We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Farm Cabins

68 Vacation Drive, Whittier, NC 28789
Hotel amenities
Sunset Farm Cabins
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015
Robert L
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I spent several weeks researching cabins in the Bryson City/Whittier area, when we came upon Sunset Farms Cabins. We chose the Fox cabin. My wife handled the booking. While there were issues with this, it wasn't the fault of the owners. Having graduated school in this area and having family in this area, Internet is spotty at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

We stayed in the Bear Cabin for spring break with our 9 and 15 year old. There was no sound but the silence of the middle of nowhere...which we loved! The cabin is spacious, and very clean. The deck is the perfect place for meals or just to relax. Perfect in the morning or evening! It is a very quiet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

The cabin was small, homey, and clean. The view was beautiful. I didn't like the tip envelope for the housekeeper left on the table because the housekeeper was the owner. $130 per night is pushing it- I wouldn't pay a penny more! But overall good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michelle K, Manager at Sunset Farm Cabins, responded to this review

We appreciate your review. We just wanted to let you know that the housekeeper is not the Owner. The business is actually run by an LLC and maintains 4 employees that are compensated hourly. 2 of these employees live on-site, Michelle and Steven. We also wanted to let other know the accommodations you received for $130/ weekend night: This was... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have been traveling many years both with my pet & with spouse or alone. This was probably THE worst experience of my life. I arrived after driving 8 hours & was ready for a quiet retreat. I had to leave at first light the next morning. The place was at the edge of a hill overlooking the highway &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michelle K, Manager at Sunset Farm Cabins, responded to this review

We can't begin to respond to this as it is completely inaccurate. This customer actually never spent the night and was asked to leave shortly after she arrived due to inappropriate behavior that was bothering other guests. She was never charged for any part of her stay by our establishment. We managed to re-rent the cabin and had no complaints... More 

Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We usually stay in hotels when traveling. I used to camp some but most of the family doesn't enjoy that so much so this time we decided to try a cabin. On relatively short notice, I was able to get the Raccoon cabin for the weekend. I thought there would be only 3-4 of us but less than a week... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seven Mile Ford, Virginia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I Loved this place! We visited the area in the fall and loved it, We took the Great Smokey Mountain railroad trip which is just down the road a bit in Bryson city. We stayed in the "Raccoon" and loved it, The cabin was clean and nice! The owners are great and very helpful! I Loved Loved Loved the Outdoor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Knightdale, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We originally had reservations for the Raccoon cabin, however our host extended us a special rate for the larger Moose cabin. We really enjoyed this cabin, especially since our visit was the week of Thanksgiving and no other guests arrived until Friday night, so peaceful. We loved the firepit, every night it was ablaze. The cool, nippy mountain temperatures made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Sunset Farms Cabins as part of a family reunion the weekend of Nov. 2-4, 2012. We stayed in the "Moose" and it was very nice. Clean, roomy, new HD tv, and right next to one of the outdoor hot tubs. The cabins are central to Cherokee and Dillsboro. The cabins have very good views of the surrounding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in May 2012 during our road trip, out of the 10+ places we stayed on our tour, it was by far the most welcoming, we felt so comfortable there, it felt like being at home. Randy (the owner) was always willing (and very happy) to help out with anything you needed, from starting you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here Memorial Day weekedn 2012 and had a great time. The location is perfect. It's secluded but we were within a short drive to several things. We went up to gatlinburg one day and that was about an hour or so. The owners are great and the area is well taken care of. The central area is grass... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay