We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whiteleaf

Croyde, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1PN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Whiteleaf
View Map
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 1 night. We had room 3 which was adequate however has a connecting door to another room. Let's just say you can hear everything inc what's happening in the bathroom. So if you like your privacy I wouldn't reccomend. I noticed a comment in another review about the house smelling of cooking oil, this is most certainly the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night just before our wedding, upon arrival we were upgraded to a larger room for free because they knew we were getting married, which we thought was really lovely of them. The room was large with a four poster bed, 2 single beds, put up beds in the wardrode and even a spare mattress under... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
plympton ,plymouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We came to Croyde on Thursday and booked into the Whiteleaf b n b for the night.The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable.The en-suite was small, there was a balcony to sit out on. The room was a little cluttered. The breakfast was very nice. Sue and Dave are very friendly. The price was a little bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Stayed here for two nights as we were going to a wedding we had phoned the day before to see if we could check in early so that we could change before the wedding so arrived at 11.00am and they already had the room ready which was very nice of them. The breakfast is great a big choice and all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falmouth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

The Whitleaf is a lovely detached house on the edge of Croyde. It is a reasonable walk to the restaurants and the beach (even through the short cut) and as parking in the centre of Croyde is impossible/expensive, you do need to be mobile. Our room was of a reasonable B&B size with a good en suite. Sue was friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Sue And David - great hosts, made their home our home for a few days and nothing was too much trouble, highly recommend to anyone, perfect hosts, see you again very soon, our room was just perfect, Gary and Kim

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here with my partner (beach volleyball partner, that is) for the annual king and queen of the beach tournament. Arrival was easy as it is situated just before the main road from Barnstaple narrows in the centre of Croyde. With just a few hundred yards to the centre and a path leading straight down to the beach starting right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a large room with four poster bed and two singles, which was very clean. There were some bits for children to play with. The bathroom was big with separate shower and bath. Again clean. Unfortunately, the decor was dated and the house smelt of cooking oil. We'd also prefer duvets but had sheets and blankets instead. Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
s r, Owner at The Whiteleaf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, you are correct we are not a hotel but a guest house. We are pleased you liked the room and our high standard of cleanliness however I would like to respond to some issues you have raised - the childrens bed had duvets and if requested we are happy to provide for other beds, also... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just had 5 days here and couldn't have been more relaxing. Sue & Dave,the owners, were great.They couldn't do enough for us. Sue supplied us with maps and information about the area. The choice of food at breakfast was enormous. Really enjoyed our stay.Would defineately go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Probably best to regard The Whiteleaf as a B and B rather than a Hotel, as it wasn't quite what we were expecting. You'll find Sue is a friendly and welcoming host, and the option for an evening meal is useful, as Croyde is not a large place and consequently doesn't have many places to eat out. The dining option... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
0.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
3.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#2 of 5 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
3.3 mi away
Europa Park
Europa Park
#12 of 13 in Woolacombe
3.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sunnymeade Country House
Sunnymeade Country House
#12 of 22 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities