We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
1600 Westbrook Plaza Drive, Winston Salem, NC 27103
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
speedz2 Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
16
8
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Only was here for one night, but it was good. Quiet and comfortable accommodations in the room. Adequate breakfast. Workout room was OK. Busy area. Lots of traffic but also lots of places to eat, and there's shopping in the area. Parking was free and easy. Room was in decent shape and clean -- but showing some wear.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rocky Mount, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay special and accommodating...even though it was a business trip! They were friendly form the get-go at checkin. The rooms were roomy and extremely clean. Our stay included a delicious breakfast cooked to order and the morning staff was extremely excellent. The room provided an excellent place for my husband to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are a bus company that has brought an athletic team to the area. This hotel was very accommodating to the large group as well as being bus friendly for parking. The bistro has a great breakfast. The rooms are clean and newer in appearance. Business center is very helpful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every year during the first week of March our AAU teams (Cross-over Hoops) play in the Mayberry March Madness tournament, and we always stay at the Courtyard Hanes Mall. Even though it is about 40 minutes from the venues we will be playing in, we love the superb hospitality we receive from the staff and the extra special attention to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great stay, great staff but they randomly add charges to your credit card so make sure you look before checking out. Other than that, very clean and well worth your money. I will consider staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review

Dear Morgangkeith, Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. You did however mention there were random charges to your account. If you would please contact me at 336-760-5777 and ask for Tom Ferrell or Brittany (my AGM ) we would be happy to take a look at your account and make... More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am currently in the middle of my stay here, for 2 weeks ... While the hotel is clean enough, and the front desk folks are nice. House keeping, leaves A LOT to be desired... So far out of the 5 nights that I've been here, Trash has not been taken out twice... and they just didn't show up once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review

Dear 19LT82, OK, so you and I have talked about this yesterday at the front desk and again today in the lobby, I did and still do apologize, that housekeeping missed emptying your trash, as for the pizza box, housekeeping is trained only to empty the trash can, or if in the case of a pizza box if it is... More 

Raleigh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed in many Courtyards and find them to be good-excellent. This hotel shined as the Manager, Tom, ensured this hotel was fully staffed during a snowstorm. Jackie and Bridget made sure we all had breakfast, Lionel and Tom shoveled walks early and helped clean our cars, Teresa and other front desk took care of all our needs. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review

Dear Nursetraveler, Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and it’s amazing staff!! We truly are blessed with some of the Best in the Hotel Business from Winston Salem, that truly do care about our guest from their hearts!! Snow storms, although rare in North Carolina, do occur and all we can do is be prepared... More 

Shortt Gap, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Had to stay over in W-S after experiencing car trouble. So stopped in here. The suite was great everything was spot on - the hospitality and the cleanliness. Speaking of that the only minor complaint is that housekeeping seemed to be rushing us out of the room but other than that couldn't have asked for a better place to rest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review

Dear Shane Sparks, Thank you thinking we had a hotel that was “Spot On- The hospitality and the cleaniness ” and I would have to agree, We are blessed with a very caring and thoughtful staff. You mentioned that the hotel was very well maintained and it is, it all New and clean … The staff here is amazing at... More 

Springdale, Arkansas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Having frequently traveled for many years, I get to spend a lot more time at home. When I do stay away from my own bed, I prefer a clean nice hotel that gets customer service and taking care of the guest. This location is very well maintained and does an outstanding job making you feel at home. If I can't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review

Dear Paul K., Thank you thinking we had a hotel “that gets customer service ” and I would have to agree, We are blessed with a very caring and thoughtful staff. You mentioned that the hotel was very well maintained and it is, it all New and clean … and we do plan to keep it that way for many... More 

Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015 via mobile

One of the best Courtyards I've visited and there had been a whole bunch. This place is probably the cleanest.  Rooms are updated and they sparkle. Not because they're are new, but rather because the cleaning staff does a great job. I couldn't find a spot on the bathroom floor, the carpet was clean as can be and even the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review

Dear Yaser Z., Thank you thinking we had “ One of the Best Courtyards” and I would have to agree, We are blessed with a very caring and thoughtful staff. You mentioned that the hotel was very clean and it is, it all New and clean … and we do plan to keep it that way for many years to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question