We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

2.5 of 5 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Innkeeper - Wilmington)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    53
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
79
48
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
lamar, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was very helpful. I didn't get anyone's name. The room was clean, the wifi was slow. the breakfast was just mediocre! I would stay here again. The last time I stayed here the WIFI was better and the breakfast was much better. The personnel are good there. I didn't stay there for the breakfast

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Peter M, Thank you for sharing your latest experience at our hotel - we're glad you had a good stay overall and found our staff so helpful! We do apologize a couple aspects fell short of your expectations and will share your feedback with our team to look into further. Otherwise, thanks again for your comments and we look... More 

Bellingham, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was originally staying one night but due to work ended staying for the week, extending each day. The staff was great about the situation. The room was decent and the bed was very comfortable. For what it is the breakfast was good with light variation every day that I was there. Coffee is excellent.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear James L, We appreciate you reviewing our Best Western Plus; I'm glad to hear our staff was able to easily accommodate your change of plans and you had a great week with us! We're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington. Thanks again for your 5-star... More 

Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing stay. Location was good, 10min drive to historic downtown. Close walking to some restaurants, Olive Garden & Hooters. Morgan on the front desk was great, she offered us freshly baked cookies on arrival (yum!!!!) and was helpful when we needed to book taxis etc. Bed was comfy, room was quiet and breakfast area was spacious. Thanks for a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear allyluscombe, Thank you for your kind words - we're flattered you found us the 'Best' Best Western! It's great to hear you had a very comfortable stay and our staff was able to make you feel welcome. Thanks again for your praise and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington! David Amick eCommerce Manager... More 

mass
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have recently stayed several times at the Best Western University Inn because my daughter attends UNCW. The hotel staff is friendly, the rates are great (I booked some visits online at the hotels website and others by calling hotel direct), clean rooms and free breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear kasmooth, Thank you for your review and staying with us on several occasions! We're glad you find our location great to visit your daughter at UNCW and that your stays have all been clean & comfortable. We appreciate your 5-star ratings and can't wait for your next visit! Thanks again for your comments. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven,... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent stay as always at any best western motel. It's our motel of choice. Spent 3weeks in western states, and we sought out best western's at every stop. The rooms were always nicely done and breakfasts were very welcome in the mornings. Excellent coffee by the way.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jerry K, We appreciate you taking the time to review us; it's great to hear we lived up to your typical Best Western experience! We're also glad you loved our complimentary breakfast. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you for another stay soon! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Milroy, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at this hotel 4-5 times now and have found it to be excellent every time. it's not luxury but it is dependably clean and comfortable. It's well located for shopping and great for when we visit our UNCW students. I am really picky about my hotels - and I like this one. Our room was clean, the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear jenwesner, Thank you for making us a go-to destination in Wilmington and taking the time to praise us on TripAdvisor! We're glad you continue to experience great service and that our location works well for you. Thanks again for your review & we can't wait for your next visit! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite some annoying road work in front of the hotel, we had another nice stay at this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It is convenient to all of the places we like to visit. Hope to see you again soon!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear dianec2572014, Thank you for your review - we're glad your latest stay lived up to your expectations and are glad the road construction didn't cause too much of an inconvenience! We can't wait for your next visit. Thanks again for your praise & 5-star ratings! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

wilmington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in the Wilmington NC area to visit family. We decided on this hotel both for the price and positive comments. We were not disappointed. This is a first class facility with excellent accommodations and staff. Would stay here again without hesitation!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear William C, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel & we hope you had a happy Thanksgiving! I'm glad you had an outstanding visit and we're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board. Thanks again for your comments & we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington! David Amick eCommerce Manager... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Good value, staff was great, rooms were clean, air worked well, mattresses were comfortable. Not as nice as other BW plus' I've stayed at tho; pool was outdoor so closed in November, room was a bit dated, blankets thin and scratchy.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Wendy M, Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay. While I'm glad you rated our service & cleanliness highly and found your mattress comfortable, I do apologize that we could have done some things better. We appreciate your comments & our team will further discuss them to help improve our accommodations. Thanks again for your review &... More 

Apex, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

This hotel was in a convenient location. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast had a good variety of items. Great staff who were kind and helpful. One desk manager even went out of his way to help me with a car problem I was experiencing!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear rebeccabear1, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; I'm glad our location was convenient for you & that you found our staff so helpful! We appreciate your high ratings and look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Wilmington. Thanks again for your comments! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Address: 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Innkeeper - Wilmington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper - Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Innkeeper Hotel Wilmington
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#14 Business Hotel in Wilmington

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay