We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1770 Southern Cross Backpackers

Hotel website
2694 Roundhill Rd, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia (Formerly 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat)
Special Offer
Contact us for BEST RATE
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    114
    47
    27
    15
    20
See reviews for
4
46
72
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (223)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 5 nights in total and enjoyed the chilled feel to this unique resort style place. It has great little cabin rooms with clean shared bathroom and the beds were good. The facilities were pretty decent and the free breakfast was a simple but good. The hostel had a pretty chilled vibe so no partying late into the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is a resort style hostel, which is nice. Beds were horrible though, but what made my experience there a negatieve one is the $5 day stay. Where you can store your luggage for free and stay in the hostel untill the Greyhound leaves in any other hostel I've stayed on the eastcoast, here they ask $5 for free(?)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

I am sorry if you felt that you were treated unfairly by our staff but you have to understand the reason that we charge the $5.00 day stay. Our check out time, is the standard check out time which is 10.00am. You then have an option to leave on our free shuttle bus. If we allowed every guest to stay... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly and helpful staff...great location with all one needs. And very affordable accommodation, even a place for campers or those with a campervan etc...just a short walk or drive to an amazing beach....maybe the best hostel in town. Did I say the staff are great?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Noosa, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off all, I have to say I'm in love with this place! I had plenty of stuff to do on this hostel! They do yoga lessons almost every day for only $5, for one hour witch is very nice and relaxing! I have also seen some of the staff skating around the property witch looks very fun, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Doesn't feel like a backpackers at all more like a hoilday resort. They don't try and sell you deals or push you to drink/play games just a really chilled friendly eco friendly place. Bring a jumper for the evenings. Lush place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here 4 nights to relax after amazing days at Fraser Island. Amazing atmosphere at hostel, lovely people working here and care about you, not about the money. It is a 5 minute drive to Agnes Water and the beach, but they offer a free shuttle every 2 hours. Also every morning free breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came for 1 night but staying longer as we enjoyed it so much! They have free wifi a games area and bar. Would recommend to anyone staying in their accomodation or a camper van. They also have a shuttle service to the nearest pub!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely spot for our camper van and the other accommodation is cool too! Really friendly staff and a brill place to meet other. The Scooter Roo tour is a must and leaves from this hostel! Will definitely be coming back here on the way back down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were welcomed here by a lovely women on reception who filled us in on all to do at the hostel. We had an organised scooter roo tour planned which ran from the hostel and was brilliant! They offered $3 burgers in the evening which was fantastic value for money- even with the secret ingredient! The hostel is clean in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in this hostel for 3 nights while visiting 1770 Agnes Waters. We were picked up from where our bus had left us off by a free shuttle service. The driver Daniella was super friendly and helpful. When we arrived we checked in with no issues. The receptionist and her sister were really nice and welcoming. They carried our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Sorry that you think that you could not see yourself staying here again. That's so sad. The mice situation that you are referring to was at the time being sorted. I organized the traps myself. Because we are located on such a huge property and surrounded by hundreds of acres of other large properties, there are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
2.0 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge
0.7 mi away
LaLaLand Eco Holiday Retreat Agnes Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
#6 of 17 in Agnes Water
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Edge On Beaches
The Edge On Beaches
#3 of 17 in Agnes Water
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachside Backpacker 1770
Beachside Backpacker 1770
#13 of 17 in Agnes Water
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay