We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn Shelby

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
825 West Dixon Blvd., Shelby, NC 28152 (Formerly EconoLodge)
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Americas Best Value Inn Shelby
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Shelby
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014
JCBIndustries Powhatan, Virginia
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
8
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (16)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Worst place I have ever stayed with family! Paid more than we were qouoted,rooms were all mixed up,pool was not opened,grass was high and 2 out of the 3 nights we were there 2 of the rooms next to us had prostitution going on! Were told too late (from locals) this hotel was known for that! Very rude and disrespectful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Powhatan, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I stayed at the ABVI for 2 nights in December 2014 while visiting friends in Shelby and going to the Panthers' game. I paid $48 a night. For the price I was nothing, but pleased. The room was very large and clean. The bathroom was not grand, but larger than other value hotel/motels. As far as visiting my friends in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Excellent work on rough edges of an old motel ; the current management appears actively improving,investing in new furniture,painting,paving....for $53 total I had an attentive staff , clean room; a pool,conference room,easy access; lots of cafés in town nearby...very nice stop !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I stayed at ABVI in Shelby because I needed a place to crash over the weekend since I came for a wedding in a neighboring town. The price was great. It was much cheaper than some other hotels around the area, and the room wasn't bad. My only real complaint about the actual room was that the remote for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear sng_nc, Thank you for bringing the issues you experienced to our attention. I apologize for the inconveniences caused by housekeeping during your visit. I will be sure to retrain them and make sure that these issues do not happen again in the future. We hope that you stay with us again or at another one of our locations across... More 

Lumberton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

It is rated #5 but it should be rerated.We looked at reviews and they were outdated.Our Veryroom was clean,fridge and flat screen tv.King size bed was kingsize.Very pleased with location and rate.Front desk manager,Paul,was very helpful.Plan to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear coveyofdoves, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our clean rooms at affordable prices. We hope that you visit us again on your way from TN! Regards, Gary-Manager Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby, NC More 

Weaverville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have stayed at this ABVI in Shelby numerous times and have never had any complaints, BUT this time was very differen't. First everytime we turned the overhead fan on in the bathroom it reaked of cigarette smoke. A very sickening smell. Woke up the next morning went to the restroom and turned on the light and fan, more smoke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear GWUMom, On behalf of the staff and management of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to personally apologize for the issues you experienced in November 2013. I am sorry for taking so long to respond. We are planning on doing some additional upgrades in the near future, including updating our furnishings. We do have a licensed pest company... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

They do not do a great job of cleaning. Also a very BIG drug dealing hotel. Cops came and took 2 people to jail. Plus guys were walking around drunk. And girls were waiting for guys to pick them up. If you know what I mean. Not family friendly. Pretty much stayed up all night watching the drug dealers, drunks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear Crystal C, Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am concerned about the issues you encountered during your stay. All complaints will be further investigated and the appropriate action taken. Regards, Gary-GM Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby, NC More 

mooresville, nc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband works on a job at Gardner Webb college, He had to stay close to get a ride to work. He asked for a room on the corner facing Bojangles, thats how scarey it was. I went in to check out and 1st the bed covers were crooked and went to the bathroom, it looked desent, I looked on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dear Spencer855, Thank you for sharing an opinion with us. I am sorry to hear about any negative experience you encountered with us. We take great pride in our facilities. I am concerned that these issues were never brought to our attention. We would have gladly moved you to another room. Once again, I am sorry about the experience you... More 

Canton, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Room was filthy, and by filthy I mean, hair in the sink and tub, stains on the sheets, black mold in the bathroom and the rudest staff I have ever encountered. The middle-eastern manager obviously disliked women and/or americans in general as he treated the 2 females in our party like dirt and called them liars when the issues with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

SJStiles, Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. All complaints against this property are taken seriously and appropriate action is taken. Upon inspecting the room after your departure, I was unable to find any of the issues you had mentioned in your complaint. I had also sent a... More 

Nyack, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Management had no manors! Very rude and impolite when we checked into the hotel. The vending machines malfunctioned all the time and when it was time for us to get our funds back management had a problem with it. We ALL ended up leaving this hotel and going elsewhere to continue our stay in Shelby. The hotel rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvishelby, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Shelby, responded to this review

Dalas19, Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel. I am sorry to hear about your experience. Our linens are laundered daily. We typically do not have any issues regarding the linen quality. We hope that you will stay again at another one of our locations across the Country. Regards, Gary- Americas Best Value Inn-Shelby NC More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question