We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Agnes Water accommodations

1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat

2694 Roundhill Rd, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
Hotel amenities
1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat to your Saves list
78%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Sarah S Rainbow Beach, Australia
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    33
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
3
29
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Rainbow Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the hostel for two weeks after extending from one nigh, it is a laid back place where the staff were more than happy to help, the receptionists helped plan the rest of our trip in Australia. The hostel was out of the way but there were shuttle buss's going to and from town which were free. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Loved my time hear at the hostle. The place lovely and spacious with large grounds to have your own space. Kept very clean by friendly and helpful staff. Receptionist very helpfull in planning travel and always a beautiful bar maid to serve you a drink. Only regreat was that I couldn't stay longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here 1 night with a group of friends. The staff were extremely helpful with advice, and it was a really awesome place to relax. Rooms were clean and neat. Secluded backpackers with an awesome vibe!

Was this review helpful? Yes
landsborough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great atmosphere. We stayed here for the weekend and the staff were GREAT. Very helpful. There was a shuttle going to town/beach all the time. Would definitely recommend them. If you are travelling with premier bus then i would stay with southern cross becuase they pick you up at the bus stop out of town for a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really lovely hostel, really really clean and well kept. All the staff are lovely and look after you. Rooms are nice and spacious and you have your own toilet and shower in the room. Free shuttle bus into town every hour and help you book any trips you need if your not sure what to do in Agnes water. Love... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Osaka, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights here and it was a lovely place to relax and regroup after camping on Fraser Island. The pool and communal areas were well-designed, lovely and spacious and the free breakfast was basic but sufficient and much appreciated. The courtesy bus to the Agnes Water junction worked well, but it was a long way to reach Town... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

1770 Soutgern Cross We stayed at this hostel mainly because we were on the 2.15AM Premier bus and needed a transfer from the turn off road to Agnes. This costs $30 for a return which was a reasonable price considering the time. However the hostel itself was very disappointing for a few reasons: We were booked into the wrong room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lisa c, Manager at 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We do of course welcome all reviews however I would like to explain why and how our hostel runs the way it does. The reason why you were moved after your first night is because you arrived by premier at 2:15 in the middle of the night. We always put premier guests into a... More

Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

On arriving into the grounds, we had a bumpy arrival! There is a dip at the entrance and further in! The purpose no doubt is to slow traffic down so it certainly achieved that! However, this can not be good for any car! Had booked a double room! When we arrived, we were told that our booking had been altered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lisa c, Manager at 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Kerry, Thank you for your honest review. I would just like to explain why we operate the way we do. The speed bump that we have on the drive way is of course to slow vehicles down as we have dogs on site that have been hit by cars going too fast through the property on a number of... More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Loved this place! For our trip up the coast, we had prebooked double rooms the whole way up. We arrived to southern cross retreat, we were brought to our room.....it was gorgeous! So clean and big, it was more like our own cabin. We had a tv, fridge and en suite, the shower was the best shower we had the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Agnes Water, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Me and my travelmate came to Agnes Water by accident and so we decided to stay for only 2 nights and then move on...it turned out to be 4 awesome weeks at Southern Cross, which is actually said enough! The place is so beautiful and chilled, we totally fell in love with it! It is a pretty huge area with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat

Address: 2694 Roundhill Rd, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat