We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1770 Southern Cross Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
2694 Roundhill Rd, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia (Formerly 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat)
Special Offer
Contact us for BEST RATE
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
Rate this Hotel

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    44
    26
    14
    16
See reviews for
4
39
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Very clean Hostel with ensuit bathrooms which is nice. Friendly, relaxed atmosphere and a really beautiful garden around the Hostel with a small lake. I also do really recommend to do the ScooterRoo Tour, good fun!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had problems with my booking at this hostel but will attempt to write a fair, accurate review. Firstly when I rang to reconfirm my booking. They had no record of me. It took several attempts for them to find me...because I was under my last name. Not sure why this was a problem but was relieved to find my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

I feel so sad for you sweetheart. I have seen your profile and you must be having such a horrible time travelling alone which enables you to spend so much time complaining about trivial matters. In the time you wasted writing all your sad reviews, you missed out on so many precious moments actually enjoying the experience of travelling. So... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were really clean, spacious and it was so good to have our own fridge in the room. The kitchen was spotless!! The staff were nice. They run a free shuttle bus to the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely honest review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are a family owned hostel. My husband and I built this place from the ground up so as you can imagine, it is our pride and joy and we love putting smiles on peoples faces. Enjoy the rest of your travels. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The best backpackers I've stayed in whilst being in Australia. It's like a little paradise. Great atmosphere. Really clean rooms and public areas are cleaned daily. The only negatives are that they could do with some new mattresses because as soon as you sit on them you're down to the bed frame and the toilets could do with a swill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So glad you thought our hostel was Awesome. Makes all our hard work so worthwhile. I am not sure about the mattress as we have recently replaced all the mattresses in the hostel. We do have sign in all our rooms that say, if you have any problem with your room, please report it to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can't believe this hostel was recommended to me by a friend. Sure, it's pretty on the property and they have some peace and quiet on such a big land. But they're a 40 MINUTE WALK out of town, you you can wait THREE HOURS for one of their shuttle buses. They have no laundry facilities and the kitchen is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

SERIOUSLY!!!! We find you very disappointing. You just said you stayed at one of our competitor hostels for 2 weeks. GAVE YOURSELF AWAY ON THAT ONE MATE. Everything you have said in this review is absolute rubbish. For a start,we are 1.9 klms from town which takes 3 minutes to drive and 20 MINUTES to walk. Our free shuttle buses... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The free Wifi, breakfast, shuttlebus and sausages are amazing, but that's not what makes this place so great. Everyone is just superfriendly, you get to sleep in bungalows in the huge garden and there are dogs roaming around as well. You can just chill in your hammock or decide to do a cheap surflesson for just 17$! There is also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review. Sounds like you totally got what this place is about. To think that when we bought this land back in 2001 it was just an uncleared bush block. It is such a good feeling for us to see people enjoying the beautiful space we have created. Having Scooter Roo Tours on the property is such... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely beautiful location and surroundings. I think they said it was 16 acres! A little bit out of town but there is a free courtesy shuttle that goes regularly into town. Rooms are nice and clean and there is seating areas outside each little cabin which is really nice. Only drawback with the rooms was that there was no air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Reading your review made my heart sing. Thank you so much. I think it is because we cleared the 16 acres of land, planted all the gardens and designed an built the hostel ourselves, is what makes it so different to most other hostels. Unfortunately you were here in the middle of one of the worst heat waves we have... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

The hostel is pretty far away from everything, although it does run a shuttle bus to town it's still pretty inconvenient. The rooms were fine but we were informed there would be no key for the room and there was no locker. The kitchen was ok but pretty grimy and a tad small. On a positive note, the beds were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It makes me sad to hear that you would not recommend us. Obviously you were here in wet weather so you not have had the chance to enjoy our beautiful outdoors and would have missed out on tours that would have been cancelled due to the rain. Most of our guests love the fact that we... More 

Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Me and my partner arrived at 1770 on the 14th Feb tired from our journey from Hervery Bay. On arrival, we were asked to provide identification to which they wrote our passport numbers down on the back of a piece of paper, then then ask for my card details as a key deposit to which they again simply wrote onto... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would like to address your concerns. 1. The pieces of paper you are referring to, are check in slips on which guest information is kept. We take passport numbers as a form of ID and credit card details in case of any damage caused by the guest. Larger hostels keep the same information on... More 

Cairns Region, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Only major issue was that I'd booked the 6am shuttle bus to the greyhound stop for the 6:30 greyhound bus (you have to pay for this one too), me and another girl were waiting from 5:45 for the shuttle (told to get there 15 minutes early) the driver didn't turn up until 6:25 then had to speed to the bus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It seems that you enjoyed your stay here and had no complaints except for the shuttle bus and the mattress. Firstly I would like to apologize for our shuttle bus driver being late that morning. He was not well and slept through his alarm. However our manager did get you to the greyhound on time as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question