We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Smithfield hotels

Americas Best Value Inn

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   197 Mallard Road, Smithfield, NC 27577 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn Smithfield)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
16%
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Smithfield
  • Reviews (25)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    5
    3
    13
See reviews for
12
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is good for the price. Actually, it's exceptional. I would recommend it for a business traveler on a budget, or a Family as well. A little, old, the property is taken care of well. The front desk attendant was very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
raleigh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I hate when people lie to make some property look bad say the place has bugs what motel doesn't have some kind of bug the motel is being redone rooms look good has some water bugs not roachs but big water bugs they are being dealt with but its a very nice and quiet place just off 95 staff goes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room itself didn't look bad at 1st appearances, but upon being there for almost 2 hours we found a cockroach in the bathroom. Asked to be moved and that room had at least 1 roach in it. Didn't feel comfortable in any room and left, but they refused to refund my room fees. I will be pursuing further action... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The room seemed like a throwback to the Howard Johnson's I stayed in when I was little- and it had no significant upgrades since the seventies! It was hard to enter the room, as the carpet was installed too high, and the door had to be forced open, and wouldn't go beyond halfway. The biggest lamp in the room had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of the management of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. We are working on these issues to provide a more enjoyable experience for future guests. Thank you More

raleigh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The employees were very nice and helpful. The room was very nice and clean. I could tell there was upgrades being done. We were told motel is under new management. Beds were very comfortable. The bathroom counters and shower walls are granite. Which looked very nice. The continental breakfast was more than some motels. The price was just right for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Etters, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was late, my mom and I were on our way to Myrtle beach and this place seemed like a good deal. The place was dirty, the parking was bad, the road to the place was really bad and off the beaten path. The road alone should of been a sign to turn around. There where cob webs hanging from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Barb525, On behalf of the management of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. We are working on these issues to provide a more enjoyable experience for future guests. Regards, Henna-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield, NC More

Montauk, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked on line for the room for $40 got there it was cheaper rate on the door but they charged me the higher rate. Filthy rooms the remote did not work shower was not or ever cleaned mold mildew. We were dead tired so we just sucked it up and passed out. In the morning we did not take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ransom D, I appreciated that fact that you took the time to share a review with us. We do offer toast, bagels, muffins, sausage biscuits, juice, coffee, and fruit on our Continental Breakfast. The foods are served fresh each day. I apologize for the housekeeping issues as well. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Regards,... More

Lusby
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
6 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Only stayed over 1 night here on the way down South. Average hotel - Not much of a view from any of the rooms that I could tell. The Inn was sorta off the beaten path - not real easy to find. We could see it from 95, but getting to it was a different story. Make sure you get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear MakoMan13, Thank you for posting a traveler review with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am sorry that you had a hard time finding our location. We hope that you stay with us again should you return to the area. Regards, Henna-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield NC More

Hope Mills, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

not bad for $35.99 a night. ok hotel for 1-2 nights stay. there are other hotels in area too but i like this place since its right off highway. right in the middle from Newyork to florida route.furniture needs upgrade and wifi had little issue but with the price of 35.99 i can go with it

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

DK28311, Thank you for your honest feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you stay with us again should you return to the area. Regards, Henna-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield, NC More

Medford
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a hotel that we've stayed at before & it was just average like most hotels on I-95 for the price. This stay was very unpleasant. The rug was pretty new but the towels were bare threads and the bathroom in need of replacements. The hanger rack was rusty & the room smelled of a strong air freshener which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear beaches, Thank you for bringing the issues you experienced to our attention. We are taking some additional measures with our front desk staff regarding call screening. I apologize for any inconvenience. Regards, Henna-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield, NC More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 197 Mallard Road, Smithfield, NC 27577 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn Smithfield)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Smithfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Smithfield

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Smithfield, part of Johnston County, NC, located along the Neuse River. Our hotel's advantageous location allows you a gaze into the past at the Johnston County Heritage Center, Hinnant Family Vineyards and Winery, Tobacco Farm Life Museum of North Carolina. Whistle "dixie" as you "march to the beat" of our forefathers at Bettonville Battlefield. Relive the glamorous life of a big screen legend at the Eva Gardner Museum. Shop until you drop at Carolina Premium Outlets or TWM Antique Mall. Bask in the sun at Cobblestone Community Pool or Tucker Lake Recreation. Andy's of Smithfield, Mucho Mexico and Smithfield's Chicken*n BBQ are also sure to please.Our hotel offers ideal accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast and a free cup of coffee. Relax by our seasonal outdoor pool or have your children frolic at our on-site playground. Step into our guest rooms and experience absolute relaxation with free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat screen plasma cable TV, hairdryer, iron (upon request), ironing board, desk with lamp, wake-up service and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Smithfield, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
50

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer