We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown

#9 of 17 Hotels in Wilson
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2308 Montgomery Drive, Wilson, NC 27893
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    33
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
29
11
4
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a weekend in Wilson. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The front desk was lacking professionalism and service was minimal. The breakfast which in the past was great, was terrible. Saturday morning was a joke, no food, and people were just leaving. Sunday morning was worst. I have stayed there 5 times and don't think I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown, responded to this review

I am so sorry your most recent stay with us did not match the previous good experiences you had at our hotel. I know how important our breakfast is to our guests and am sorry you were unable to enjoy it. These are not the standards we strive to achieve here and I thank you for your feedback. I will... More 

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

I had to cancel one of my three hotel reservations and having reserved with a third party it was becoming a nightmare to do so. I called Holiday Inn directly and spoke to a representative with a kind voice by the name "Tammy" . Let me tell you she went above and beyond by calling "the third party" directly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathleen B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown, responded to this review

I am so glad you had such a great experience with Tammy. We understand that our guests are not necessarily as used to dealing with the third parties and multitude of booking options that people now have as we are. I am so glad Tammy was able to mediate with you and the third party and get your reservation taken... More 

West Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Recently we made reservations to stay at this Wilson Holiday Inn Express. We booked 2 rooms, 1 for my wife and I along with our two grandkids, and 1 for my mother-in-law. My mother-in-law is unable to travel. We tried to cancel our reservation a week in advance. To our shock we were told Holiday Inn will take the full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were upset about your recent reservation experience and felt like the IHG website misled you. We strive to make our policies clear and transparent. If you would like to discuss this with me further, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel. More 

Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

my biggest complaint was the window faced the west, there for the sun lit up the room making it bright and hot ... at night the lights from the businesses next door were bright as well .. the dark out curtains didn't close at all .. besides that, the hotel is clean and typical Holiday Inn Express .. micro wave,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown, responded to this review

I am so sorry the blackouts did not work properly in your room. I am glad you found the room to be clean and the bed to be comfortable. We take pride in our breakfast and are glad you enjoyed. We hope to see you the next time you are in the Wilson area. More 

Guilford, CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Did not realize this hotel was not directly off the highway as I found this hotel on my Garmin after calling several hotels only to discover they were fully booked. Although this hotel was several miles off I-95 in downtown Wilson, it was a nice change to get away from 95 after driving for over 10 hours. The desk representative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your rest from I95 at our hotel. We are glad you found Reggie and all of our staff to be so friendly. We know how stressful it can be to travel in traffic and strive to provide a nice place to get away from all of that. It makes our day that you appreciated... More 

Upstate NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We drove the "wrong" way into Wilson. I called the front desk and the guy stayed on the line and helped with turn by turn directions. Once checked in we asked for a good place to eat and gave us an excellent recommendation (Jac's). It was only for one night but the room, the staff and breakfast were all excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great stay at our hotel with other travelers. I am glad our staff was so helpful with your directions and a good dinner recommendation. We hope to see you the next time you are in Wilson. More 

North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

This hotel has been around a little while. When we were there, they were trying to spruce things up and were painting inside. We were given a room on the 5th floor. The room was clean and looked nice. The bathroom was a bit dated and in need of a makeover. I'm not sure why, but the hotel had problems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with other Trip Advisor users. We value all of the feedback we receive from our guests and use it to help us make our hotel a great place for travelers to stay. I am glad you found our front desk staff to be friendly and enjoyed the... More 

Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

Stopped here on our way to Florida one night, very friendly staff. Our room was very clean, in fact i was extremely impressed with the washroom, it got a wow! The only reason my review gets a 4 star is because the breakfast is not very impressive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathleen B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure all of our staff knows how impressed you were with the friendliness of the service and cleanliness of your room, especially the bathroom. I am sorry our breakfast did not meet your expectations. I will be sharing all of your feedback with all of our staff... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We chose the Holiday Inn Express as it is within a 2 mile radius of the Wilson County agencies we were visiting, our favorite Wilson eateries (Parker's BBQ, Pizza Inn and Dick's Hot Dog Stand) and the Amtrak station. Check-in took nothing more than a credit card and a request for a late check-out. We enjoyed the evening in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kathleen B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown, responded to this review

I am so glad you found our location to be so convenient to all of the attractions in Wilson. We take great pride in our customer service and it makes us feel so good to know you found our service to be so warm and accomodating. I am glad we met all of your needs with a smile. We can't... More 

West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014 via mobile

Nice, comfortable room. Good breakfast. My eldest son enjoyed the fitness area. Unfortunately, our room was not cleaned the first day. That was the only negative but perhaps my 21 year old accidentally left out the Do Not Disturb sign. Grrrr. If it was his mistake, I cannot fault the hotel. When we asked for towels to be replaced, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathleen B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in our breakfast and are glad you enjoyed it. I am also glad you found your room to be clean and comfortable. I am sorry you did not receive service on your first day. I am glad that Reggie took care of the issue so well... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilson hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilson Downtown
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 17 in Wilson
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Wilson
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilson I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay