We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spinifex Hotel

#1 of 3 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
6 Clarendon St, Derby, Western Australia 6728, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spinifex Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Spinifex Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    25
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
16
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had really good overall experience at the spini. Bar sevice was excellent particularly the welsh and irish barmaids, really friendly and full of smiles. Excellent food also, particularly enjoyed the steak, very succulent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kwinana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We overnighted here in a spacious, clean comfortable room. Our meals, on the whole, were quite good. Service however was rather poor. We were kept waiting a long time for dinner. Breakfast was buffet style, varied and substantial.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the better options in Derby. The cheaper single level rooms are dressed up dongers and are very noisy. Go for the bigger rooms. Food is good pub fair- with daily specials - tasty Tuesday has a good $15 rump steak- 4 stars! There is a pool, but no room service. The bigger rooms have a small kitchen if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Although we really enjoyed the restaurant it was a disappointing stay from a general costumer service perspective. We arrived at 2.30pm and were unable to formally check into the hotel, but was helped but the confused restauranteur who wasn't sure about the check in process. The receptionist, who was not a local, was unwilling to assist in our queries regarding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for writing your review. We do appreciated all feedback. I am very sorry that you had an unpleasant stay. I would like to address some of the issues you had. On the weekends reception is closed from 12:30-4:00pm as we we only have one person working to help cover days off. This would have been mention... More 

Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Went here for breakfast today with my partner and friend from town, overall very good, large portions and friendly staff. Nice clean facilities. Coffee wasn't the greatest but well within the acceptable range. Will go again next time in town. Pleasant dining experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

The Spinifex provides the best accommodation in Derby. Hotel rooms are comfortable, thermally comfortable and quite. Staff are incredibly accommodating. Good comfortable stay. Thanks for fitting me in at short notice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

The hotel, restaurant, conference space and bar make the Spinifex the best place to stay in Derby. I've stayed twice now and would again, always clean, friendly staff, and good coffee in the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

This place has Average food, bland menu and small portions. Menu and drinks over priced and wouldn't recommend. Manager needs a lesson in customer service. We found the Boab to be more welcoming with a better menu and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Sir I can only apologize if you were unsatisfied with the restaurant food and service. If you are ever unhappy with anything, i urge you to come to the front office with your complaint where we can assist. I can assure you, our restaurant is of the highest standard and I hope you will return to experience it.... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

G'day to all at the Spinny. I am writing this to say a bloody big thankyou. My mother Dianne arrived in Derby in late June to look after her terminally ill brother Tazzy in the Hospital, she had nowhere to stay, no friends there, limited funds and was in a real pickle. Darren took her under his wing and organised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Anthony I remember your mother, Dianne, very well. She was dealing with her tragic circumstances incredible well and I'm glad we made the time she spent here a little easier. (Say hello to her from us!). Darren is a well liked manager here and i will pass on your thoughtful compliments. Warmest regards to you and your family. Sarah... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

If you're staying in Derby, the 'Spini' is the place to be. The place has obviously been here for a while but has been completely refurbished and added to in recent times. We stayed in the dongas of which there are quite a few set up around the car park. A donga is a type of transportable building very common... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Davyd Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your happy with all the facilities we have to offer. If you stay with us again we also offer fully self-contained suites that are very comfortable if you require more space and luxury. Have a wonderful Christmas!... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay