We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dampier Mermaid Hotel

5 Nielsen Place, Dampier, Western Australia 6713, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dampier Mermaid Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dampier Mermaid Hotel
Dampier Mermaid Hotel
Dampier Mermaid Hotel
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
6
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cheerful and friendly staff. Clean and reasonably comfortable rooms. Away from the Karratha township but close to the sea. Reasonable price and value for money when compared to other motels / hotels at Karratha. The Mermaid offers Bar, Restaurant and Outdoor dining, so a place for whatever mood and dress you are in --- good large portions of food and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was a little disappointing! It advertised a pool - but it was broken and out of use, the rooms were clean but small! The location was lovely- overlooking the ocean! Staff were a little slow, maybe they were new! It was the cheapest and seemed best value at the time I booked.... But in the end didn't really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Dampier hotels

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Anyone here heard of salt, pepper and garlic? Seriously the worst pub food I have ever eaten and such a shame cos the bar staff are friendly and helpful. Time for a chef with some experience in taste as well as herb and spices combinations. The only reason I gave this a one star rating was because of the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NickBond1, Owner at Dampier Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning, I am very sorry to hear you had a disappointing meal at The Dampier Mermaid. I would like to point out though that we have never had such a bad review for our food. Maybe you ordered something you did not like but our food is very well seasoned and our chef has been here for many years... More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I only stayed for one night as I was travelling south. Had a Rear Courtyard Room. It was clean, had a decent shower, a nice bed and working AC. When I was Checking in it took some time as the staff may have been new and not exactly sure of the correct procedure, with that said the staff were all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We have just spent 5 days at the Mermaid Hotel on holiday to the region. They were great! Free airport transfers, clean rooms, nice meals every night and half the price of anywhere else in the region. We have stayed in Karratha in the past but Dampier is more relaxed and cooler. The staff even arranged adjoining rooms for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Stayed recently on an overnighter. Had a single room in the back block. It was clean, had a decent shower, a nice bed and working AC. Didn't know the front bar was a skimpy bar when I went to collect my key so that was an interesting surprise. Maybe leave your kids in the car when checking in! Would say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
38 hotel reviews
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014 via mobile

I'm a little puzzled by some of the negative reviews here , this is my 8th stay now and it ticks all the boxes for me. This is a workers hotel in a high vis working area . I stay here because the rooms are comfortable , have air con , clean bathrooms have many fox channels available and feature... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Gotta love being in tha Norwest, especially in the warmish seasons. Theres nothin better than sittin back under mermaids big outdoor canopy sippin on a few brews n knockin back a great surf n turf. Next time im in town for the night, im headin straight there for a feed n some good crack with friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Picked up the key from the front bar which had a skimpy barmaids in it so DONT TAKE THE KIDS THERE. The rooms were fine, shower is a little small but all neat and tidy within. The main door had a crack in it like someone had tried to open it. I would stay again but would like a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed for several nights in the recently renovated ocean view room. As the amount of worker accomodation is being constructed in Karratha this hotel is now easy to book and in a fantastic location. Beautiful views over the islands and a chance to catch spectacular sunsets were a standout experience.Doors leading to the balcony can be opened to take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay