We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

2.5 of 5 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Innkeeper - Wilmington)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    57
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
84
50
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (212)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I visit Wilmington quite often and this hotel had been under another name and ownership (which you couldn't pay me to stay at). I visited recently for a family emergency and my brother booked this hotel. WHAT A GEM! Remodeled and exceptionally clean. Housekeeper was on point; breakfast bar was actually on time, fresh and tasty.Desk staff and manager were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear wendy k, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Best Western Plus! I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed our look and found us to provide the best value in Wilmington. We're glad you had a clean, comfortable stay and are grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board! Thanks again for your comments and... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We moved to this hotel after our originally booked hotel turned out to be very dirty. Kema at the front desk was so helpful and friendly. Room was very clean and good size. Breakfast was continental with some hot choices. Food was good. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear LorraineCasto, Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you had a great stay with us after a bad experience at another hotel. We are happy you had a clean, comfortable visit and can't wait to see you the next time you're in Wilmington! Thanks again for your praise. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was a little small, we had an accessible room, which we though we were going to need , but we didn't . If we would have needed to bring a wheel chair, it would have been extremely tight. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean. Breakfast was pretty ordinary. Front desk staff was very... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear K7475MSmikeg, We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and are glad you had a clean, comfortable stay! It's also good to hear you found our staff friendly & helpful. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Salisbury, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay was overall pleasant and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing! Bed was a bit hard, but fluffy pillows made up for it! The value of this room was excellent. Staff was helpful. I love the fact that this hotel is completely smoke-free, so there was no smoky smell anywhere in the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Katherine Z, Thank you for taking the time to review our Best Western Plus! I'm excited to hear you had a great stay and felt you received excellent value for your money. We appreciate your high ratings and can't wait for your next visit! Thanks again for your praise. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice clean hotel. Comfy beds, large clean bathroom. Great lamps on nightstand and desk with plugs in the base for phones and ipads, nice to have them right there! Cute Coastal style lobby with a great breakfast and lots of comfortable seating. Great location right near Market and College.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear MermaidWW, We appreciate you reviewing our Best Western Plus; we're glad you had a comfortable, clean stay and found our location great for your needs! It's also great to hear you enjoyed our furnishings. Thanks again for your comments and we hope it won't be too long before your next stay! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

free hot/cold breakfast buffet - each morning includes one hot breakfast choice, such as eggs and sausage, (nothing awesome - just cafeteria-like food) and lots of other options - waffles, cereal, bagels, etc. 24 hour coffee in the lobby room was clean, walls are thick, usually quiet - get a room farther from the IHOP next door - dumpster pick... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kathy C, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback! We're glad you had a clean, quiet stay and felt you received great value for your money. We do apologize you had some Internet issues, otherwise we appreciate your high ratings and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington! Thanks again for your review.... More 

High Point, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful experience at this hotel. Will stay again when in the area. Very helpful staff and the breakfast was great! The room was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. Have stayed at Best Western Plus hotels before and will do again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Randy S, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We're delighted you had an excellent time and plan to stay the next time you're in town. Thanks again for your praise & 5-star ratings! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bathroom in our tool was a little dirty.... Floor uneven... Dark matter on underlie inside shower ... But the breakfast was a nice selection of items.... Muffins, bagles, ceral, scrambled eggs, waffles, fresh apples and bananas all a nice sunrise .

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear cocosmom62, Thank you for reviewing our Best Western Plus! I'm happy to hear you felt you received great value for your money and really enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. However, I do apologize we fell short of our goals in providing a pristine environment and our housekeeping team will discuss your comments to do a better job in the future.... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location with a friendly staff, comfortable, clean room with a nice breakfast in a very nice setting what else can you ask for. Oh yeah, all this for a good price. All this together makes this motel a good option.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robert C, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are glad you had a great stay & felt you received good value for your money! Our team is grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and looks forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington. Thanks again for your comments! David Amick... More 

Hillsborough, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

This hotel offers excellent value for the money. The staff is helpful, friendly, and courteous. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the continental breakfast is superb. Also offers a nice fitness center that is of unusual quality for a hotel of this size and price range. I highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear David T, Thank you for taking the time to review our Best Western Plus; I'm delighted you felt you received outstanding value for your money! We're glad you found our staff so friendly and our amenities exceeded your expectations. Thanks again for your comments & 5-star ratings; we can't wait for your next visit! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Address: 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Innkeeper - Wilmington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper - Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Innkeeper Hotel Wilmington
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#15 Business Hotel in Wilmington

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay