We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dampier Mermaid Hotel

5 Nielsen Place, Dampier, Western Australia 6713, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dampier Mermaid Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dampier Mermaid Hotel
Dampier Mermaid Hotel
Dampier Mermaid Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    7
    10
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
8
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked in here on booking.com as a stopover to Coral Bay. This is a hotel best left to the miners and port workers. We may as well have been smokers with the smoke in are room from the connecting non-smoking rooms. For the price this should be a lot better, but obviously managers and owners are happy getting their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a few nights and found it fine...average rooms, reasonably clean enough. Location is a gold mine, shame the place hasn't undertaken some updating in 30 years. Noisy with workers (other guests) early mornings. Fly wire on door/window would have been nice to enjoy cooler nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kalamunda, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed overnight. The room was clean and reasonably comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant and both were good. The hotel has a guest laundry which I used and there is a clothesline with pegs available for use for those not wanting to use the dryers so I made use of that. One of the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A few bougainvillea and palm trees do not make a tropical garden. I was looking forward to staying at this hotel with the promise of tropical gardens. Driving in to the property is like driving in to the set of Steptoe & Son. It looks more like a dump, there is of furniture and equipment scattered around the property, especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Dampier hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Cheerful and friendly staff. Clean and reasonably comfortable rooms. Away from the Karratha township but close to the sea. Reasonable price and value for money when compared to other motels / hotels at Karratha. The Mermaid offers Bar, Restaurant and Outdoor dining, so a place for whatever mood and dress you are in --- good large portions of food and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was a little disappointing! It advertised a pool - but it was broken and out of use, the rooms were clean but small! The location was lovely- overlooking the ocean! Staff were a little slow, maybe they were new! It was the cheapest and seemed best value at the time I booked.... But in the end didn't really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Anyone here heard of salt, pepper and garlic? Seriously the worst pub food I have ever eaten and such a shame cos the bar staff are friendly and helpful. Time for a chef with some experience in taste as well as herb and spices combinations. The only reason I gave this a one star rating was because of the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NickBond1, Owner at Dampier Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, I am very sorry to hear you had a disappointing meal at The Dampier Mermaid. I would like to point out though that we have never had such a bad review for our food. Maybe you ordered something you did not like but our food is very well seasoned and our chef has been here for many years... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I only stayed for one night as I was travelling south. Had a Rear Courtyard Room. It was clean, had a decent shower, a nice bed and working AC. When I was Checking in it took some time as the staff may have been new and not exactly sure of the correct procedure, with that said the staff were all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We have just spent 5 days at the Mermaid Hotel on holiday to the region. They were great! Free airport transfers, clean rooms, nice meals every night and half the price of anywhere else in the region. We have stayed in Karratha in the past but Dampier is more relaxed and cooler. The staff even arranged adjoining rooms for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Stayed recently on an overnighter. Had a single room in the back block. It was clean, had a decent shower, a nice bed and working AC. Didn't know the front bar was a skimpy bar when I went to collect my key so that was an interesting surprise. Maybe leave your kids in the car when checking in! Would say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dampier
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Karratha Central Apartments
10.5 mi away
Parkby Lodge
Parkby Lodge
#1 of 6 in Karratha
5.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Karratha
Ibis Styles Karratha
#4 of 6 in Karratha
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Karratha
10.3 mi away
Karratha International Hotel
9.4 mi away
Pilbara Holiday Park Karratha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay