We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Shelby hotels

Americas Best Value Inn Shelby

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   825 West Dixon Blvd., Shelby, NC 28152 (Formerly EconoLodge)
Hotel amenities
Americas Best Value Inn Shelby
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Shelby to your Saves list
42%
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Shelby
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
8
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at ABVI in Shelby because I needed a place to crash over the weekend since I came for a wedding in a neighboring town. The price was great. It was much cheaper than some other hotels around the area, and the room wasn't bad. My only real complaint about the actual room was that the remote for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear sng_nc, Thank you for bringing the issues you experienced to our attention. I apologize for the inconveniences caused by housekeeping during your visit. I will be sure to retrain them and make sure that these issues do not happen again in the future. We hope that you stay with us again or at another one of our locations across... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Had to stay for over a week and during the stay hotel staff not once once asked to clean the room, had to get towels and linens from laundry....This is a Drug infested hotel...BEWARE! most of the "Dealers" are put in the back rooms as like the manager Paul is trying to hide something....Non-smoking room reaked of cigarette smoke....barely can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lumberton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

It is rated #5 but it should be rerated.We looked at reviews and they were outdated.Our Veryroom was clean,fridge and flat screen tv.King size bed was kingsize.Very pleased with location and rate.Front desk manager,Paul,was very helpful.Plan to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear coveyofdoves, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our clean rooms at affordable prices. We hope that you visit us again on your way from TN! Regards, Gary-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby, NC More

Weaverville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have stayed at this ABVI in Shelby numerous times and have never had any complaints, BUT this time was very differen't. First everytime we turned the overhead fan on in the bathroom it reaked of cigarette smoke. A very sickening smell. Woke up the next morning went to the restroom and turned on the light and fan, more smoke... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear GWUMom, On behalf of the staff and management of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to personally apologize for the issues you experienced in November 2013. I am sorry for taking so long to respond. We are planning on doing some additional upgrades in the near future, including updating our furnishings. We do have a licensed pest company... More

Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

They do not do a great job of cleaning. Also a very BIG drug dealing hotel. Cops came and took 2 people to jail. Plus guys were walking around drunk. And girls were waiting for guys to pick them up. If you know what I mean. Not family friendly. Pretty much stayed up all night watching the drug dealers, drunks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear Crystal C, Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am concerned about the issues you encountered during your stay. All complaints will be further investigated and the appropriate action taken. Regards, Gary-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby, NC More

mooresville, nc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband works on a job at Gardner Webb college, He had to stay close to get a ride to work. He asked for a room on the corner facing Bojangles, thats how scarey it was. I went in to check out and 1st the bed covers were crooked and went to the bathroom, it looked desent, I looked on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear Spencer855, Thank you for sharing an opinion with us. I am sorry to hear about any negative experience you encountered with us. We take great pride in our facilities. I am concerned that these issues were never brought to our attention. We would have gladly moved you to another room. Once again, I am sorry about the experience you... More

Canton, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Room was filthy, and by filthy I mean, hair in the sink and tub, stains on the sheets, black mold in the bathroom and the rudest staff I have ever encountered. The middle-eastern manager obviously disliked women and/or americans in general as he treated the 2 females in our party like dirt and called them liars when the issues with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

SJStiles, Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. All complaints against this property are taken seriously and appropriate action is taken. Upon inspecting the room after your departure, I was unable to find any of the issues you had mentioned in your complaint. I had also sent a... More

Nyack, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Management had no manors! Very rude and impolite when we checked into the hotel. The vending machines malfunctioned all the time and when it was time for us to get our funds back management had a problem with it. We ALL ended up leaving this hotel and going elsewhere to continue our stay in Shelby. The hotel rooms were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dalas19, Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel. I am sorry to hear about your experience. Our linens are laundered daily. We typically do not have any issues regarding the linen quality. We hope that you will stay again at another one of our locations across the Country. Regards, Gary- Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby NC More

Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

A nicely appointed room. Very good rates. But unexpected visitors via bedbugs. The bites began appearing 2 mornings after and still dealing with the marks. I chose this facility on the basis of other reviews stating cleanliness.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear HolidayTraveler2010, Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am sorry to hear you had such a negative experience during your stay. We do take all complaints seriously and the appropriate action is taken. Bed bugs are a huge issue not only in hotels, but it is affecting other industries as well. We do have our rooms treated... More

Hendersonville, TN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

My daughter has been in college at Gardner-Webb University in Boiling Springs, NC. I've stayed here every time I've gone to visit as has my ex-wife. The university is only 10-15 minutes away. The hotel is clean, convenient, and the staff has always been polite and helpful. The price is less than half what it would cost to stay in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear Zerzig, Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and convenient location. Should you return to the area in the future, we look forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Gary Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby, NC More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Shelby

Address: 825 West Dixon Blvd., Shelby, NC 28152 (Formerly EconoLodge)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Shelby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Shelby 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Shelby
Shelby Econo Lodge

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay