We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whiteleaf

Croyde, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1PN, England
The Whiteleaf
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Oxford
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here with my partner (beach volleyball partner, that is) for the annual king and queen of the beach tournament. Arrival was easy as it is situated just before the main road from Barnstaple narrows in the centre of Croyde. With just a few hundred yards to the centre and a path leading straight down to the beach starting right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a large room with four poster bed and two singles, which was very clean. There were some bits for children to play with. The bathroom was big with separate shower and bath. Again clean. Unfortunately, the decor was dated and the house smelt of cooking oil. We'd also prefer duvets but had sheets and blankets instead. Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
s r, Owner at The Whiteleaf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, you are correct we are not a hotel but a guest house. We are pleased you liked the room and our high standard of cleanliness however I would like to respond to some issues you have raised - the childrens bed had duvets and if requested we are happy to provide for other beds, also... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just had 5 days here and couldn't have been more relaxing. Sue & Dave,the owners, were great.They couldn't do enough for us. Sue supplied us with maps and information about the area. The choice of food at breakfast was enormous. Really enjoyed our stay.Would defineately go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Probably best to regard The Whiteleaf as a B and B rather than a Hotel, as it wasn't quite what we were expecting. You'll find Sue is a friendly and welcoming host, and the option for an evening meal is useful, as Croyde is not a large place and consequently doesn't have many places to eat out. The dining option... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed two nights recently in this very nice guesthouse. Sue and David were so friendly and helpful. Room was spotless, had tea/coffee etc all set out on nice tray. We had lovely little sun terrace which was great to sit outside and read a book. Bathroom was great, separate bath and shower also spotless with clean towels each day.The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel was fantastic! If there were more than 'five stars' this one would qualify. We only stayed one night, as we were walking the South West Coast Path, so we needed to move on the next morning. The price was a little more than we would normally pay for B&B and an evening meal but you certainly get what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
northampton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A very welcoming B&B with superb breakfasts! The Whiteleaf is a lovely place and the owners will do anything to help you. Our twin room was immaculately clean and very comfortable. There was a large bathroom with a bath and separate shower, plenty of storage space, a big tea tray with all sorts of drinks and a teapot, a fully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife & I had 5 nights at The Whiteleaf and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The room was very pleasant and always scrupulously clean and the outside sun-terrace gave a sense of space even if you didn't use it. The bed was the most comfortable we have slept in for years too ! Sue served the excellent breakfasts, which offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Whiteleaf on our first visit to Croyde for two nights. We can't praise this B&b enough, from the warm welcome given by Sue, the very nice room at the back of the property with a roof space area which we used in the late evening as it was very hot when we stayed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our family, (my wife, two teenage children and myself), stayed at The Whiteleaf for one week and found it has a great location being a reasonable walk between the beach and the village. The family room was a very good standard with a double bed, two single beds and en-suite. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice, plentiful, very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question