We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spinifex Hotel

#1 of 3 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
6 Clarendon St, Derby, Western Australia 6728, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Spinifex Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    27
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
17
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a stay here after car trouble. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable, with small functional kitchenette. Walking distance to CBD and the public pool across the road is a green oasis in a dry and dusty town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Motel Room (room with M prefix) was found to be very spacious, immaculately clean and well maintained. The food and service at the hotel's restaurant was also excellent with the restaurant being well patronised on the two nights that I dined there (recommended and used by locals). The restaurant staff were both friendly and helpful. I would have no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think the thing that defines a really good place is a high standard across all elements of the experience. The Spinny is a mixed bag. It should have been a 4 plus experience and my original rating was a three but hey I am over the brekky experience now so I upgraded it to a four before posting. Reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in an upstairs room that was very comfortable and clean, good firm bed and nice linens. Restaurant served fabulous food at all meal times, great taste and generous portions, finally a chef who knows how to cook a steak rare. Sadly the waitstaff were kept so busy with the crowds of local people, tourists and coach passengers I didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 1 night in a rack room, clean and tidy but only a single bed. Nice hot shower Okay for a single night but would look for another option if staying longer. a bit disappointed that the fridge was turned off when i arrived, no ice and unable to keep drinks cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a downstairs room which was quiet. Great to walk across the car park to the restaurant which serves good food fast. Staff cheery and helpful. Shops close and handy. Found Derby itself to be relaxed and restful place to spend a few nights on our trip. Would recommend and certainly revisit the Spinifex hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Administration Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad that you had a chance to stay-over in Derby and to experience our accommodation, services and facilities. Of course I am even happier that you enjoyed your stay and found our services to be satisfactory and friendly. We are always ever so grateful that you took the time to write your review on Trip Advisor, thank... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Had really good overall experience at the spini. Bar sevice was excellent particularly the welsh and irish barmaids, really friendly and full of smiles. Excellent food also, particularly enjoyed the steak, very succulent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kwinana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

We overnighted here in a spacious, clean comfortable room. Our meals, on the whole, were quite good. Service however was rather poor. We were kept waiting a long time for dinner. Breakfast was buffet style, varied and substantial.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

One of the better options in Derby. The cheaper single level rooms are dressed up dongers and are very noisy. Go for the bigger rooms. Food is good pub fair- with daily specials - tasty Tuesday has a good $15 rump steak- 4 stars! There is a pool, but no room service. The bigger rooms have a small kitchen if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Although we really enjoyed the restaurant it was a disappointing stay from a general costumer service perspective. We arrived at 2.30pm and were unable to formally check into the hotel, but was helped but the confused restauranteur who wasn't sure about the check in process. The receptionist, who was not a local, was unwilling to assist in our queries regarding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spinifex H, Front Office Manager at Spinifex Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for writing your review. We do appreciated all feedback. I am very sorry that you had an unpleasant stay. I would like to address some of the issues you had. On the weekends reception is closed from 12:30-4:00pm as we we only have one person working to help cover days off. This would have been mention... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
1.2 mi away
King Sound Resort
King Sound Resort
#3 of 3 in Derby
3.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Derby Lodge
Derby Lodge
#3 of 9 in Derby
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mt Hart Homestead
Mt Hart Homestead
#238 of 794 in Western Australia
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mitchell Falls Wilderness Lodge
1.9 mi away
West Kimberley Lodge
West Kimberley Lodge
#6 of 9 in Derby
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay