We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Agnes Water accommodations

1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat

2694 Roundhill Rd, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat to your Saves list
1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
78%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014
max k Agnes Water, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (140)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    31
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
3
28
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

1770 Soutgern Cross We stayed at this hostel mainly because we were on the 2.15AM Premier bus and needed a transfer from the turn off road to Agnes. This costs $30 for a return which was a reasonable price considering the time. However the hostel itself was very disappointing for a few reasons: We were booked into the wrong room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arriving into the grounds, we had a bumpy arrival! There is a dip at the entrance and further in! The purpose no doubt is to slow traffic down so it certainly achieved that! However, this can not be good for any car! Had booked a double room! When we arrived, we were told that our booking had been altered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lisa c, Manager at 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Kerry, Thank you for your honest review. I would just like to explain why we operate the way we do. The speed bump that we have on the drive way is of course to slow vehicles down as we have dogs on site that have been hit by cars going too fast through the property on a number of... More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Loved this place! For our trip up the coast, we had prebooked double rooms the whole way up. We arrived to southern cross retreat, we were brought to our room.....it was gorgeous! So clean and big, it was more like our own cabin. We had a tv, fridge and en suite, the shower was the best shower we had the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Agnes Water, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Me and my travelmate came to Agnes Water by accident and so we decided to stay for only 2 nights and then move on...it turned out to be 4 awesome weeks at Southern Cross, which is actually said enough! The place is so beautiful and chilled, we totally fell in love with it! It is a pretty huge area with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We loved our stay here. The location itself is pretty poor, not close to anything at all, although they do have a regular free shuttle bus. However, the hostel itself had enough entertainment to keep you occupied and was looovely. They have lots of free stuff which was much appreciated- aka. free very quick internet, cinema room with long list... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend were here for 3 nights, we are travelling in a camper and the $10 pp per night to use the facilities was a bargain. Lovely gardens to chill in, swimming pool, pool table, table football, table tennis, what more do you need! They are just starting up a new activity, where you can make you're own... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We booked over the phone for a double/cabin, lucky we had bedding because there was none in the room, and no one informed us. It looked nice at the first glace and the view outside was nice, although there was a progressive smell coming from the bathroom, the smell of Septic toilet that lingered in the bedroom. Not only did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

It's an amazing place. I styed there only two nights and I must say that this was one of the best hostels in Australia The staff is very openminded and friendly. Moreover this hostel looks like a little village. On the other hand it's far away from the beach, but the hostel provides free shuttle during the day All in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

‪We came here for 3 nights, when we arrived the staff took are gear to our room, and made us feel like we are in an hotel. The staff was really friendly and helped us a lot! Even took us to the city to buy food when it wasn't the shuttle hours ! There's a shuttle bus during the day.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
48 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed here two nights and it was great. The rooms are actually cabins, with only 4 people in each and en suite bathrooms. The place was 80% clean I would say. I was scared when I realised it was a nomads but it pleasantly surprised me. The linen is nice and clean and you can hire blankets as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat, responded to this review

thanks for your review. so glad you enjoyed your stay here. would love to here your feedback on the 80% clean when you stayed so we can get on top of the cleaning staff. we pride ourselves on 100% clean at all times. we are only a nomad affiliate hostel, not owned by nomads . we are actually family built... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat

Address: 2694 Roundhill Rd, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and experience for yourself, a resort style hostel with a Club Med feel! Get comfy in our large 4-6 share ensuite dorms that wont break your budget, or pamper yourself in our private deluxe double rooms with ensuite, TV, DVD & fridge. Dorms & doubles with shared facilities also available. Huge common area with Digital TV, Ping pong, Fuseball, Pool table, boards games + book exchange.We have a swimming pool with elephant fountains perfect for cooling off after a hot day at the beach. Hammocks to chill out with a good book and lots of under-cover areas to get out of the sun or rain. The resort is set on 16 acres of land with a pretty little lake that has a jetty a free paddle boat, horses grazing in the paddocks and loads of tropical gardens to stroll through, perfect for nature lovers. Lots of areas for a bit of meditation or yoga as the sun is rising or setting or a game of football, volley ball or cricket. During your stay why not treat yourself to a relaxing massage or beauty treatment in our "Healing Hut". (extra special prices for our guests)Our on site bar "Karma bar" with super cheap drinks and beer garden surrounds the pool area and is perfect for the afternoon drink to quench your thirst after you arrive home from any of the amazing tours Agnes / 1770 has to offer. Free Breakfast Free Tea & Coffee all day every day!Free Motel Quality Linen.Free DVD hire. Free Hoola Hoops.Free Courtesy Shuttle to beach + shops (3 minute drive)Free pickup for the Greyhound bus service* FREE 24 hour internet Cafe ANDWI FI !! and a cinema room with a selection of over 300 free DVDs!!We believe as does Lonely Planet 2010 and 2009 \' Our Pick and Highly Recommended that we have something pretty special here at Southern Cross Backpackers + We want to share it with YOU! Expect the best in service. Our Motto LIVE IN THE DREAM! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer