We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Derby hotels

Spinifex Hotel

3.5 of 5 Motel   |   6 Clarendon St, Derby, Western Australia 6728, Australia
Hotel amenities
Spinifex Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Spinifex Hotel to your Saves list
83%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
hatfiena Perth, Australia
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
15
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Disappointed +++. We love Derby but usually stay in our caravan. Being locals working in the communities of the Kimberly, we love to come to town to do some shopping, eat out and relax. Expected a lot more from this place do to its new look. We are used to the high prices up here, so no quibble there. However,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We welcome all constructive feedback and I thought I would respond to each section in the hope of explaining and understanding your experience of our hotel and staff. On arrival, you were greeted by our receptionist, who indeed said “Hi there, are you checking in for the night?’. Which I believe is reasonable. She is... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Set in the small town of Derby in West Kimberley. Spinifex hotel has Rustic wholesome country pub food that wont disappoint and a great night life, I always recommend going on a Saturday night or the Karaoke night on Thursday nights. Working in the Derby community for 5 1/2 weeks you feel the sense of community and always find the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
155 hotel reviews
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel website claims that The Spinifex is the "Jewel in the Crown of WA's Top End" and "we pride ourselves on our ability to accommodate the special requests of guests"... It should also state "but don't ask to borrow a towel overnight as it's like asking us to give you one of our kidneys!" This could well be an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As you can see from the reviews below, we seldom receive negative comments, so it came as a surprise to find out you did not enjoy your stay with us. The restaurant staff told me you were complimentary about them and I myself noticed you had left your car lights... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Wow, what a find. After travelling The Gibb River Road and sleeping in our camper this was R&R in style. The hotel is new and our room came complete with a kitchenette, washing machine, iron and ironing board, a big TV, air conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, comfy king size bed, free wi fi and a balcony from which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We work hard to reach a high standard of accommodation and service in the restaurant and bar, I'm glad your appreciated our hotel after your great adventures on the Gibb. Come back and see us again soon! :-) Sarah Spinifex Management More

Orange, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were traveling with OutBack Spirit, and this was our first night out. We had only a brief overnight stop, but I was most impressed. The hotel was new, and hence clean and fresh. Our room was spotless, but also had a kitchenette and washing machine. What more could the traveller need? We dined in the Tours'p Diner. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

We love having Outback Spirit Tours with us and are happy you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for taking the time to write about it. I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday exploring this beautiful part of the country. Sarah Spinifex Management More

Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Feted as the best hotel in Derby and did nit disappoint. My 2nd stay for work but was in the bigger room and it was wonderful -washer/drier, ironing board and iron, kitchenette, balcony, very comfy bed and couch, and quiet. The bar and restaurant food were spectacular! I can highly recommend the Barramundi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for us. We work hard to maintain the best service in accommodation, food and beverage and I'm so glad we held up to our reputation. Hopefully we'll see you again soon Sarah Spinifex Management More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Spent a week in the 'spinni' while my husband spent time in Derby hospital, great hospitality, good location, great laundry facilities & free!!! Swimming pool, great chips in the pub, great place to base and tour the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Many people stay with us while they are visiting the hospital and we are glad you had a happy and comfortable stay, especially due to the circumstances. Sarah Spinifex Management More

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Our arrival at the Spinifex Hotel was a very pleasant experience. To discover a fresh looking and recently built place to stay in Derby was our first surprise. The second pleasure was to discover a place with very clean and excellent amenities including the great swimming pool. The third factor was to open our double room door to a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Sir, Thank you for your wonderful review. We work hard to achieve what you experienced and are glad you had such an enjoyable time. Hopefully we will see you again soon Warm regards, Sarah Accommodation Manager More

Adelaide Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The room was amazing, not only huge, but had self catering facilities and a free washer/dryer in the huge bathroom. Super clean with quality fittings, the most comfortable bed and lots of fluffy pillows, I could have stayed longer! Obviously the hotel has not been open for long since its complete rebuild, and it has been done so well. Big... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the new and improved Spini! If you stay with us again, I would like to mention we do have WIFI in the public areas, so feel free to collect the password from us on arrival Kind regards, Sarah... More

Victor Harbor, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently had a beautiful stay in the beautiful quiet hamlet of Derby, staying at the Spinifex Hotel. We attended the Long Table dinner and can not speak more highly of the experience. However our positive Derby experience was added to by great accommodation at the Spinifex and a couple of great meals at the Wharf. At the Spinifex we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your great review on us and our town. You have visited at a perfect time, the long table dinner is an event that has been running for years and this small town appreciates the support of it's tourists. If you visit again, be sure to go the theatre restaurant! Sarah Spinifex Management More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Spinifex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinifex Hotel

Address: 6 Clarendon St, Derby, Western Australia 6728, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spinifex Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spinifex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay