We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wingate by Wyndham Southport

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1511 North Howe Street, Southport, NC 28461
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Southport
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
connie748 Wake Forest, North Carolina
Add Photo Write a Review

580 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    265
    171
    78
    40
    26
See reviews for
178
150
43
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (580)
  • Mar-May only
    (147)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (214)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (166)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Hanover
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Wyndham in Southport, NC for a week and we had problems from day one. The first room had a funny smell and the AC was loud and stopped working so we had to pack everything up and move to another room with no compensation for the inconvenience. Only suites have refrigerators with a freezer which isn't clear... More 

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were unable to check in 40 minutes early and the hotel would not hold our bags but we made the best of it. The room could have been cleaner (there were dirty socks piled in the closet from the previous guests). The light fixtures in the entrance way and above the microwave were both hanging out of the ceiling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties that you experienced with us such as our housekeeping and maintenance staff, though I’m glad you found our location to be convenient, beds comfortable, and breakfast decent. We are working to take care of all of the issues that you addressed and we thank you for taking the time to share... More 

Montclair, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night on out way further south. We wanted to explore the Southport area for the day. The hotel is a short drive (less than 5 min) to the main waterfront area of Southport, but the hotel itself is in a strip mall. Our hotel room looked out on a parking lot. The room was comfortable and clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. It is so rewarding to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable and clean experience. It means a lot to hear from guests who are satisfied with all of our services and amenities such as our free Wi-Fi. We seek to give each guest a... More 

Hume, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasant front desk experience. Frig was not operating upon arrival, television connections poor so we jury rigged electric tape to hold it still rather than wait a day for the problem to be fixed. Frigerator plug was broken, we moved the connect cord to the coffee pot and voila! Manager/owner frazzled, tired. Beds were average in comfort. Noise above and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

We can't thank you enough for sharing the ways that we were able to impress you and the ways that we can continue to improve upon our service. I want to apologize for the inconveniences that you did experience. Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our... More 

Mount Pleasant, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Wyndham in Southport June 19 &20th while visiting the NC coast. Very clean, great breakfast options, friendly staff, and close to downtown Southport. We will definitely stay there on future trips.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and breakfast offered in our hotel! We are glad that you found our location to be convenient. We look forward to your next visit! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights to experience Southport, Bald Head and Oak Islands. A nice central location for all of these spots. Our room was clean and comfortable with affordable rates and Continental breakfast was included. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and convenient experience. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay