We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
2828 Market Street, Business Highway 17/74, Wilmington, NC 28403 (Formerly Inn at Wilmington)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    25
    24
    20
    33
See reviews for
28
28
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
colne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We checked in during day light and there were a couple of dodgy characters lurking around; but it seemed ok. The room was clean but needed updating as it was shabby, the breakfast was standard stodgy. Whilst I was waiting in reception I was listening in to the manageress on the phone. She was arguing with somebody telling them that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annette C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear Llaurs, Thank you for taking a moment to post a review. I am sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced, however, in researching to find out what the situation is, I am unable to find you listed in our system, plus there has been no situation like the one you described that has happened here. I believe you... More 

Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is very nasty!!! The housekeeping sucks. The sheets had holes & hair all over it, floor nasty. Food from prior quest was in refrigerator. The tub had not been cleaned & the toilet had urine in it!!! I was refunded but asked several times to speak with a manager but was told she wasn't available even though I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annette C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington, responded to this review

Truth2840, I sincerely apologize for your disappointment in your stay. I can assure you I do not take lightly to any issues that happen and I do research whenever there is an issue and work to correct the issue when I am made aware of it. I am unable to research to find out who you are to call you... More 

Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I like the fact this hotel has A full-size refrigerator and microwave and stove top as well as a large flatscreen TV. I did not care for the air-conditioner because no matter what temperature you set it on it would come on about every 5 to 8 minutes which was a little annoying. The place was not as clean as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annette C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear Bubblesmeowster, I believe you have us confused with another hotel in the area.. unfortunately, we do not have full size refrigerators, nor do we have a stove top in any of our rooms. However, I know I appreciate when my guests take a moment to write a review. I do use them as a tool in helping us to... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed here for with my teenage son as a one night stop over enroute to our final destination in South Carolina. If I hadn't already booked and paid for the hotel I would have immediately left after seeing the room and the surrounding rooms. To say it had a creepy vibe is putting it mildly. There were unsavory looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annette C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington, responded to this review

Trip Advisor Member, I am sincerely sorry for your disappointment for your stay. I appreciate you taking time to post a review. However, without your name to trace to find out your rooms I am unable to address the situation and most of all the cleanliness of the room. But also, there is another hotel with a very similar name... More 

Marion, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Where do I start? We booked this room via hotwire not knowing the name, just the 2 star rating. I am a fan of roach motels and will do anything to save a buck, but this one was far worse than any 1 star I have ever stayed. This place made The Econo Lodge look like the Hilton. Upon entering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Annette C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear Holly, I appreciate you taking a minute to post a review. Good or bad we like to know where we can improve. I am truly sorry for your disappointment in your stay and can assure you I don't take things lightly regarding situations. I researched to see what room you were in so that I may look into your... More 

Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

The rooms were clean and well kept and all of the staff were nice. The breakfast selections were Great! We were in town for a Wedding and this location was centrally located between the beach and down town activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annette C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear RBJ Hunter, Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn for your stay in Wilmington! We appreciate your patronage and are very happy that you were pleased during your stay. We have worked very hard over the past year to renovate and update our property and the staff works very hard to try to maintain the property for a... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

As soon as we got there, the gentleman at the desk offered the woman next to us a room for $54 a night while we were paying $79 a night. We asked for a non-smoking room and walked in our room to a strong smell of cigarettes. Deciding to let it go, we dropped our stuff and went into town.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annette C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, I am truly sorry for your experience from your stay here. This is unacceptable to me to have this happen here and can assure you, you did not speak with me during your stay regarding the sheets, as I was out-of-town from the 8th and returned the morning of the 11th, but will certainly be looking into who... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

If you are traveling to Wilmington and looking for a place to stay, don't look here!! I am a honest person and do not want people traveling out of town to Wilmington to make the same mistake we did. Pros: With the help of the nice lady at the front desk(who was very helpful) we were able to get refunded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annette C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington, responded to this review

Hi Nate, I would like to personally apologize for any inconvenience you experienced here. I can assure you, these are standards the I do not like to see and appreciate when I am made aware of them. And when I am aware from the property, I expect them to maintain each and every room is up to the expectations of... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Young women traveling for college baseball games out of state . Staff very helpful and efficient, extra requests carried out with care. Felt very safe, room great, would recommend highly . Thanks for a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annette C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington, responded to this review

Hi Janelle, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. I truly read each and every review in order to help provide a pleasant and clean atmosphere for our guests. Typically we hear about the things that have gone wrong with a stay, but it is a great feeling to know our efforts are not going... More 

Red River
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Came to town for the 4th, to visit old cemeteries where family buried, view old family home, see the harbor and other sites. This motel had a fridge and microwave in the room A coffeemaker would have been nice, but there was coffee in the lobby. Grab and go breakfast was simple but well done. James did a good job... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annette C, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Wilmington, responded to this review

Hi Georgia, Thank you for staying with us over the holiday weekend. We appreciate your patronage to our property and am very happy to hear your experience was pleasant. While we are simple, the staff works very hard to provide a clean and pleasant atmosphere for our guests. We have worked very hard to renovate and upgrade the property. However,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.7 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
#42 of 44 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#36 of 44 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Wilmington
Quality Inn Wilmington
#34 of 44 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#20 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay