We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Robe House

Certificate of Excellence
1A Hagen Street, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Robe House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pease Pottage
Level Contributor
180 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Great 1 night stay which exceeded our expectations. Check in is straight forward and your keys are found in a small cupboard with welcome instructions. All rooms have chairs outside and you can use the garden area including the BBQ. We had room 5 which was separate to the main house and provided a little more privacy plus our outside... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarkPP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely, clean, spacious apartment in beautiful town. Really enjoyed it. Very good location to the beach and high street. We stayed in apartment 4. Room enough for family/2 couples. Bbq and private courtyard to the rear. We cooked on the bbq in the evening. Thank you x

Helpful?
Thank Welshy1987
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Robe House. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind words. When we first purchased Robe House in 1997 we lived in apt 4 for 3 years. As our family grew we ran out of space and reluctantly had to move out to a larger home, but... More 

Herne Bay
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful house, very spacious, clean and comfy. "Home from home" nothing else was needed. Spacious bedroom, relaxing lounge, well equipped kitchen, huge bathroom and breakfast choices were a plenty. Had our breakfast in the garden. Lovely lovely. Thank you. Would definitely recommend Robe house for a perfect stay in a quaint little place Robe SA

Helpful?
Thank DonnaKarenHerneBay
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review

Hi Donna, thanks for taking the time to review Robe House. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again one day. Kind regards, Andrew and Sally More 

Glossop uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

We had a leisurely drive from Adelaide to Robe calling at a little town Kingston East, found the Old Courthouse which has just opened as a cafe and gift shop. Best toastie ever, the owner has only just opened the gift shop, lovely and friendly, worth a visit bought a couple of gifts for home. We arrived at Robe house... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank normahearsum
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review

Hi Norma, it was really nice to meet you and Beryl and I hope that you had a great holiday in Australia. It was also nice to hear that you had been to Robe before and thought it worthy of another visit. Many of our guests wish they had booked 2 nights in Robe as it is a very pretty... More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Only stayed one night which was a shame. Robe House is the oldest building in Robe, made of thick stone walls. We had a 2 bedroomed apartment with kitchen and lounge. Breakfast materials were supplied for the morning. There was a phone to check in with but as the owners were out they left a note as to which room... More 

Helpful?
Thank StAlbansBrian
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Robe House. Apt 4 is quite a spacious apartment and is heated normally by a log fire in the lounge and a reverse cycle air conditioner in the kitchen. Once the weather warms up, we stow away the firewood, and rely on the radiator if required, which is... More 

Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Good self catering accomodation, good facillities (excellent bathroom). The hotel is one of the first in Robe but has been re-furbished to a good standard. Free WI-FI is available but you need to stand near the laundry to access it.

Helpful?
Thank Graham S
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review

Hi Graham thanks for taking the time to review Robe House, the very first house to be built in Robe. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working to improve the wi -fi signal at Robe House, however it is proving to be tricky! Happy travels, Andrew and Sally More 

Daylesford
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

We very much enjoyed 2 nights in Apartment 5 with good wifi, attractive decor, stunning shower and the chance to sit in the sun and admire the roses. There were adequate breakfast provisions including a bowl of fresh fruit and the towels provided were thick. We'd come back.

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review

Hi Karen, thanks for taking the time to review apartment 5 at Robe House. There are two main types of Bed and Breakfasts in Australia - traditional and self contained. Self contained are much more common in Australia than traditional b&b's where guests stay in a host house and have breakfast prepared for them. Robe House fits into the category... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

This accommodation is immaculately looked after and spacious with an excellent bathroom. The bed and linen are also excellent and make for a very comfortable night. I wouldn't at all be surprised to find it was the best accommodation in Robe. The friendly owner also makes a real effort with guests. The wifi doesn't really reach the rooms which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnR888
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review

Hi John thanks for reviewing your stay at Robe House. It was really nice to meet you, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. The wi fi signal has been a persistent problem at Robe House due to the very thick stone walls. The relays you mentioned arrived not long after you stayed,... More 

Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

We had very good facilities, diy breakfast was excellent. The house was one of the first in Robe and so is old. Although it is charming with lovely cottage gardens, it is not really to our taste. The interior is a bit dark and could be cold in winter. The wifi only worked near the laundry so we could not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review

Hi Alison thanks for your review of Robe House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the first house to be built in Robe. While it is old by Robe's standards being built in 1847 it is quite young in European terms. The problem with the free wi-fi as we point out to all of our guests is the... More 

Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

My wife and i traveled the great ocean road from Port Campbell to Robe and stayed at Victoria Cottage (in the main street of Robe at the only traffic lights) for 2 nights. An historic and quaint cottage it was perfect for our stay. It was well appointed and there was breakfast eats left for us which were delicious. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim L
Robehouse, Owner at Robe House, responded to this review

Hi Tim, thanks for your review of Victoria Cottage which as you pointed out is owned by us, but completely seperate from Robe House. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. It is in a great location within an easy walk to the beach, shops and cafes. We do provide free wi-fi at Robe House which... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Robe hotels
3.8 mi away
Fayrefield House
Fayrefield House
#1 of 8 in Robe
5.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 8 in Robe
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Melaleuca Motel & Apartments
1.6 mi away
Robe Retreats
Robe Retreats
#2 of 7 in Robe
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay