We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon

Hotel website
Farnborough Road, Yeppoon, Queensland 4703, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    279
    347
    192
    152
See reviews for
532
265
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1057)
  • Mar-May only
    (289)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (191)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (256)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (321)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just checked in which took a long time. Staying two nights, if I had not paid a couple of weeks ago I would have walked out and looked for something else. The overall property is rundown, in disrepair , my room is very dated, smells and dirty. At this stage I can not see myself trying the restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatF-CapricornGM, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review

Dear Chris, I am concerned that your visit could be more comfortable and enjoyable and encourage you to liaise with myself or our Operations Manager to ensure we can assist you in making the most of the rest of your visit. Regards Mat Finch General Manager More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

'Mismanaged' is the word that comes to mind when observing this resort. The rooms are about a decade overdue for a renovation. We had a large group spread out over 9 rooms and no one had a comfortable mattress. Rooms were poorly cleaned showers are built for people under 5 foot tall. We were told we had to get ourselves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatF-CapricornGM, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review

Dear Nergarmstrong, We understand that the main attraction of the resort is our fantastic range of leisure activities and are sincerely sorry that your weekend away was interrupted by our fundraising activity. Through our partnership with Team Concrete we were able to raise almost $20,000 for Variety The Children's Charity and are immensely proud of this. Naturally the comfort of... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I visited for a conference and stayed two nights, I was very disappointed in my room, it was so smelly and dated with mismatched furniture, the grounds are great, the pool area looks very inviting but please update your rooms. I was really disappointed that there is no wi fi, room service or mini bar which are minimum expectations when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatF-CapricornGM, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review

Dear tanza101, We are disappointed that your resort experience did not meet your expectations and apologise if the room allocated was not to your liking. With the resort accommodation spread over 4 buildings across the grounds unfortunately guaranteeing consistent quality of room service would prove challenging however we have introduced a takeaway menu in each restaurant to meet our guests... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

.. This resort is quite local for us and we have frequented it a number of times over 15 years so it is with great disappointment that I have to write the frank account. We were attending a fiftieth birthday reunion in Yeppoon (gorgeous spot btw) and booked in Jan for an April stay. Two families' bookings were lost and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatF-CapricornGM, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review

Dear Juli P, We appreciate you taking the time to share such a detailed assessment of your visit to Mercure Capricorn Resort and are disappointed that your stay didn't meet the renowned Mercure benchmark. We do hope that you will reconsider staying with us again. Regards Mat Finch General Manager More 

Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I didn't have high expectations after reading some other reviews but I was still quite disappointed... Especially when you drive up to the resort on the (I'm assuming) purpose built road thinking 'maybe this won't be so bad!'. We were allocated a room in "The Palms" and I was pretty disappointed to see the rundown state of the room. Mould... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatF-CapricornGM, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review

Dwar Zoe, Thanks for your review and I am delighted that you were able to enjoy some of the key aspects of the resort such as the wonderful views over the Keppel Islands and our fantastic resort facilities. We are committed to remaining a great value family resort and hope that our commitment will be reflected in some ongoing product... More 

Victoria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here very recently and although the hotel is definitely dated and does need a facelift I have nothing but praise for the staff, especially Splashes Restaurant, who made our stay very enjoyable. We stayed in a Superior Room (3rd floor) in the main block and were not disappointed in the room at all. The room was clean with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatF-CapricornGM, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review

Dear IamFossil, It is always fantastic to learn that our resort facilities provide such enjoyment for the whole family - my team and I take great pride in ensuring that the environment is tailored specifically to our 'little guests' and thanks for taking the time to highlight this. We really do look forward to seeing you enjoy our wonderful facilities... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and 2 kids and I all loved our visit. The staff were very welcoming and lovely and there were plenty of activities available for everyone. Our room, although basic was clean and had a gorgeous view. We will be back often.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatF-CapricornGM, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review

Dear Dianne G, It was great to host your family at the resort and we appreciate your kind words. We are very fortunate to have such great family facilities and look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Mat Finch General Manager More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As guests of friends for a special function over Easter we had no alternative other than to stay for the weekend (4 nights). Accomm was in a 2 bed apartment which is in a separate block. The resort is evidently dated and in bad need of maintenance but they still charge top prices for poor standard accomm. Wet, mildew, musty,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatF-CapricornGM, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review

Dear stelly2015, Thank you for taking the time to share your views of the resort. I am most concerned about several of the claims included in your review and would appreciate the chance to speak with you directly to clear up some inaccuracies. Regards Mat Finch General Manager +61 7 4925 2525 More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

203 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (188)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question