We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Enzian Hotel On Chamois

Certificate of Excellence
69 Chamois Road, Mount Buller, Victoria 3723, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Enzian Hotel On Chamois
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    38
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Let's start by saying, yes, Mt Buller accom during peak is a total ripoff, but hey we could have stayed off the mountain. Be prepared to pay $$$. Enzian is old & dated compared to the flashy hotels but it was a nice visit. Room warm & clean. Ann, onsite owner/manager welcoming, lovely & very helpful. She is such a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed as a group of nine people, mixed over 3 families. The 3 bedrooms meant each family had a room each & there were 2 bathrooms. Huge living & dining/kitchen area meant that we were not overcrowded at all. TV's in all bedrooms so kids were out of the way and entertained when needed. Great location too, short walk... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whistler, British Columbia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Place needs a lot of work but is homely still. Food is great and staff are fantastic. Anne went out of her way to drive us around the mountain villiage at 9.30 fri night to make sure we had ski hire that night

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved my stay at Enzian. Yes it's an old hotel and it's a bit rundown - but it's a great location and staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Service and food at the bar / restaurant was excellent. I stayed in room 311 which is the one with bunk beds and the bathroom down the hall -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Enzian and posting a review. Your room is actually an old staff room which we have converted into accommodation. It is the only one of its type in the hotel and with it the least expensive room, because ofthis it is always booked. We also have 1, 2 and 3 bedroom luxury apartments and hotel... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great for family gatherings. Plenty of room. Community area was huge. Comfy lounge which accommodated everyone. Had 3 bedroom apartment which comfortable housed nine of us. Close to chair for return and close to tow rope which bypassed the horrendous Bourke St!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Enzian and thank you also for your great review. It is great that you enjoyed your stay and organised yourself to take advantage of our huge three bedroom apartment. I love being able to ski down the Chamois run every morning, onto the rope tow and down Standard knowing that I don't have to walk... More 

Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Enzian hotel is well locate just metres from the chamois blue run. We ski down there and by pass the buller bullet crowds! Humble hotel and a humble breakfast. They need to improve the breakfast but it's a friendly hotel which makes you feel you are apart of the community.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Pleased that you enjoyed the stay here at Enzian and the proximately to the Chamois run is a real bonus for those wanting to beat the Bourke Street crowds With regard to the breakfast it is a tough call which we agonise over. We would love to do what many larger hotels do and charge... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, great friendly staff, and that is were it ends, room was not as advertised, bunk beds were broken, only a futon cover on the double bunk bed, steel bars thought he cover, no room heating evidently that broke about 3 years ago, couch broken both end just sitting there and as soon as you sat down they fell... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While booking process was OK, the greeting was luke warm on a boarder with indifferent. While 4 people checked in - only 2 cups and glasses were offered. Tiny spaces, limited b/fast, coffee wasn't ready for breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review

Dear Lucy, Unlike many large hotels we like to think we offer personal service in our small 13 room hotel. Normally we greet guests like long lost friends however when we have a number of rooms check in at the same time the personal touch can often be lost in the rush to get people settled and their luggage to... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location is Close to village center very handy .Friendly staff .Basic accommodation, decor a little dated. .Always has lovly hot water and nicely heated rooms. Havnt tried the restaurant for dinner yet beacause we are so close to the village, been eating out.Basic toast and cereals for breaky included .Enzian has a retro alpine theme.I have enjoyed my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review

Dear Brendon, many thanks for your review, pleased you loved the location and found our staff friendly. We often go out of our way to ensure that all of our guests make the most of their stay. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. Walking distance to ski center or only a few minutes wait for the regular free shuttle bus. Our apartment is a self-catered unit and got everything we needed for preparing our meals. We also dined at the in-house restaurant. Great food. Don't miss it but do make a reservation in advance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, Public Relations Manager at Enzian Hotel On Chamois, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our apartments Our restaurant is certainly doing well this year with many nights being fully booked and we are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to welcoming you back to Enzian in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Buller
0.2 mi away
Duck Inn Mt Buller
Duck Inn Mt Buller
#1 of 8 in Mount Buller
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pension Grimus
Hotel Pension Grimus
#3 of 8 in Mount Buller
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Chalet Mt Buller
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Sebel Pinnacle Valley Resort
0.1 mi away
Alpine Retreat
Alpine Retreat
#5 of 8 in Mount Buller
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breathtaker All Suite Hotel
Breathtaker All Suite Hotel
#2 of 8 in Mount Buller
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay