We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn

1.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
197 Mallard Road, Smithfield, NC 27577 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn Smithfield)
Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Add Photo

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    3
    6
    4
    14
See reviews for
12
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was getting late so we stopped off 95, sign said recently renovated and looked decent from the outside, paid 55.00 with taxes for room, couldn't hardly get door open and then realized it wasn't aligned, had to lift to close, sheet worn extremely thin, AC did not work, refrigerator didn't work because no where to plug it in, no coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westborough, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Good place to sleep and take a shower for the night when travelling along interstate 95 to Florida.Easy access to highway. Place is clean beds are comfortable. Light breakfast included. General maintenance needs a lot of attention.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Spent the night there on Saturday, March 22nd 2015...The good= Room was clean, comfy, recently renovated, decent for $50..The not so good= We made a reservation over the internet and we decided to stay at another place in Smithfield, and this place would not refund the deposit..So we had to stay there or waste $50...Also, the wireless internet is pathetic.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Four Oaks, North Carolina
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
67 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Booked this place from Expedia. Walked into the lobby. Looking to my right noticed a small cockroach (not a water bug) crawling up the wall. Should have been the first red flag. Got to the room and upon walking in began to realize this place was in bad shape. This room had the infamous "sticky carpet". Didn't walk on it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvismithfield, American Best Value Inn at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for you bad experience here, We are working on the issues. More 

Travelers are raving about these Smithfield hotels

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is good for the price. Actually, it's exceptional. I would recommend it for a business traveler on a budget, or a Family as well. A little, old, the property is taken care of well. The front desk attendant was very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvismithfield, Annette at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and Hope to see you come back. Thank you, American Best Value Inn Team More 

Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The room itself didn't look bad at 1st appearances, but upon being there for almost 2 hours we found a cockroach in the bathroom. Asked to be moved and that room had at least 1 roach in it. Didn't feel comfortable in any room and left, but they refused to refund my room fees. I will be pursuing further action... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvismithfield, American Best Value Inn at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for you bad experience with your stay here. We are working on fixing the issues. Thank you American Best Value Inn More 

Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The room seemed like a throwback to the Howard Johnson's I stayed in when I was little- and it had no significant upgrades since the seventies! It was hard to enter the room, as the carpet was installed too high, and the door had to be forced open, and wouldn't go beyond halfway. The biggest lamp in the room had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the management of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. We are working on these issues to provide a more enjoyable experience for future guests. Thank you More 

Etters, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was late, my mom and I were on our way to Myrtle beach and this place seemed like a good deal. The place was dirty, the parking was bad, the road to the place was really bad and off the beaten path. The road alone should of been a sign to turn around. There where cob webs hanging from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Barb525, On behalf of the management of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. We are working on these issues to provide a more enjoyable experience for future guests. Regards, Henna-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield, NC More 

Montauk, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked on line for the room for $40 got there it was cheaper rate on the door but they charged me the higher rate. Filthy rooms the remote did not work shower was not or ever cleaned mold mildew. We were dead tired so we just sucked it up and passed out. In the morning we did not take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ransom D, I appreciated that fact that you took the time to share a review with us. We do offer toast, bagels, muffins, sausage biscuits, juice, coffee, and fruit on our Continental Breakfast. The foods are served fresh each day. I apologize for the housekeeping issues as well. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Regards,... More 

Dameron, Maryland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
15 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Only stayed over 1 night here on the way down South. Average hotel - Not much of a view from any of the rooms that I could tell. The Inn was sorta off the beaten path - not real easy to find. We could see it from 95, but getting to it was a different story. Make sure you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear MakoMan13, Thank you for posting a traveler review with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am sorry that you had a hard time finding our location. We hope that you stay with us again should you return to the area. Regards, Henna-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield NC More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay