We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
3111 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    38
    11
    15
    4
See reviews for
34
15
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott this past weekend and thoroughly enjoyed my stay! the staff was so friendly and was always smiling and saying hello. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Also, the pool was open while we were there and it was really nice to just sit by the pool and relax. It was very quiet. Already looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you GBR2015 for that wonderful review! Providing our guest with a great stay is our goal each and every stay. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience. We appreciate you and look forward to accommodating you in the future. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were securing housing for our daughter that is attending Wake Forest in the fall. The rooms were nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic. I really expected the hotel to be loud as it looked to be pretty busy, but it was surprisingly quiet. No complaints, just a very restful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Brent thank you for the wonderful review!! Our location to Wake Forest University keeps us quite busy! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. During your visit If you are not already a member, please sign up for our Parents Club. It is a free service that allows us to share special event dates and availability. We... More 

SAN LUIS OBISPO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

We use this property often because my daughter is attending school near by. The staff is quite friendly and helpful. Our room has always been very clean. It is our first-choice hotel in this area. If you're a light sleeper, let them know and they'll help with the room assignment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you San Luis Obispo for the wonderful review! It is our pleasure to accommodate you anytime that you are in the area. Our location is centrally located in the city, which makes us ideal for visiting parents. We look forward to your next visit and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! More 

Strongsville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

I stayed here for business in April 2015. I was greeted by a very friendly woman at the front desk upon arrival. The building looked dated but the room itself was very nice and modern. The bed and overall feel of the room was comfortable. I also liked that I could walk to the Wake Forest Campus and view their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that your experience was pleasant, and enjoyable. The proper department was notified about the window and that matter has been addressed. I hope that the next time you are in Winston-Salem that you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you again! More 

Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Our son is a junior at Wake Forest. We have been staying at this Courtyard since he was a prospective student, as it is so close to campus and the sports complexes. The staff is consistently friendly and courteous and goes out of its way to be helpful. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. We feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you MImis65!! What a wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. Your feedback is so beneficial and helps to keep us successful. I really appreciate you taking time out of your day to let us know about your stay would love to meet you on your next visit!! Vickie Koger More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

This hotel is located very close to Wakeforest University. Good location with many restaurants and activities. The lobby is clean and quiet and the check-in was smooth. All of the staff were courteous and helpful. The rooms were well maintained and the free wifi was a plus. As we were there the first weekend of March Madness I was expecting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

We are so happy that your experience was good! We strive daily to satisfy each and every guest, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your time here at our hotel! Anytime that you are in the area please allow us the opportunity to accommodate you. Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review! More 

Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Older property but renovated. Rooms were clean and generally comfortable but the bed was a little too soft. Housekeeping service was good. Front desk staff was friendly and efficient. Ample parking. Internet service (the free one) was very slow. I paid the $4.95 for upgraded service and it was passable. Lot of teams staying there (our son was playing baseball),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

DocRMP thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are honored that you allowed us to accommodate you during your stay. Hopefully the next visit you will have the opportunity to enjoy and see all that Winston-Salem has to offer. Thank you again for taking time to let us know about your stay. More 

Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

This hotel was on our path to a longer vacation in Myrtle Beach. Nice hotel, clean with friendly service. The only reason for less than a perfect rating was no free breakfast, or we couldn't figure out where to get it. Weird setup for a Marriott as they normally have a free breakfast area and this had a bistro instead,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! Although Courtyard by Marriott does not offer complimentary breakfast, the Bistro is available for breakfast and dinner and is very reasonably priced. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We did not score a perfect 100% this trip, but when you are passing through please give us another opportunity to accommodate you... More 

Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Conveniently located near Wake Forest University. Walk to sporting events and short drive to buildings and dorms.Clean and comfortable good value and great service. Will definitely return to the area and stay at this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Julie thank-you for the wonderful review!! We strive to ensure all our guest enjoy their stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to accommodating you whenever your travels bring you to Winston-Salem!! More 

Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

Was disappointed no free coffee only at breakfast nor was there a free breakfast of any sort. Rooms were okay considering the price you have to pay. There were no microwaves and in room coffee service was a joke. The location was great view was not the best only roof tops. Would I stay again probably not.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay. I apologize that we no longer offer complimentary coffee in the lobby. We do however serve Starbucks coffee in the Bistro daily. I apologize that we did not meet your Expectation on this visit, but I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay