We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanunda Cottages

157 Murray Street, Tanunda, South Australia, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Tanunda Cottages
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Booking process was easy - simple phone call. Clean and well presented, with a gas fired "wood fire" that really warmed the living room. We appreciated the bottle of bubbles, and walked 5 minutes to the local IGA for snacks and some extra goodies for breakfast. There's a kitchenette with supplies for 6 - microwave and twin cooktop. Comfy beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

booked directly through owner "Mike" by telephone less than a week prior to our one night stay. No fuss booking and arrangements. My brother, his wife and my mother shared one cottage, my partner and I shared another. Identical cottages inside and out... 3 in all. great location and excellently appointed.... there was not one thing we required that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

We stayed here when we went to visit Barossa Valley and I have to say the place is quite amazing. I was expecting it to be an open space one bed cottage but was pleasantly surprised to see that it's got it's own kitchen and proper 2x bedrooms. Also love the fire in the living room. It was nice to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

My partner & I stayed here on a Friday & Saturday evening. It is spacious, clean & well appointed. It would sleep four comfortably (a queen size bed & two singles). It is very well situated for visiting the town centre & restaurants (5 - 10 minute walk). I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mudgee, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

For a (very) last minute stay, we hopped on Agoda and found Tanunda Cottages. At such an attractive price, I wasn't expecting much. This place absolutely over delivers! Michael, thank you so much. Very prompt and efficient. Thank you!! Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Radelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We stayed here as a family, with 4 adult, 1 child and a baby. Kindly didn't charge for kids as was a bit of a last minute thing, very generously set up cot, high chair and spare fold out for the kids at no extra cost. Fridge stocked with juice and milk, bread and I think cereal also provided -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The cottages are a perfect place to stay whilst touring the Barossa. 5 minutes walk to the heart of Tanunda to great restaurants. Breakfast cereals, bread & jams supplied along with a bottle of the fizzy stuff. I have no hesitation recommending the cottages & it was easy to book direct with Mike the owner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

These were three beautiful colonial designed cottages on one section. We rang up to book and were met there by the owner. It was A$190/night. It was very quiet although it was only 5min walk away to centre of town. There was off street parking. It came with a complimentary bottle of wine and a help yourself breakfast. Very clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Wow, never had to deal with such an ignorant business women anywhere else in the world :-( In our home state too – very embarrassing to have someone like this representing SA tourism to local and world travelers. Save yourself the frustration – don’t been bullied - there are plenty of other places to stay in and around beautiful Tanunda.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Michael R, Owner at Tanunda Cottages, responded to this review

Hi JOhanty, I'm Michael, the owner operator of Tanunda Cottages. I would be interested to understand more regarding the 'arrogant businesswoman' you spoke to as I personally take all our calls. Additionally we charge a single all inclusive rate - we don't have extra charges. If you are indeed referring to a stay with Tanunda Cottages, I'd be happy to... More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in October, great location, walking distance to local amenities & close to winery/bakery/car museum/big rockinghorse etc. We had cottage 3 so at the back & didnt hear any road noise. Plenty of room for port a cot in 2nd room, our 14 month old had plenty of room inside to get around without getting bored... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanunda
3.7 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
0.8 mi away
Barossa Weintal Hotel / Motel
0.7 mi away
Langmeil Cottages
Langmeil Cottages
#7 of 12 in Tanunda
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stonewell Cottages
Stonewell Cottages
#1 of 11 in Tanunda
5.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jacobs Creek Retreat at Moorooroo Park
1.4 mi away
Barossa Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay