We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1770 Southern Cross Backpackers

Hotel website
2694 Roundhill Rd, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia (Formerly 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat)
Special Offer
Contact us for BEST RATE
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    117
    48
    28
    17
    21
See reviews for
4
48
74
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We've stayed in plenty of hostels so far this trip, but this one has to have been my favourite. Take out the fact that there's not actually much to do in Agnes Water/1770, you've got a fab hostel! Arriving on the greyhound we were met by a free shuttle that took us back to the hostel. We were checked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel had lots of character and the staff were very friendly and helpful so there is definitely potential here! Beware of the extra costs such as the early shuttle bus to meet the only greyhound bus going south and also it costs to store luggage here. The location isn't great as it is a bit outside town and shuttles... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am so glad that you thought that our hostel had lots of character and our staff were friendly. I am finding it hard to understand though how we get conflicting comments about the mattresses. Some say they had a great nights sleep and then we get comments like... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked a four share and arrived at 2am in the morning. The shuttle (15dollars) took us to the hostel and they all put us in the same room (6 share) for the night. I understand that its not possible to let us in our rooms at that time, but then you should have charged for a six share.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

I am so sorry, but I had to laugh when I read this. You booked the premier bus which as you would have been told by your agent, does not come into Agnes Water. You get dropped off 35 klms away in the middle of no-where at 2.00am, unlike the Greyhound that brings you into town at 7.10pm. The $15... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not sure why people rave about this place! We thought it was pants (stronger language would be used). Major issues: -In general the staff were extremely unhelpful. - It was absolutely freezing, the blankets looked rank and were apparently as valuable as your passport. Everywhere else we have stayed in Australia a blanket is not surprisingly included in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

OMG what can I say. So just because you had to pay $3.00 for us to drive you to the Greyhound pick up point at 6.00am, you had a major argument with our staff and decided to write this trash review. I just find it so hard to understand people like you in this world. I had a chat to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights after a friend reccomended it to us, the staff were all so friendly and made us feel very welcome the whole time. It has the best vibe and is so relaxed with a professional feel to it. The wifi is free and actually worked and free breakfast! The staff threw bonfires... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks so much !! sounds like you two totally got a dose of the beautiful vibe of this place. So glad you had an such a great experience. Spread the love!! Enjoy every moment of your backpacking experience. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay in this eco friendly hostel. The cabins are large and very clean. It is located outside the town but there is a complimentary shuttle bus running every hour. The only draw back to this hostel is that they don't sell food during the day and there is no laundry facilities. Other than that its a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful little piece of paradise. We do have free breakfast every morning and cheap Wood fired Pizza or burgers are available to purchase in the evenings. I so hope you did not miss out on these. Some people just choose to buy food... More 

Agnes Water, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is amazing! Looks like a small paradise, plenty of hammock to chill during the day and read a book in peace. The rooms are clean and bathrooms too. The staff is amazing especially the bus drivers who are really friendly and helpful. We did a big bonfire, they're were people playing guitar and singing, it was great fun.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your amazing review. So glad you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. One thing we love about the winter time is our big bonfires in the evenings. Thanks for choosing Southern Cross for your stay in Agnes. Spread the love and enjoy the rest of your travels. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have to admit, the scooter roo was amazing and I highly recommend doing that. Otherwise not impressed by this hostel or it's service. I had to be on a Greyhound bus at 6.30 am. The hostel provides a shuttle bus, but makes you pay 3 dollars for this 2 minute drive. To let you know about this shuttle they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Sorry you were not impressed that you had to pay a whopping $3 for the shuttle bus to town and thanks for pointing out that we made a whole $18. When you reach an age where you can understand how a business works and that it actually costs money to operate one, you will understand that the overall cost of... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Stayed here for 5 nights in total and enjoyed the chilled feel to this unique resort style place. It has great little cabin rooms with clean shared bathroom and the beds were good. The facilities were pretty decent and the free breakfast was a simple but good. The hostel had a pretty chilled vibe so no partying late into the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Sounds as though you really enjoyed our chilled out vibe. Don't worry, you didn't miss out on any late night venues in the town, cause there isn't any, except for the local pub on a Friday or Saturday night and they have their own free shuttle anyways. Our $5.00 day stay which includes all the hostel... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

The hostel is a resort style hostel, which is nice. Beds were horrible though, but what made my experience there a negatieve one is the $5 day stay. Where you can store your luggage for free and stay in the hostel untill the Greyhound leaves in any other hostel I've stayed on the eastcoast, here they ask $5 for free(?)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

I am sorry if you felt that you were treated unfairly by our staff but you have to understand the reason that we charge the $5.00 day stay. Our check out time, is the standard check out time which is 10.00am. You then have an option to leave on our free shuttle bus. If we allowed every guest to stay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
2.0 mi away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge
0.7 mi away
LaLaLand Eco Holiday Retreat Agnes Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Edge On Beaches
The Edge On Beaches
#3 of 17 in Agnes Water
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
Agnes Water Beach Holidays
#5 of 17 in Agnes Water
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beachside Backpacker 1770
Beachside Backpacker 1770
#12 of 17 in Agnes Water
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay