We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1770 Southern Cross Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
2694 Roundhill Rd, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia (Formerly 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat)
Special Offer
Contact us for BEST RATE
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    45
    26
    14
    16
See reviews for
4
39
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (200)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had a great stay in 1770. I got picked up from the Greyhound which i thought was handy and good service. the hostel was a little bit outside the town center but that kinda made it very special. Its a huge property with lovely areas to chill and relax. I got greeted by very helpful staff and could check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind and honest review. I see that you have read through some of our past reviews and understand what we have to deal with some times. You have totally lifted my spirit. I just wish I could be up there every night chatting to our guests, as so many love hearing about the history... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hello I know this is very late as I stayed here somewhat two years ago but I have only just seen your response to my '4 our of 5' rating I gave you where we said we enjoyed our stay and I simply stated it was a shame that rude staff members make the trip dissatisfying. I couldn't figure out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Darl, thanks for your response to our response of two years ago. WHOOO guess this one tops the Trip Advisor reputation that anyone can just jump on here whenever and say whatever they want. Seems like its becoming a bit like a facebook page. haha I really am glad though that you brought this to our attention. Our manager... More 

Agnes Water, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

READ THE WHOLE REVIEW IF CONSIDERING TO STAY HERE: I have stayed in hostels all over Asia and Australia and this is the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. So many hidden charges, 3 km away from anything literally in the middle of no where. I highly recommend that you do not stay at this hostel if you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

First of all I would like to point out that we know who you are and a mail out has been sent out to hostels all around Australia about your abusive behavior. I have spoken to our receptionists about this matter as well as our manager and I know that you threatened to trash our hostel on every review site... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very clean Hostel with ensuit bathrooms which is nice. Friendly, relaxed atmosphere and a really beautiful garden around the Hostel with a small lake. I also do really recommend to do the ScooterRoo Tour, good fun!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. So wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful hostel and also had a great time on the Scooter Roo Tour. It is so nice to receive lovely honest reviews such as yours. It means the world to us. Enjoy every moment of your travels. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

I had problems with my booking at this hostel but will attempt to write a fair, accurate review. Firstly when I rang to reconfirm my booking. They had no record of me. It took several attempts for them to find me...because I was under my last name. Not sure why this was a problem but was relieved to find my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

I feel so sad for you sweetheart. I have seen your profile and you must be having such a horrible time travelling alone which enables you to spend so much time complaining about trivial matters. In the time you wasted writing all your sad reviews, you missed out on so many precious moments actually enjoying the experience of travelling. So... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were really clean, spacious and it was so good to have our own fridge in the room. The kitchen was spotless!! The staff were nice. They run a free shuttle bus to the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely honest review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are a family owned hostel. My husband and I built this place from the ground up so as you can imagine, it is our pride and joy and we love putting smiles on peoples faces. Enjoy the rest of your travels. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

The best backpackers I've stayed in whilst being in Australia. It's like a little paradise. Great atmosphere. Really clean rooms and public areas are cleaned daily. The only negatives are that they could do with some new mattresses because as soon as you sit on them you're down to the bed frame and the toilets could do with a swill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So glad you thought our hostel was Awesome. Makes all our hard work so worthwhile. I am not sure about the mattress as we have recently replaced all the mattresses in the hostel. We do have sign in all our rooms that say, if you have any problem with your room, please report it to... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 via mobile

The free Wifi, breakfast, shuttlebus and sausages are amazing, but that's not what makes this place so great. Everyone is just superfriendly, you get to sleep in bungalows in the huge garden and there are dogs roaming around as well. You can just chill in your hammock or decide to do a cheap surflesson for just 17$! There is also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review. Sounds like you totally got what this place is about. To think that when we bought this land back in 2001 it was just an uncleared bush block. It is such a good feeling for us to see people enjoying the beautiful space we have created. Having Scooter Roo Tours on the property is such... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Absolutely beautiful location and surroundings. I think they said it was 16 acres! A little bit out of town but there is a free courtesy shuttle that goes regularly into town. Rooms are nice and clean and there is seating areas outside each little cabin which is really nice. Only drawback with the rooms was that there was no air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Reading your review made my heart sing. Thank you so much. I think it is because we cleared the 16 acres of land, planted all the gardens and designed an built the hostel ourselves, is what makes it so different to most other hostels. Unfortunately you were here in the middle of one of the worst heat waves we have... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

The hostel is pretty far away from everything, although it does run a shuttle bus to town it's still pretty inconvenient. The rooms were fine but we were informed there would be no key for the room and there was no locker. The kitchen was ok but pretty grimy and a tad small. On a positive note, the beds were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1770southerncross, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It makes me sad to hear that you would not recommend us. Obviously you were here in wet weather so you not have had the chance to enjoy our beautiful outdoors and would have missed out on tours that would have been cancelled due to the rain. Most of our guests love the fact that we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question