your kind words mean so much to our staff. Providing excellent service is very important to us, and we are pleased that we achieved that during your stay. If one of our local Universities becomes your choice, we welcome the opportunity to accommodate you and your family again!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University

Address: 3111 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winston-Salem University Hotel Winston Salem
Courtyard Winston Salem
Winston Salem Courtyard
Winston Salem Marriott
Courtyard Hotel Winston Salem
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Winston Salem

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay