We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baggy Lodge

Croyde Bay, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1PA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Baggy Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    28
    2
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
5
10
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Bristol
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped in for lunch before walking the coastal path to woolacombe. Two sandwiches, a beer and a wine came to over £20 which was a little steep I thought. Nice food though and friendly service. Could do with one more person serving though as, if someone orders a few coffees, the will be tied up for ages at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review MrsFuzzyBristol, Glad you enjoyed most of it. A Beer a glass of wine and two kids sandwiches (we don't do adult size sandwiches) comes to £14.90. So it sounds like you were overcharged. If you would like to pop back in with you reciept we will refund you. Sorry, not sure what happened there. We always... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't need to Write a review, just look at the way he(mike) responds to people that have stayed and given baggys constructive criticism. (Constructive criticism- is the process of offering valid and well-reasoned opinions about the work of others, usually involving both positive and negative comments, in a friendly manner rather than an oppositional one. The purpose of constructive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Dear alexK7188YF, Sorry I am a bit confused! Is this review of our facilities or the service we offer? Or is it a rant about my method of responding on trip advisor? Perhaps there should be a separate review site for that activity. Hey! Also sorry that you accidentally parked right in front of our "NO PARKING - This access... More 

Worcester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

excellent budget (£33) accomodation a very short walk to the north end of the beach which apart from the bunk beds could be confused for a much more expensive hotel / B&B. In the day the properly doubles as a beach cafe, and has a view over the beach. Refurbished by the owner this has been finished to a high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Cmoggy We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Mike x More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Booked last minute here not knowing what to expect. The lodge itself is part of the main house and very clean and tidy. We had the Oyster Double room with ensuite which was idea. Tastefully decorated, gorgeous bathroom and very friendly staff. Made for a great weekend for me and the girlfriend. Make sure you say hello to Norman the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Hi UncleTravellingMap, Glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon Mike x More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We stayed in the double room (Sunset) for a weekend. Room was modern but with nice authentic features. Location was great being 5 minutes from beach and lovely view overlooking the bay. We can't fault the service and the family run atmosphere was inviting. The on site surf school made for a seamless trip. Would recommend to those looking for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for you review Luke, Hopefully we will see you again soon. Mike x More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Baggy Lodge very kindly let our JLR group use the cafe as a base and provided us with yummy food and excellent service all weekend! This really made the weekend as I felt really welcome and extremely well looked after! It was really enjoyable being able to all chill in the cafe playing cards over a hot chocolate and panini... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your Review Sophie. We look forward to you coming down again. Mike x More 

Dartmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Double Room was OK for 2-night stay but it faces onto blank wall opposite and was not tidied in any way during our stay. The wet room is badly designed and lighting for mirror quirky/useless. And DIY breakfast was non-existent at 8am - no milk for cereals, no bread for toast, except one mouldy white crust! No one around to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Well Thanks for your review Jon b, But not sure what planet you are on! The main window looks across the lane and the sea can be seen left and right. The window you are referring to is just for additional light. I you look down the toilet pan, you can't quite see the sea either. The wet rooms are... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed at Baggys lodge on the recommendation of another friend who had recently visited and loved it. It certainly didn't disappoint! We stayed in one of the bunk rooms which for the price was a very high standard with ample space, comfy beds and a lovely bathroom. The location itself was perfect for exploring the local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Rosanagh. WE hope to see you again soon. Mike x More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

I stayed in one of the hostel rooms over the first May bank holiday, and it was exactly what I'd hoped. The room was clean, the bed comfy and I was very impressed with the bathroom, you don't normally get such high standards for a hostel room. The staff were all very friendly and made me feel welcome. I hired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Jenny. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Mike x More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

It's the best. Perfect location outside Croyde, hot showers and the best surf school on site (Lyndon Wake/Surfing Croyde Bay). Cannot recommend it more. For the price you will not find anything that comes close. Even the cat is class.. I kind of didn't want to write this because it's nice it's so non commercial, but then saw some reviews... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaggyLodge, Owner at Baggy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Queen P, Thanks for putting folks straight. The Lodge & Cafe is in part of my home in which we aim share our lives in a posh end Surf Lodge & Café, not a run of the mill B&B and Café. Mike x More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croyde
1.5 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
3.3 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#2 of 5 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Woolacombe
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 5 in Woolacombe
3.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
4.8 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities