We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Innkeeper - Wilmington)
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    59
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
87
53
17
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (221)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Wilmington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel and its staff are very nice. It is around a few nice restaurants. The room was very clean and very comfortable. I wish it was summer because I would have used the pool. Breakfast was very nice also. We will be back

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Thomas T, Thank you for reviewing our Best Western Plus! We're glad you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back when it is warmer so you can take advantage of our pool. We are grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board! Thanks again for your praise. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent value for rate paid. Rooms are clean and updated. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. There are plenty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. I would stay at this hotel in the future if my travel plans have me returning to Wilmington.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Flyingengineer, We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review; it's great to read you had a perfect stay and felt you received outstanding value for your money! Our team is grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and can't wait for your next visit. Thanks again for your praise! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great location, close and straight driving distance to downtown, near the university, within walking distance to good restaurants and shopping is close by. Friendly and courteous staff, clean and comfortable rooms, safe area, easy in and out of property.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear scUGAboi, Thank you for staying with us again and reviewing your visit! We're delighted you had another excellent time and really appreciate your 5-star ratings across the board. Thanks again for your comments & we can't wait for your next stay! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Lewes, DE
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very pleased with this hotel for several reasons. The staff is very nice and helpful, the hotel was very clean and well thought out. I particularly like when the elevators are in their own "hallway" away from the rooms. The rooms were very quiet even though you are right next to busy roads. I really appreciated the ability... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Girlgolfpro, We appreciate you sharing your experience at our hotel; it's exciting to hear you had such a quiet, clean stay and found our staff so accommodating! We're also glad our location worked well for your needs and we hope to see you for another visit soon. Thanks again for your review! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Stafford, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel staff all seemed genuinely interested in providing exceptional service and the areas of the hotel were all clean and well maintained. I'll definitely stay there again in the future should I return to the area!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Todd B, Thank you for your review! I'm happy you had a great stay and found our staff so helpful. We can't wait to see you the next time you're in Wilmington! Thanks again for your comments. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Pine Knoll Shores, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff, amenities, breakfast and area of hotel make Best Western PLUS an exceptional value, and the most enjoyable of all my many hotel experiences! The rooms are super clean and quiet, the breakfast delicious, the location convenient and safe, and the most accommodating staff ....all made our stay fun and restful. Can't wait to return!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dee Ann H, We appreciate you taking the time to review our Best Western Plus and are delighted you had an excellent visit! It's great to hear you had a clean, comfortable stay and we're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board. Thanks again for your praise and we can't wait for your next stay! David Amick eCommerce... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Happily surprised...found it on Kayak.com and decided to give it a try. Rooms even smelled clean! Staff was very friendly. We didn't stay for the free breakfast but it sure looked good. Definitely worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear tabathawian, Thank you for giving us a try - we're glad your stay was a great one! We hope you will be able to check out our complimentary breakfast the next time you're in town. Thanks again for your review! David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel was very clean through out and the breakfast was excellent. The staff was friendly. This place is definitely great for the price. My only complaint was the outlet in the bathroom needed to be fixed. My curling iron kept falling out and it kept shutting it off. But I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marlanea C, Thank you for reviewing our Best Western Plus! I'm happy to read you had a clean, comfortable visit and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. I do apologize for the inconvenience with your outlet and appreciate you bringing it to our attention to follow up. Otherwise, thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your next stay!... More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visit Wilmington quite often and this hotel had been under another name and ownership (which you couldn't pay me to stay at). I visited recently for a family emergency and my brother booked this hotel. WHAT A GEM! Remodeled and exceptionally clean. Housekeeper was on point; breakfast bar was actually on time, fresh and tasty.Desk staff and manager were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear wendy k, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Best Western Plus! I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed our look and found us to provide the best value in Wilmington. We're glad you had a clean, comfortable stay and are grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board! Thanks again for your comments and... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We moved to this hotel after our originally booked hotel turned out to be very dirty. Kema at the front desk was so helpful and friendly. Room was very clean and good size. Breakfast was continental with some hot choices. Food was good. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review

Dear LorraineCasto, Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you had a great stay with us after a bad experience at another hotel. We are happy you had a clean, comfortable visit and can't wait to see you the next time you're in Wilmington! Thanks again for your praise. David Amick eCommerce Manager Daly Seven, Inc More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question