We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Ipswich hotels

Metro Hotel Ipswich International

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   43 South Street (Cnr Foote Lane), Ipswich, Queensland 4305, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off Room Rate
Save Saved
You added Metro Hotel Ipswich International to your Saves list
Metro Hotel Ipswich International
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Ipswich
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
bellabrill28 Woombye, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (37)
  • Photos (36)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woombye, Australia
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just came back from Ipswich and weren't knowing how long we would be their and if we needed accommodation. After ringing around found the Metro to be affordable and across the road from where my husband needed to be for work. The first night we stayed in a twin room with our kids and didn't have the best sleep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Wedding party preperations and honeymoon. Put in a room with poor lighting so curtains needed to be opened. Room located in full sun so extremely hot and worse when getting prepared, ruined all our soft beautiful wedding shots as we couldn't go near the windows and harsh light was over everything. Asked for air con or fans, air conditioning set... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MetroIpswich, General Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this review

Tracy; it would be easy to think, reading your headline and review, that Metro Hotel Ipswich was in some way at fault regardng its Weddings & Events deprtment, and delivery of service. However this is unfortunately very mis-leading, as at no point did MHII ever contract to, or engage in co-ordinating, facilitating or in any way controling the plans and... More

Lowood, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a couple of nights at this hotel, they offered an excellent B&B rate with free parking... Our room on the 4th floor was quiet and well laid out with a comfortable Queen bed, the bathroom was a little small but quite functional, I personally hate showers over baths, but it was not a major problem...We ordered room service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MetroIpswich, Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback. As much as we appreciate the wraps you give the hotel I'm glad you also recommend the general area to people too. Ipswich is a great base for not just doing business but for but everything from winery tours to hot air ballooning - and happily we have packages to cover them all! Hope... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Clean, quiet and not too big, so staff friendly and remember you. Was in a studio on the top floor and the air conditioner was a shocker (fan seemed to be stuck on high and maintenance could not fix) Good food well priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Hotel is fine except it would be hard for an old person to get their leg into the very high bath to have a shower. I would prefer a shower recess. I had made a booking for 10 rooms at least one month before and sent a note to everyone to say they were with our group when they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Maclean NSW
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Metro is in the middle of the city and is very convenient to ... everywhere actually. Just be careful of the one way streets getting to it. They're everywhere too. When the unfriendly woman at the counter tells you to go down the side lane to reach the underground car park she literally means go out the drive and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mount Isa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I'll start at the end and work back from there. The breakfast was excellent and great value. My partner ordered eggs Benedict for $13.50 (!!) and it was a huge serve with home made, that's right, *home made* hollandaise sauce. I was very jealous but my delicious salmon and asparagus omelet was a satisfactory substitute. The staff were pleasant and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was back in my hometown for a three-day weekend to attend a reunion. I travelled alone and wanted a central spot. The Metro was perfect. It was quiet and extremely convenient to town, everything you need is within an easy walk. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. There are a few niggles such as pump pack soap... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Rooms are very clean and modern. Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. Walking distance to excellent restaurants and attractions. Bed was comfortable. My wife and I would definitely stay again when traveling to Ipswich.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The problem with the Metro is its location - Ipswich. This is really an outer suburb of brisbane trying desperately to be a city but the reality is that outside of business hours no-one is there. The place is a ghost town with the old vim and vigour of the city centre (I grew up there 40 years ago) given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ted4305, Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you choose Metro Hotel Ipswich International while you were in Ipswich. We are always grateful when guests take the time to share feedback. I will ensure the team get your views on what they control the service and quality at the the Hotel. When you do need to return be assured a friendly welcome awaits... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Metro Hotel Ipswich International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Metro Hotel Ipswich International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Ipswich International

Address: 43 South Street (Cnr Foote Lane), Ipswich, Queensland 4305, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Greater Brisbane > Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metro Hotel Ipswich International 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Metro Hotel Ipswich International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (14)
View from room (1)
Bathroom (2)
Room/suite (2)
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (23)
Room/suite (11)
Dining (5)
Hotel & grounds (4)
View from room (1)
Other (2)


Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Metro Hotel Ipswich International is located right in the heart of the Ipswich CBD. The Hotel’s central location provides an excellent base for visitors to this beautiful city and is in close proximity to such local attractions as the Queensland Raceway, Willowbank Raceway and the Ipswich Turf Club. The Metro Hotel Ipswich International is also only 40km from the Brisbane CBD allowing easy travel to and from Brisbane City itself.We are a 4 1/2 star, seven storey property set overlooking one of the pristine parklands that Ipswich is proud to boast, offering 97 luxury Accommodation Rooms, consisting of One Bedroom Apartments, spa suites, Superior and Deluxe guest rooms, 7 first class Wedding & Conference Rooms and an unforgettable gourmet dining experience at our “Platform 9” a-la-carte Restaurant, open for Breakfast and Dinner daily.Adjoining the main restaurant is a stylish lounge and bar, perfect for drinks after work, entertaining clients or pre-dinner drinks.Our Hotel features lift access to all floors from Reception and we also have several rooms with disabled access and facilities. ... more   less 
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer