We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Southport hotels

Sundale Motel

20 Queen Street, Southport, Queensland 4215, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sundale Motel to your Saves list
Sundale Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
35%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Southport
  • Overview
  • Reviews (17)
  • Photos (6)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
4
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The complex is dated and basic. Very noisy due to tram work. Did not feel secure as the locks on the sliding glass doors seemed loose, No air con in my room. ( amazing in 2013 ) A no frills motel. Saying the above, the rate of only $89.00 was a good deal. Close to Southport shops and only a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

Hello Steve N, Thank you for choosing to stay at my motel in Southport back in July 2013. Your review was helpful and appreciated. Disruption from the construction of the Light Rail three months back when you stayed was intensive and periodically night works caused us much headache. There are 5 LIGHT RAIL STATIONS well under construction here in Southport... More

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We looking for a hotel during the the peek times and last minute stay as was getting late to look for a motel as of our new born and we found the sundale motel it had pleasant manager first they said was 99 a night then after discussing it got dropped to 89 a night you cant get better than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lismore, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My room is great ,sure its a older style motel so what . room is freshly painted ,beds are good no problems there. staff very friendly and helpful ,especially when needing immediate assistance with accomodation. Considering its near busy streets,its basically quiet. tea coffee and sudries all accomodated for . local shops nearby- was assisted with this and given a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I know the gold coast and the million and one accommodation stays to sort through HEADACHE or what! sometimes sorting through all the bull takes the fun out of it all.., For location, easy access to everything you need, like walking to a woolies and surfers just over the bridge,, busses,,beach and broadwater, stop and think the money you save... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Checked two rooms out here which were out the back and the top room especially was the most disgusting room I've ever seen and I've travelled a bit in Eastern Europe and most of Asia. The place should be reported to whoever monitors the standards of hotels/motels in Australia as its an international embarrassment and potential health hazard. Only good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

Harsh review to respond to isn't it? As the owner of The Sundale Motel I take these comments very seriously as my personal and business reputation is at stake here. I would love to apologise for the disgusting room this traveller alledgedly encountered but I actually feel I am the one owed an apology in this instance for an unfair... More

Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Due to circumstances we took our chances and booked last minute at the Sundale. The room was very rundown, small and poorly maintained. It was a terrible room which looked nothing like the photos on the website. Various things, eg the flush mechanism on the toilet, the venetian blind and the kitchen light were either broken or not working reliably.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing The Sundale Motel and rating our Location, Sleep Quality and Cleanliness as acceptable. We do agree that finding a room on the Gold Coast at the last minute in peak Christmas School holiday times for a single night without a reservation can be exceptionally difficult. The Sundale Motel has a convenient 24 hour online booking service... More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Just stayed at the Sundale Motel. Has been freshly painted but not worth $150.00 a night at any time. It's advertised price at the entrance of $89.00 is a realistic figure. Our son stayed at the Vibe Hotel, 21st. floor for $160.00.In our room there was no A/C, no wardrobe, no bedhead, no box of tissues, poor quality towels, no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cairns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

good spot close to the pub easy walk to shops walk over to the broadwater for a swim with the kids. More helpfull and pleasant than the joint that mucked up our holiday booking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

Hello Marc J, Happy travellers are what we are aiming for so thank you for taking the time to tell us about your journey and the good time you had here at the Sundale Motel Southport. Yes, it is an easy walk over to the wonderful Broadwater Parklands and best of all it is FREE fun for the kids! There... More

Gold Coast
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is incredible value. Yes it is a cheap motel. But for around $50 a night you can get a beer out of the fridge, sit on the balcony overlooking the palms and pool, and you are on the Gold Coast. Water is hot, toilet seat stays up, TV's digital, and the people are very friendly and helpful. What more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

Hello Chris P, Thank you for taking the time to review my motel. We have enjoyed your company over the last few weeks and I'm glad that our weekly rate fitted with your budget while you worked here in Southport. I really do appreciate you taking the time to drop me a line to let me know we are getting... More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011 via mobile

The owner or staff whoever the man there was very rude not welcoming at all when you are checking in. If you love giant cockroaches walking in the bathroom and spiders in bed room it's great!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SundaleMotel, Owner at Sundale Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ngima, Overall it seems that you were satisfied with our location on the Gold Coast and value for money here in Southport but I am truly sorry to see that your stay at the Sundale was spoilt by a spider/cockroach seeking shelter from the rainy weather we've been experiencing. I certainly understand how you must have felt to come... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sundale Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sundale Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundale Motel

Address: 20 Queen Street, Southport, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sundale Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundale Motel Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable and Convenient Accommodation located in the bustling Southport Business Hub. Family Priced Dining, Entertainment and Shopping just a stroll away at the amazing Australia Fair Shopping Center. Close to Public Transport. Convenient for Eye Surgeon, all Specialist Health and Dental plus Gold Coast Hospital. Best Accommodation for Sports and Clubs including Southport RSL,Gold Coast Turf Club,Southport Yacht Club, Queen Street Tennis Club and Southport Pool - all moments away. Walk to family entertainmet free at Broadwater Family Park and Wetlands. Easy Access to all major Theme Parks including Seaworld 10 minutes and Dreamworld, Movieworld and WetnWild under 30 minutes. Central Surfers Paradise Night Life and Main Beach Restaurnt Row a short Taxi ride. Located at the start line of the Gold Coast Marathon and close to V8 Super Cars. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sundale Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer