We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
516 S. Hancock Street, South on US 1, Rockingham, NC 28379 (Formerly Murray Hill Motel)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    15
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
6
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

People generally only stay in Rockingham, NC because they have to. It is a gritty, seedy little town that has definitely seen better days. Most of the motels in Rockingham reflect the condition of the town - run down and pathetic. I had hoped this motel would be different - it wasn't. The property is in desperate need of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moundsville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this room by phone 20 minutes before our arrival late in the evening. We had been on the road all day long and decided we had to stop! I called a couple other places but no rooms were available. The lady who took our reservation was pleasant and polite...and we found her to be very sweet during our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We appreciate your compliments about the service. We are glad your stay was comfortable and as you must have noticed we are in process of renovations. We apologize for the cable issues you had to go through due to Time Warner Cable going digital. There are some issues we don't have control over but we try to provide our guests... More 

Rockingham, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked in and went to the room. One of the beds was like a see-saw. Looked under the bed to see if it could be fixed and apparently they need a new cleaning crew. Underneath was littered with a beer box and beer cans. Didn't even want to look any further, but for the price I guess it'll do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you took in reviewing us. Your suggestions are well taken and we are in process of changing our staff in housekeeping. We look forward to giving us an opportunity to accommodate you in future. More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

We were supposed to stay at this hotel and attend an event at Rickingham dragway. I was disappointed when we pulled up to the hotel. This hotel was I originally another hotel and was taken over by Americas Best Value. It is very old and much need of an update. We asked to see the room before paying and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We welcome our guests suggestions and comments. We thank you for taking time to review us even though you did not stay. That shows that you care and as you must have noticed the TVs are new and exterior painting is complete so slowly but renovations is in process and hopefully we might be able to accommodate you in future. More 

Rogers, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Best bang for your buck, especially if you are just looking for a place to crash for the night. Our room was clean and it was quiet, even on a Friday night. They take cash, which is nice. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We were having trouble finding a room so I called ahead to see if there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to review us and hope to see you soon. Best wishes. More 

Bath, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

My friend and I stayed two nights and had a very good experience. The room was clean and the staff was so helpful. Nice Mexican restaurant very close to the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. More 

South Daytona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

the properties clean the rooms are a little dated but very clean overall the helpfulness and quality of the staff was excellent. I left an expensive phone charger and they went out of their way to return it

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to review us. We are gradually renovating keeping in mind the new trend and expectations from our guests. We look forward to your visit again. Best wishes. More 

Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Well. The TVs were newer. That was nice. There wasn't much change though. I had read they were doing some renovations. They have some work in front of them if that is the case. We stayed in room 233 and the ceiling was falling. Two 8x4 sheets were sagging badly. The door closed and locked. But you could see clear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience you had at our hotel during our renovations. You are right, we are renovating one section at a time keeping in mind our guests's needs. Unfortunately, we were not able to satisfy you again. I did not see any complaints on your records here at check out. Most of the time, if any issues or... More 

Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

When we pulled back our bed there was hair all over the sheets! So nasty...also found hair in shower. Will never stay at America's Best Value again! Would not recommend to anyone. Wifi was free but connection was not good. Had flat screen TV's but picture was fuzzy on all stations. We put towels down on floor so we wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We, sincerely, apologize to you for the bad experience you had at our hotel. You are a valued guest and your opinion matters to us. The issues you had are brought to the management's attention. The housekeeping has been counseled regarding this matter. We appreciate our guests who brings out our flaws so that we could train our staff to... More 

Charlotte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Nothing special, but it was CLEAN. Front desk was friendly. Beds are small. Seems like they are still in the process of renovations. The heating system loud. For the price, I was very pleased. I will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing us. I am glad your stay was comfortable.. You are right. We are renovating and now have LED TVs in all our rooms. We still have few things lined up in renovations. We hope you give us an opportunity to accommodate you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (63)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockingham
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rockingham
0.4 mi away
Budgetel Inn and Suites
Budgetel Inn and Suites
#6 of 10 in Rockingham
3.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Rockingham
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Bennettsville
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
20.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Laurinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
18.3 mi away
Quality Inn Cheraw
Quality Inn Cheraw
#1 of 4 in Cheraw
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay