We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Toodyay B&Bs / inns

Black Wattle Retreat

Save Saved
You added Black Wattle Retreat to your Saves list
248 Blackwattle Road, Toodyay, Western Australia 6566, Australia
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (35)
  • Photos (13)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Black Wattle Retreat
Ranked #3 of 7 Toodyay B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toodyay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked on line for a special anniversary two day celebration, we arrived around 4:30pm and pushed the doorbell, no-one answered. We obeyed the sign that said 'if no one answers follow the balcony around to the right'. It was clear no-one was home but it seemed obvious we were expected, as our room French Provisional, the first along the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
balibaby3105, Owner at Black Wattle Retreat, responded to this review

I have laboured over how to respond to this review. Quite simply, I made a mistake with the arrival date of the guests. I would NEVER not make arrangements to meet someone when they arrive, if I could not be here, I would organise for someone to do that job, its just manners. What these guests did was to break... More

Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our second stay at Black Wattle retreat, I had talked up our fantastic stay from the first time to our friends who joined us for our weekend away and they also found it to be everything I said and more. From our delightful, funny host Lynda who is a superb cook, down the the lovely relaxing massage set... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
balibaby3105, Owner at Black Wattle Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Di, Darryl - you and your mates were such fun and so delightful for us to work with. Its people like you that make our job such a pleasure. I can't wait to have you all back again sometime. See you at the Field Days! Lynda and Darlz More

Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I just spent the weekend in the grande master suite and had the most relaxing time! The views were to die for, from my room and from the various places to sit outside with a cuppa. Lynda made me feel completely comfortable, the food was amazing, the atmosphere was perfect, my room was perfect and I loved the huge bed,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I spend two wonderful nights at this wonderful retreat. Lynda and Jenny were excellent hosts. Our room was beautiful, large and very well provided for. We opted to include dinner on both nights. We were tantalised with excellent home cooked meals made from local produce at an extremely good price. The retreat is among the bush and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My fiancé and I embarked the most memorable weekend of our lives at 'Black Wattle Retreat'. Lynda our hostess, went above and beyond to ensure that my partner was able to satisfy the many romantic and whimsical desires of his future wife to be...(poor fellow he's set a precedence now.) From the quaint Parisian inspired bedsit, to the exquisite nightly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
balibaby3105, Owner at Black Wattle Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Becky and Nik for this glowing synopsis of your experience and your love for each other. Rarely do I get the privilege to meet two people who are so in love and destined to be together. ' You made this tired old tart cry with your descriptions and the encapsulation of your feelings. Regardless of where I am,... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent a lovely 2 days at Black Wattle that included breakfast and dinner each day. The accommodation was very comfortable, the facilities were quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Just what we needed. Linda our host prepared beautiful nutritious meals for us that took into consideration my husbands special dietary needs. These meals were all served in an outdoor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
balibaby3105, Owner at Black Wattle Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I wish you both all your best on your journey and will delight In welcoming you both back after the rains! Lynda More

Kalamunda, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

What a fantastic place, it is just so relaxing. Lynda was so accommodating, even provided a spare phone charger for the night so I didn't lose my lifeline! Lucky for me she had the same. The food was great again both the dinner and the breakfast. This is the second time I have had the pleasure of staying at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My friends & I loved it!! The setting is gorgeous - so serene and peaceful. When we arrived we were immediately greeted by the owner Lynda who was lovely! Although we had dinner booked for 7pm and were supposed to place our orders by 6pm some of our group didn't end up arriving until after 7:30, and Lynda was so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The owner Linda was incredibly rude during our stay here..Treated us as nothing more than an inconvience..I would strongly recommend staying at any one of the nearby retreats..Toodyay is beautiful..but the customer service is non existent and the spa in the belvedere was unusable due to the smell.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
balibaby3105, Owner at Black Wattle Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You have failed to tell the whole story. You left Perth at 3pm and then I was altered by the POLICE at 10.45pm that you were lost. It takes perhaps 1.5 hrs at the most to get here. We followed all their requests byt the police and we made arrangements for you to be escorted... More

Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hostess was extremely rude, making this hands down the worst hospitality experience I have ever had. When we arrived, I committed the cardinal sin of pressing the doorbell twice in quick succession (as I didn't hear it go off the first time - granted, there was a sign below the doorbell button which said "please be patient"). This prompted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Black Wattle Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Black Wattle Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Wattle Retreat

Address: 248 Blackwattle Road, Toodyay, Western Australia 6566, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Avon Valley > Toodyay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Wattle Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer