We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metro Hotel Ipswich International

Hotel website
Hotel deals
43 South Street (Cnr Foote Lane), Ipswich, Queensland 4305, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Hotel Ipswich International
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Metro Hotel Ipswich International
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    26
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
18
12
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Needed to stay overnight in Ipswich and wanted accommodation close to the railway station as with a fly in, fly out using the train from the Airport to Ipswich is less hassle than hiring a car and much cheaper than a taxi! The room I had was clean and spacious. The rate was economical, and yes it was 5 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights recently. We also stayed for 2 nights last year and found the room to be exceptional at that time. This time we were disappointed, we felt the standard had dropped in the twelve months. Staff were very pleasant and yes we managed to get a car park which was a worry off our minds.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

The hotel was conveniently located around the corner from the Civic Centre and only a few blocks from Coles, Hogs Breath Cafe and McDonalds. The room itself was generally clean and tidy with the exception of the desk chair that had chocolate on it (which went onto my daughter's clothes when she sat on it). Bathroom is a little small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
towermill, Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this review

Thanks for your review which I felt was quite balanced despite the issues you mention - I appreciate you pointing out the postives of the location, free wi fi, free parking and general facility and i regret you experienced the disappointemtns you did. However if they were typical of our product and service then we would never get to be... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

It was pleasant to find, during a recent trip to Ipswich, a reasonably pleasant and comfortable hotel within the confines of the city itself. On the basis of the standard of accommodation, service and facilities offered. I would rate this hotel at between 3.5 and 4 stars. Whilst it doesn't provide all of the "niceties" that a 5-star hotel does,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
towermill, Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this review

HI Ron. Thanks for that review, I'm glad your travels bring you into our area - we are indeed the only full service hotel in the city, as in 24 hour reception and restuarant and bar facilities- and also right just a short walk to other dining options in the top of town. We hope to see you again next... More 

Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Decided to stay at short notice as friends were already staying Many families were staying in this hotel for a dance competition so we decided to stay overnight too instead of driving back home Our friends had organised late checkouts for the next day. One was told an extra $70 til 3pm and the other was told free til 12... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

3 night stay. Room was large and the bed very comfortable. The bath was set a little high which causes difficulties if you have a bad back and knees. The room was clean with opening windows and views of the sunrise. Staff were friendly and helpful. The park next door was restful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

I travelled to Ipswich to attend a celebration and basically needed somewhere to lay me head for the night. I wasn't disappointed, very friendly and accommodating staff, free underground car parking, free wifi, compact but functional bathroom, room clean and modern, super comfy bed. Negatives...pump soap in the shower a nuisance to use without a shower puff, no air conditioning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

3 night stay. Smart and clean. Helpful and kind staff. Rooms are modern, but my bathroom was cramped. Difficult to squeeze past door to toilet. Walking distance to main strip of shops. A colleague had the buffet breakfast and said it was well below average (microwaved eggs). The hotel has a bar, but it didn't seem to be open at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
towermill, Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this review

Thanks for that feedback on your stay with us. I'm pleased that overall you found it suited your purpose. Our faciltiies are as you should expect in a venue of our standard and our location means that we are the only hotel in Ipswich that you can really comfortably stroll the shops and local galleries from. I am disappointed, as... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Hotel staff are nice there was many of us all staying in different rooms they all seemed clean our bed was comfy and the linen was fresh and new. The food was nice but a little pricey for dinner overall my wife and i were happy with our stay at the hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
towermill, General Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this review

Hi Ben. Thanks very much for the positive review. Picking up your point about the menu we have recently gone to a more qaulity dining option in the restruant, as Ipswich currently lacks anything of that nature. However for inhouse guests we also supplement that by offering a more relaxed bar menu or the in room dining options as well.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
2.2 mi away
Country Comfort Ipswich
Country Comfort Ipswich
#3 of 6 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Ipswich Serviced Apartments
10.3 mi away
Springfield Lakes Hotel
Springfield Lakes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Springfield
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
12.2 mi away
Mt Ommaney Hotel Apartments
Mt Ommaney Hotel Apartments
#95 of 161 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ipswich
BEST WESTERN Ipswich
#4 of 6 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay