We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wingate by Wyndham Southport

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1511 North Howe Street, Southport, NC 28461
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
David C phl, United States
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    155
    68
    36
    24
See reviews for
158
127
40
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (522)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (189)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (166)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
phl, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel was a nice clean place. Was hoping to use the hot tub but it was out of service. Breakfast was the average fair. Staff was attentive and helpful. restaurants, bars and shops easy walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We left hotel to have breakfast and drive around area and expected they would clean room while gone..returned two or three hours later with room untouched. Husband was working nights, so room didn't get cleaned the few days we were there. Other than that, enjoyed our stay.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was cordial and rooms were very clean and well-kept. Breakfast was excellent and hours of availablity fine. Gym was ok, but could use a bench for the universal machine. Overall a good place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post your comments concerning your stay here with us. We are glad that everything was up to your standards for your business trip to the area. With Regards, Wingate by Wyndham Southport, NC More 

BILLINGS
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel often and appreciate the management especially. I have just a few observations. Breakfast could use a little variety. It is excellent for a single stay but for frequent travelers it can be a little mundane having the same selection day after day. Why no HD television? All the sets are HD but none of... More 

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelGM329, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

It means so much to all of us to hear from guests like yourself who have enjoyed our hospitality and amenities over and over throughout the years. I am sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy the breakfast options, and I want to let you know that we take your suggestions to heart and are reconsidering the available... More 

Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

During my stay I could not get the heat/air regulated. I complained to the front desk and she was to have someone check it. Don't know if she did or not but I continually had to change the temp control to maintain a comfort level. The blockout curtains were unsightly and were hard to close on one side. I don't... More 

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelGM329, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

I regret to read that you found this experience to be so unsatisfactory due to issues which should have been promptly attended to. It is our goal to impress you and exceed your expectations with every visit, and it is disheartening to learn that we did not fulfill this ambition during your recent visit. It is our sincere hope that... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got a great night's sleep. Heating unit and room were quiet. Comfortable bed. The breakfast area provided a comfortable location in the evening for a client meeting.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for supplying us with your comments regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and got a good night's sleep. With Regards, Wingate by Wyndham Southport, NC More 

Haw River, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My first stay at this hotel was great. I was in town for a week on business with 3 other colleagues. We all stayed here and it was first rate. They honored state rate per diem as well. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. Hot breakfast each morning was also good. There are several shops nearby and restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for rating our hotel so highly, and for supplying us with your comments. It is very nice to hear how our staff's efforts to impress you with our hospitality and comfort have been successful in you enjoying your stay. With Regards, Wingate by Wyndham Southport, NC More 

Flemington, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Why have I been staying at the higher priced competitor all these years? My room at the Wingate Southport was much larger, very clean and comfortable, and about 30% less expensive. I will be seeking out Wingate on all my upcoming trips and hope they are as nice as Wingate-Southport was.

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to supply us with your comments regarding your stay abd also taking our survey. We appreciate the feedback. The hotel staff are very glad that you enjoyed your stay so much that you are going to be seeking out more of our properties on your upcoming trips. Glad you chose to stay... More 

Coraopolis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

First room on the ground floor had cockroach in it - not sure if one or two and I left a pillow behind and no one seems to be able to find it. I guess there is no lost and found

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelGM329, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this review

Thank you for completing our guest satisfaction survey and letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize sincerely about your lost pillow and if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question