We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dampier Mermaid Hotel

5 Nielsen Place, Dampier, Western Australia 6713, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Dampier Mermaid Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    12
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
8
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Such friendly and helpful staff! We had the basic room which was ideal for us. Clean, comfortable and affordable. Good food and great service - nothing was too much trouble. Easy walking distance to everything (including Red Dog) and a fantastic view - loved sitting in the beer garden in the afternoons with a refreshing drink and just gazing at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great fish and chips, overlooking the ocean on a mild 27 degree day. What's not to love about this. A friendly crowd and escaping the cold winter of Perth. Menu was extensive and all the meals that came out looked great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We booked in here on booking.com as a stopover to Coral Bay. This is a hotel best left to the miners and port workers. We may as well have been smokers with the smoke in are room from the connecting non-smoking rooms. For the price this should be a lot better, but obviously managers and owners are happy getting their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NickBond1, Manager at Dampier Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, unfortunately we were unaware of such a problem, all of our rooms are in fact non-smoking which large fines in place for those caught smoking in the rooms. If our front office had been made aware of the issue we could have found a more suitable room for you and dealt with the problem. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dampier hotels

South Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Stayed here for a few nights and found it fine...average rooms, reasonably clean enough. Location is a gold mine, shame the place hasn't undertaken some updating in 30 years. Noisy with workers (other guests) early mornings. Fly wire on door/window would have been nice to enjoy cooler nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kalamunda, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

We stayed overnight. The room was clean and reasonably comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant and both were good. The hotel has a guest laundry which I used and there is a clothesline with pegs available for use for those not wanting to use the dryers so I made use of that. One of the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

A few bougainvillea and palm trees do not make a tropical garden. I was looking forward to staying at this hotel with the promise of tropical gardens. Driving in to the property is like driving in to the set of Steptoe & Son. It looks more like a dump, there is of furniture and equipment scattered around the property, especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Cheerful and friendly staff. Clean and reasonably comfortable rooms. Away from the Karratha township but close to the sea. Reasonable price and value for money when compared to other motels / hotels at Karratha. The Mermaid offers Bar, Restaurant and Outdoor dining, so a place for whatever mood and dress you are in --- good large portions of food and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was a little disappointing! It advertised a pool - but it was broken and out of use, the rooms were clean but small! The location was lovely- overlooking the ocean! Staff were a little slow, maybe they were new! It was the cheapest and seemed best value at the time I booked.... But in the end didn't really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Anyone here heard of salt, pepper and garlic? Seriously the worst pub food I have ever eaten and such a shame cos the bar staff are friendly and helpful. Time for a chef with some experience in taste as well as herb and spices combinations. The only reason I gave this a one star rating was because of the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NickBond1, Owner at Dampier Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, I am very sorry to hear you had a disappointing meal at The Dampier Mermaid. I would like to point out though that we have never had such a bad review for our food. Maybe you ordered something you did not like but our food is very well seasoned and our chef has been here for many years... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I only stayed for one night as I was travelling south. Had a Rear Courtyard Room. It was clean, had a decent shower, a nice bed and working AC. When I was Checking in it took some time as the staff may have been new and not exactly sure of the correct procedure, with that said the staff were all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dampier
10.5 mi away
Parkby Lodge
Parkby Lodge
#1 of 6 in Karratha
5.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Karratha Central Apartments
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Karratha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Karratha
Ibis Styles Karratha
#5 of 6 in Karratha
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
10.3 mi away
Karratha International Hotel
9.4 mi away
Pilbara Holiday Park Karratha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay