We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
151 Van Campen Blvd., Wilmington, NC 28403
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
RandJAsheville Candler
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    113
    39
    8
    4
See reviews for
88
68
27
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (369)
  • Mar-May only
    (107)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (122)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Candler
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff was excellent and very friendly. The location was 10 minutes from the beach and 10 minutes from downtown Wilmington. You could walk to a few other restaurants .The room was clean and the Bistro was a good place for breakfast. I would stay here again .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be ideal. We look forward to seeing you all the next time you are in town. Thanks again! More 

Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
52 hotel reviews
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First the good parts; Front-desk staff was friendly and quick with check-in. The lobby looks like it was recently renovated and the hotel was easy to find, has free parking, and came at a better price than some other local options. Housekeeping seemed reasonably good but see below. That's where the pleasant experience ended for us. This is a tired,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rick D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review of our hotel. I am very glad that our front desk staff exceeded your expectations at arrival. I will be passing your comments about the corridors and rugs to our maintenance team and we will look to improve those areas. Please do give us another chance the next time you are in Wilmington.... More 

Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It took me a while to get to write this - I stayed here with my boyfriend in the summer of last year (2014). While the steam ran out at this point, I still remember this as the worst experience I've ever had in a hotel. To start with, the room smelled like stinky socks, and the fridge smelled rotten.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review

Thanks for the feed back about your stay. Albeit we do not like negative reviews we take your comments as ways we can improve. I am terribly sorry that your room smelled bad and we did not resolve the problem. In the year since you stayed with us our housekeeping department has greatly improved. Please give us another chance the... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice place. Very clean. We had two rooms. The King room was much smaller than the Dbl beds room. Close to UNC-W where our daughter was visiting (she decided to attend UNC-W). Disappointed it did not have the breakfast included in the lodging price like many other places. We will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review of our hotel. I am very glad that you found our hotel nice and clean. While we do not have complimentary breakfast we do have our Bistro with great breakfast offerings and Starbucks. Please come back and see us the next time you are in Wilmington. Thanks again! More 

Ohio City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Stayed for 5 nights. The room was spotless. I do kinda a white glove test, passed with flying colors. The staff was outstanding !!!! You need to be proud of them. They keep the hotel moving along getting 5 stars from the guests. Thank you wonderful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words about your stay with us. Our staff is by far our best asset and I am glad they exceeded your expectations. I am very glad our housekeeping department provided you a very clean room. We look forward to seeing you all the next time you are in town. Thanks again! More 

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Very happy with the customer service provided by the staff. The hotel was clean and in a great location. If I could change one thing.....the Starbucks needed to carry more than bold coffee. Needed to offer a medium or light roast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on giving the best guest service in town and I am glad you agree! I am also very glad that you enjoyed our renovated and clean hotel. We will take a look at other Starbucks offerings for those who do not like bold coffee. Please do come... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We have stayed here a few times. Not a bad spot. Close to walmart and other restaurants. Rooms are clean and nice. Just for some odd reason someone decided to run a leaf blower before 8 am on a Sunday morning! Other than that, a nice place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ILMCY1, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review

Dear Mark W, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your kind comments. I do apologize for the leaf blower running before 8am on Sunday morning. Typically nothing like this happens and until later in the day and we will speak with the responsible party so this does not happen again. Thanks again and we hope... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

Staying here for a few days on business and found the bed and pillows to be very comfortable. The room had a nice sitting area and a small fridge. This is a great location, close to UNCW and only 10-15 minutes to the beach and to the beautiful downtown waterfront area. The one nuisance was the fact that I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ILMCY1, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review

Dear Maddie P, I wanted to apologize for the roof noise you experienced while staying with us. The roof is now complete and there are no scheduled renovations of any kind in the near future. We are pleased to hear you found our location perfect for your needs. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we... More 

North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

The hotel was nice and comfortable and also was a good price. It is very close to some good restaurants and it's quiet. For a family of five it was a good choice, especially as we prefer to stay at the Marriott brand of hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words about your stay with us. Also, thank you very much for the loyalty to the Marriott brands. I am very glad you enjoyed our great location to restaurants. We look forward to seeing you all the next time you are in town. Thanks again! More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Great hotel in a great location. We hosted a tournament in town and the players were very happy with the hotel and the rate per night. It is an added plus to have such a nice lobby and meal options. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review of our hotel. I am very glad that our team exceeded your expectations for the tennis tournament. Our lobby and Bistro is one of the best features of our hotel and I am glad you enjoyed it. Please do come back and see us the next time you are in Wilmington. Thanks again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay