We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Mercure Chalet Mt Buller

Hotel website
5 Summit Road, Mount Buller, Victoria 3723, Australia
Special Offer
UP TO 30% DISCOUNT
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Grand Mercure Chalet Mt Buller
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Last week we were at Mt Buller on a relaxing and site-seeing visit staying privately in one of the lodges and wanted to find somewhere to eat. We stumbled upon the Apres Bar and café and were pleasantly surprised to find it open and serving a limited but attractive pub-style menu and a good range of beverages. The young man... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
Merrijig
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

Visited Mt Buller after High Country Targa and noticed Grand Mecure Chalet Mt Buller was open, took our visitors from Queensland with us and ordered Potato Wedges and Coffee for 4. Waited 35 minutes for the Wedges, coffer arrived fairly promptly. Asked waitress when the wedges would be ready only to be told the Chef was unable to for fill... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank J
Harry W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Chalet Mt Buller, responded to this review

Dear Frank J, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property, we take all of our customer feedback very seriously. Again I would like to apologise for the poor experience you suffered last week. At the time of speaking with you I was not aware of all the facts at that time. As it turned... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mount Buller hotels

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

The Staff are always rude, during a 4 night stay we were not provided with any room service, breakfast was an insult with no choice & no quality, the car park entrance door is locked at 8pm, no provision for guests with a disability, rooms are dated & not well maintained

Helpful?
1 Thank frank142015
Harry W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Chalet Mt Buller, responded to this review

Dear frank142015, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We value our guests feedback and use this to form the basis of our standards and procedural reviews. I am sorry if you feel that we did not live up to your expectations. I would like to just point out that we do not have a guest car... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for the past 4 years during the ski season, always requesting the same room and our request is always granted. It is in an awesome location ski in and out and close to all facilities and ski lift. Facilities at the hotel are good, the pool is an awesome temp but found this year... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna F
Harry W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Chalet Mt Buller, responded to this review

Dear Donna F, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am disappointed to hear your concerns and I have passed them on to the Housekeeping Manager and the F&B Manager. It is true that the hotel did struggle with its breakfast offering this winter season just gone and we are in the process of revamping for... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

The location is good - right on Bourke St. Also, there is a good heated pool (which was not very busy). However, for the price charged, the rooms and furniture are very dated and the beds too hard. Also, the heating was too hot and when we asked if it could be turned down, we were told that it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Exsg
Harry W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Chalet Mt Buller, responded to this review

Dear Exsg, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We always take our guests feedback very seriously. I apologise if you feel that we did not live up to your expectation. As you will understand the heating of the building in the environment we are in is a constant battle as some guest want more heat and... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

We booked into a King room, which turned out to be an apartment...unless we were given the wrong room, which is possible, the communication from staff was TERRIBLE! We arrived early and were told the room was just being cleaned and when I asked when it would be ready I received a blank look and a statement to the effect... More 

Helpful?
Thank CharlieD3000
Harry W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Chalet Mt Buller, responded to this review

Dear CharlieD3000, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take all of our guests feed back very seriously It does state in our confirmation that check-in is at 4pm, so I am not sure why the confusion there, however whenever possible we do try and let guests check in earlier. We are constantly reviewing our standards... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

The location is excellent and it has every opportunity to be amazing, but it just wasn't for us. The customer service was so poor that it was just disappointing. Genuine smiles and assistance when travelling distances to get there, goes a long way. Looking at hotel requests before checkin (which was clearly not even viewed this time) and explaining to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravelexplore
Harry W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Chalet Mt Buller, responded to this review

Dear lovetravelexplore, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I sincerely apologise if you felt that we did not live up to your expectations. We take all of our guests comments very seriously and a constantly reviewing our standards and procedures to try and address guest concerns. Kind Regards, Harry Wellborne More 

Jakarta
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

Gread hotel for ski in and ski out, very convenient to all access for skiing and for restaurant. Good food for your restaurant and will recomended to my friends. To make your hotel better, you need to renovate your hotel room.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank danielN6908TY
Harry W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Chalet Mt Buller, responded to this review

Dear danielN6908TY, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is great that you are happy to recommend us to your friends and we will endeavour to ensure you are not embarrassed. We are in the process of reviewing what works we can do over this current off season and hope to upgrade some of our rooms... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

I've stayed at the Chalet many times and it's got its pluses and minuses. On the plus side is the great location near the centre of the village and right next to the Bourke Street chair lift. It's also warm and has plenty of facilities such as a pool, spar, gym and restaurants. It's 20 years old and it has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Davyd L
Harry W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Chalet Mt Buller, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property. I will pass some feedback to the operator who owns Po Po Kitchen, this was new installation this year and does not belong to our company but I understand it may reflect on the hotel. We have a plan in place to start upgrading the rooms within... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Having stayed in this hotel several times over the last couple of years, our experience have been the same every time. Very late check in and early check out. The staff are great and cannot be faulted. The beds are very uncomfortable and so are the pillows. The rooms are in need of an upgrade although they are clean. Rooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinahej
Harry W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Chalet Mt Buller, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property. We appreciate all feedback received about the Hotel and we are working very hard to improve our facilities and service now and in to the future. It is appreciated when the staff are recognised for doing a good job, and hopefully next year the rooms will be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Buller
0.4 mi away
Duck Inn Mt Buller
Duck Inn Mt Buller
#1 of 8 in Mount Buller
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pension Grimus
Hotel Pension Grimus
#4 of 8 in Mount Buller
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
#3 of 8 in Mount Buller
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Retreat
Alpine Retreat
#6 of 8 in Mount Buller
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breathtaker All Suite Hotel
Breathtaker All Suite Hotel
#2 of 8 in Mount Buller
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay