We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spinifex Hotel

3.5 of 5 6 Clarendon St, Derby, Western Australia 6728, Australia
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Spinifex Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Spinifex Hotel
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
15
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're staying in Derby, the 'Spini' is the place to be. The place has obviously been here for a while but has been completely refurbished and added to in recent times. We stayed in the dongas of which there are quite a few set up around the car park. A donga is a type of transportable building very common... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Davyd Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your happy with all the facilities we have to offer. If you stay with us again we also offer fully self-contained suites that are very comfortable if you require more space and luxury. Have a wonderful Christmas!... More 

australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night for work. Small donga style room but perfectly fine for one night and one person. Good air-con comfy bed and decent tv. Bar and restaurant decent quality and plenty of options. Would stay again if working in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Spinifex hotel is a nice spot to stay in Derby, be sure to book the luxury hotel rooms if you want a spacious room with queen size bed. The short stay accommodation is king single bed rooms with very little space. The room was very neat, clean and modernly furnished, with all appliances and kitchen equipment. The Hotel restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kelly Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Our single rooms are on the small size, especially in comparison to the motels! But they are perfect for tradies or travelers on a budget passing through for a night or two. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, come back and see us soon! Warm Regards Sarah... More 

Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Stayed here on the first night of a Kimberley tour so organised group and everything pre-booked. First impression of the hotel was a large complex with many styles of rooms. Our room was very comfortable ... big screen TV and good bed. Food at the restaurant was hearty, tasty and filling - we had dinner the first night and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We enjoy having groups stay with us and work hard to make sure everything is as easy as possible. I'm happy you enjoyed it and our beautiful Kimberley region. I have passed on your thoughts about our lighting towards the back of the property and it is something we will improve for our next high... More 

Broome
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Check in time is at 2pm but the office is closed from 1 until 4.. makes sense. I have been told this is the best accomadation in Derby.. dont waste your time just go to Broome. Got quoted one price and charged another.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Sir, Thank you for your review. Being a small town in our low season, we do close between 1pm and 4pm on weekends. There is a sign on the door prompting you to collect your keys from the bar which is open all day. Staying open all day to assist a small number of people checking in is not possible... More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Disappointed +++. We love Derby but usually stay in our caravan. Being locals working in the communities of the Kimberly, we love to come to town to do some shopping, eat out and relax. Expected a lot more from this place do to its new look. We are used to the high prices up here, so no quibble there. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We welcome all constructive feedback and I thought I would respond to each section in the hope of explaining and understanding your experience of our hotel and staff. On arrival, you were greeted by our receptionist, who indeed said “Hi there, are you checking in for the night?’. Which I believe is reasonable. She is... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Set in the small town of Derby in West Kimberley. Spinifex hotel has Rustic wholesome country pub food that wont disappoint and a great night life, I always recommend going on a Saturday night or the Karaoke night on Thursday nights. Working in the Derby community for 5 1/2 weeks you feel the sense of community and always find the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
157 hotel reviews
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel website claims that The Spinifex is the "Jewel in the Crown of WA's Top End" and "we pride ourselves on our ability to accommodate the special requests of guests"... It should also state "but don't ask to borrow a towel overnight as it's like asking us to give you one of our kidneys!" This could well be an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As you can see from the reviews below, we seldom receive negative comments, so it came as a surprise to find out you did not enjoy your stay with us. The restaurant staff told me you were complimentary about them and I myself noticed you had left your car lights... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Wow, what a find. After travelling The Gibb River Road and sleeping in our camper this was R&R in style. The hotel is new and our room came complete with a kitchenette, washing machine, iron and ironing board, a big TV, air conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, comfy king size bed, free wi fi and a balcony from which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We work hard to reach a high standard of accommodation and service in the restaurant and bar, I'm glad your appreciated our hotel after your great adventures on the Gibb. Come back and see us again soon! :-) Sarah Spinifex Management More 

Orange, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were traveling with OutBack Spirit, and this was our first night out. We had only a brief overnight stop, but I was most impressed. The hotel was new, and hence clean and fresh. Our room was spotless, but also had a kitchenette and washing machine. What more could the traveller need? We dined in the Tours'p Diner. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

We love having Outback Spirit Tours with us and are happy you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for taking the time to write about it. I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday exploring this beautiful part of the country. Sarah Spinifex Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Spinifex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinifex Hotel

Address: 6 Clarendon St, Derby, Western Australia 6728, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spinifex Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spinifex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay