We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baggy Lodge

Croyde Bay, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1PA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Baggy Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

Stayed here as competition winners. According to our taxi driver the place had been recently refurbished... WOW! He was right. It's furnished, decorated to a very high standard. We stayed in the nicest of the three double rooms as it had the sea view, but having ad the opportunity to nosy around all three they were all pretty amazing with... More 

Helpful?
Thank DZ27
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

As surf accomodations go, this place is one of the best I've been to. The attention to detail (of the room), as well a the quality of the rental materials was excellent. Breakfast is simple, some toast, coffee and cereals. Only minor nitpick was the lunch, didn't really like it. Too bland.

Helpful?
Thank Bernd V
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Bernd V, thanks for your review. If you let me know what you had for lunch, I will try and un-bland it. Cheers Mike x More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

We arrived at Baggy Lodge to a very friendly, helpful Mike who was always in good spirits, even after falling out of the loft!! Gorgeous setting with a fabulous view across Croyde Bay. Lovely animals kicking about including Bagpuss the cat and Norman the sheep, both very affectionate and harmless. The surfing instructors themselves gave really good feedback on our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna M
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Anna. Hope to see you again soon. Mike x More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch before walking the coastal path to woolacombe. Two sandwiches, a beer and a wine came to over £20 which was a little steep I thought. Nice food though and friendly service. Could do with one more person serving though as, if someone orders a few coffees, the will be tied up for ages at the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFussyBristol
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review MrsFuzzyBristol, Glad you enjoyed most of it. A Beer a glass of wine and two kids sandwiches (we don't do adult size sandwiches) comes to £14.90. So it sounds like you were overcharged. If you would like to pop back in with you reciept we will refund you. Sorry, not sure what happened there. We always... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

I don't need to Write a review, just look at the way he(mike) responds to people that have stayed and given baggys constructive criticism. (Constructive criticism- is the process of offering valid and well-reasoned opinions about the work of others, usually involving both positive and negative comments, in a friendly manner rather than an oppositional one. The purpose of constructive... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank alexK7188YF
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Dear alexK7188YF, Sorry I am a bit confused! Is this review of our facilities or the service we offer? Or is it a rant about my method of responding on trip advisor? Perhaps there should be a separate review site for that activity. Hey! Also sorry that you accidentally parked right in front of our "NO PARKING - This access... More 

Worcester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

excellent budget (£33) accomodation a very short walk to the north end of the beach which apart from the bunk beds could be confused for a much more expensive hotel / B&B. In the day the properly doubles as a beach cafe, and has a view over the beach. Refurbished by the owner this has been finished to a high... More 

Helpful?
Thank cmoggy
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Cmoggy We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Mike x More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

Booked last minute here not knowing what to expect. The lodge itself is part of the main house and very clean and tidy. We had the Oyster Double room with ensuite which was idea. Tastefully decorated, gorgeous bathroom and very friendly staff. Made for a great weekend for me and the girlfriend. Make sure you say hello to Norman the... More 

Helpful?
Thank UncleTravelingMap
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Hi UncleTravellingMap, Glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon Mike x More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We stayed in the double room (Sunset) for a weekend. Room was modern but with nice authentic features. Location was great being 5 minutes from beach and lovely view overlooking the bay. We can't fault the service and the family run atmosphere was inviting. The on site surf school made for a seamless trip. Would recommend to those looking for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luke R
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for you review Luke, Hopefully we will see you again soon. Mike x More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Baggy Lodge very kindly let our JLR group use the cafe as a base and provided us with yummy food and excellent service all weekend! This really made the weekend as I felt really welcome and extremely well looked after! It was really enjoyable being able to all chill in the cafe playing cards over a hot chocolate and panini... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your Review Sophie. We look forward to you coming down again. Mike x More 

Dartmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Double Room was OK for 2-night stay but it faces onto blank wall opposite and was not tidied in any way during our stay. The wet room is badly designed and lighting for mirror quirky/useless. And DIY breakfast was non-existent at 8am - no milk for cereals, no bread for toast, except one mouldy white crust! No one around to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jon b
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Well Thanks for your review Jon b, But not sure what planet you are on! The main window looks across the lane and the sea can be seen left and right. The window you are referring to is just for additional light. I you look down the toilet pan, you can't quite see the sea either. The wet rooms are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
1.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
3.3 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 5 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
1.2 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities