We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
7835 North Point Boulevard, Winston Salem, NC 27106
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    44
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
110
13
5
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (246)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Usually I like staying in Residence Inns for my trips but not in Winston Salem. This is was the worst Residence Inn in my experience. The room smelled so bad from cleaning supplies and cleaning spray. The bathroom was dirty. We stayed on the first floor and people above us were very loud early in the morning - it sounded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review

We apologize for your unusual experience. We are following up with our on-site Security Guard regarding your concerns. Thank you for providing feedback, and for giving us the opportunity to host your family. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for the first time and it was so impressive. The lady who checked us in named Annie, was so kind, patience and service oriented. She really created a great first impression. I told her I came for my daughter's graduation and she gave my daughter a gift as well as excellent service. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review

Our property strives to provide the best service possible to all of our guests. We appreciate your recognition of our performance, and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Residence Inn Winston-Salem. More 

Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is outdated and just not clean. The floors were sticky. We thought we found blood on the carpet. The one exception was the breakfast and the associated staff. They were excellent. I would not recommend this hotel. It is not up to Marriott's standard. We were charged $258.19 for one night in advance for one night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review

Your feedback is appreciated and noted. We apolog\ize that you were unhappy with your stay. It was a Special Event that did have restrictions, and we apologize for your being upse with those restrictions after staying at our property. Thank you again for your feedback. More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My son is in school in Winston Salem. We visit often because of the football games. We absolutely love staying at this hotel. The staff is like family. The breakfast is delicious and the staff goes out of their way to accommodate your needs. We've stayed for Thanksgiving and made our family dinner in the kitchen. It worked well. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review

Your choosing our property to host your family while in the Winston-Salem Area is greatly appreciated. Our loyal Wake Foirest families make us thrive, and renew our committment to providing the best service possible. Your loyalty is appreciated and you are a part of our Residence Inn family here in Winston-Salem, NC. More 

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed five nights in a King Suite. Nice hotel - it is typical of a Residence Inn - clean, quiet, nice setting. What was not typical was the staff - starting with the friendly young woman at the desk; "The Breakfast Ladies" Miss Betty, Wanda & Theresa; the Social (dinner-time) event staff -especially Miss Cynthia; and even the young maintenance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review

Our team is committed to our guests, and when they are recognzed for their performance, we celebrate. Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay, and recognizing our team as our biggest asset. We look forward to your staying with us again in the future. More 

Washington, DC
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped for one night. Their staff was the friendliest group of people I think I've encountered at any Marriott. Service was excellent. Room was clean and quite nice. It was a little further off the highway than we realized. There didn't seem to be a lot of restaurants nearby. That was ok for us because we had leftovers and appreciated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review

On behalf of the staff, I would like to thank you for recognizing our Service. We are committed to our guests and their experience with us, and it will be shared with the team. Please come back and stay with us when visiting the Winston-Salem Area in the future. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So first I feel awful having to give a marriott a one star rating but frankly speaking that's too high for this place, but they get one for maintenace coming quickly, however without tools and for the desk receptionist being friendly. Bed is a rock, pillows are balls of mess, bath is dirty,kitchen floor is black; I spill water on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review

We apologize again for your experience. Thank you for providing us on your feedback. We are happy that we were able to address your concerns, prior to your leaving and look forward to your return to the Winston-Salem Area. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this Residence Inn and it was superb. The room was spotless, we were able cook with full kitchen. The utensils was spotless. Breakfast was perfect. The breakfast crew treat us like family. The social in the evening, is the best we have ever seen. We really felt like we were at home. This Property is not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review

Ms. Betty would like to extend her appreciation to you, and on behalf of the entire team, thank you for recognizing our spirit to serve. We are committed to our guests and their experience while at our property, and look forward to your staying with us again in the future. More 

Walkertown, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very clean, friendly environment. Serving breakfast and dinner, one of the best places I have stayed. Staff is helpful, friendly and very polite. Top of the line service. Cynthia was a joy to be around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review

Your recognition of our team is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about you experience. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to the Winston-Salem Area. More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family of six stayed there for three months. The hotel is fine, but the people made it wonderful. The front desk staff were always incredibly helpful and pleasant. The breakfast ladies, Betty, Cynthia, Theresa, and Wanda, were amazing and truly made my family feel like we were at a "home away from home." By the end of our stay,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review

We are fortunate in having a great team who are committed to providing our guests the best service possible. Thank you for recognizing our team, and for choosing to stay with us while visiting the Winston-Salem Area. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay