We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Toodyay B&Bs / inns

Black Wattle Retreat

248 Blackwattle Road, Toodyay, Western Australia 6566, Australia
Hotel amenities
Black Wattle Retreat
Ranked #3 of 6 Toodyay B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toodyay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We have just spent a lovely 2 days at Black Wattle that included breakfast and dinner each day. The accommodation was very comfortable, the facilities were quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Just what we needed. Linda our host prepared beautiful nutritious meals for us that took into consideration my husbands special dietary needs. These meals were all served in an outdoor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
balibaby3105, Owner at Black Wattle Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I wish you both all your best on your journey and will delight In welcoming you both back after the rains! Lynda More

Kalamunda, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a fantastic place, it is just so relaxing. Lynda was so accommodating, even provided a spare phone charger for the night so I didn't lose my lifeline! Lucky for me she had the same. The food was great again both the dinner and the breakfast. This is the second time I have had the pleasure of staying at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friends & I loved it!! The setting is gorgeous - so serene and peaceful. When we arrived we were immediately greeted by the owner Lynda who was lovely! Although we had dinner booked for 7pm and were supposed to place our orders by 6pm some of our group didn't end up arriving until after 7:30, and Lynda was so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The owner Linda was incredibly rude during our stay here..Treated us as nothing more than an inconvience..I would strongly recommend staying at any one of the nearby retreats..Toodyay is beautiful..but the customer service is non existent and the spa in the belvedere was unusable due to the smell.

Was this review helpful? Yes
balibaby3105, Owner at Black Wattle Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You have failed to tell the whole story. You left Perth at 3pm and then I was altered by the POLICE at 10.45pm that you were lost. It takes perhaps 1.5 hrs at the most to get here. We followed all their requests byt the police and we made arrangements for you to be escorted... More

Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hostess was extremely rude, making this hands down the worst hospitality experience I have ever had. When we arrived, I committed the cardinal sin of pressing the doorbell twice in quick succession (as I didn't hear it go off the first time - granted, there was a sign below the doorbell button which said "please be patient"). This prompted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We arrived to a tranquil setting, a lovely property we wished was ours! We then were led to the log cabin. As an avid reader of pioneer stories, I was in my element in our cabin. Yes, a log cabin but with all the comforts we enjoy In modern lifetime. However, the biggest joy was the owners pets. Lovely dogs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Susie and I have just spent a delightful weekend at this property in the French Provincial room, very authentic down to the packet of seamless nylons in the wardrobe and even the magazines in French. Not that it was a worry as fast asleep by 9pm very peaceful. We were going to have 1 meal in town but ended up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
balibaby3105, Owner at Black Wattle Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you David and Susie, it was a delight to have you here and we look forward to other visits and loads of chats and working out where our paths have crossed in the past! Cheers Lynda More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely two night stay at the Black Wattle Retreat. We loved our stay in The Log Cabin. The room was so cute and filled with quirky memorabilia. The cabin had everything we could possibly need and the bed was excellent. Breakfast was included and was a feast to keep you going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
balibaby3105, Owner at Black Wattle Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Carol and Ian. I will ensure that Darlz reads this too as we all love the great feedback to wake and do it again the next day. We would delight in your return and maybe this time the Goose House without the spa would be a great shot! We can turn the spa off in the Log Cabin but... More

Perf Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We, mother, daughter and golden retriever, stayed at the log cabin for a birthday/bit of time out on the 8th and 9th of July and loved it so much we stayed on an extra night. The cabin had loads of room, heaps of DVD's, a lovely fire, privacy, spotless condition and was fully self-contained. We also had loads of towels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
balibaby3105, Owner at Black Wattle Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Jo, Can't wait for you, Mum, Harper and friend to come and visit again. Show time is coming and the beasties are getting their best coats on. See you soon. Lynda xxx More

perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My partner and I had a child free weekend in the log cabin. We indulged in the weekend package that included breakfast and evening meals and we are so glad we did. Lynda is an amazing cook and together with her husband Peter they were amazing hosts. The Log Cabin had several beds, a pot belly, an outdoor spa that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Black Wattle Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Wattle Retreat

Address: 248 Blackwattle Road, Toodyay, Western Australia 6566, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Avon Valley > Toodyay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Toodyay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Wattle Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Black Wattle Retreat to your Saves list