We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
516 S. Hancock Street, South on US 1, Rockingham, NC 28379 (Formerly Murray Hill Motel)
Special Offer
Stay & Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I enjoyed excellent service in this beautiful little motel in Rockingham. A nice room and excellent staff, I appreciated the comfort and style provided by America's Best Value Inn. There was continental breakfast available every morning and the folks at the desk were always very friendly!

Helpful?
Thank Austin Glock A
abvirock, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Our staff work very hard to provide our guests with quality service and a pat on the back always makes them proud to work at this establishment. We appreciate your stay and hope to accommodate you in near future. From all of us at Americas Best Value Inn, Happy New Year, to you and... More 

Conway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Overall nice places to stay looked a "little run down" stains on the ceiling and I the bathroom. People are always very nice to help you in any way. It is where I go everytime I go up there to see family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cwcook9403
abvirock, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and suggestions and are in process of gradually renovating the place. Thank you so much for taking time to review us that shows that you care. Wishing you and your family a very happy new year and we will see you soon. More 

Colerain, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

This was the worst place I have stayed as a state of NC employee. I asked for a no smoking room and was placed in a room that had been smoked in. The room was dirty. The place was old and damp. The service was marginal. The ONLY good thing was that the bed was ok to sleep on.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank woglom
abvirock, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We appologise for the experience you had at our hotel. We were unaware of the Non-smoking room issue. Wish we could have known about it to provide you with another room. Your comments are brought to the proper department's attention. Please send me the email detailing everything so that we could further look into the matter and assure you that... More 

Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

We were very pleased with our room and the staff at the motel. We will definitely return. This was our second stay at the same place. The room was very clean and the facility was very well kept and also stocked. The staff was very friendly. Our stay was great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aanissakay
abvirock, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure having you. On behalf of the hotel team we thank you for taking time to review us. We are glad we were able to accommodate you again and we look forward to having you at our hotel again. Happy Holidays from our ABVI family to your family. More 

Roanoke, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Great place to stay clean and reasonable rates. They had a nice breakfast. Coffee maker was in room. Quite location. The staff were very pleasant. They gave us ideas on where to eat and shop. We will certainly stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alice W
abvirock, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time in reviewing us. We are glad your stay was comfortable and we look forward to accommodating you soon. Happy holidays to you and your family on behalf of our staff. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Visited this sleepy town for a family function nearby, ended up staying here for 10 nights. Jay and Jodi were very welcoming and treated us like family. While the rooms are not exactly 5* they are clean and comfortable and good value for the price we paid. We did have a couple of small issues but these were taken care... More 

Helpful?
Thank AMP17
abvirock, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to serve you. On behalf of the management and staff, we thank you for taking time in reviewing us. Hope you made it back home safely and your shoulder is better now. Wishing you the very best and hope to be able to accommodate you again in near future. More 

Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

We have stayed here before and the people are great. Good location, rooms are fine for the price. This is an older motel and there are much better hotels in the area but the price doubles. They offer the basic continental breakfast but there are plenty of places to eat nearby if you want a full meal.

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Always a pleasure to have you as our guest. Best wishes for your future projects and hope you give us an opportunity to accommodate your crew in near future. More 

Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

People generally only stay in Rockingham, NC because they have to. It is a gritty, seedy little town that has definitely seen better days. Most of the motels in Rockingham reflect the condition of the town - run down and pathetic. I had hoped this motel would be different - it wasn't. The property is in desperate need of a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ThaddeusGresham
abvirock, Public Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time in reviewing us. Any comments concerning the hotel service and quality are well taken. As you might have noticed during your stay, we are in process of renovating the place and will continue our renovation project till the rest of the year. We are surprised to see Tripadvisor.com posting the ethnicity comments on the review... More 

Moundsville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

We booked this room by phone 20 minutes before our arrival late in the evening. We had been on the road all day long and decided we had to stop! I called a couple other places but no rooms were available. The lady who took our reservation was pleasant and polite...and we found her to be very sweet during our... More 

Helpful?
Thank LMS34
abvirock, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We appreciate your compliments about the service. We are glad your stay was comfortable and as you must have noticed we are in process of renovations. We apologize for the cable issues you had to go through due to Time Warner Cable going digital. There are some issues we don't have control over but we try to provide our guests... More 

Rockingham, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Checked in and went to the room. One of the beds was like a see-saw. Looked under the bed to see if it could be fixed and apparently they need a new cleaning crew. Underneath was littered with a beer box and beer cans. Didn't even want to look any further, but for the price I guess it'll do.

Helpful?
Thank Tina T
abvirock, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you took in reviewing us. Your suggestions are well taken and we are in process of changing our staff in housekeeping. We look forward to giving us an opportunity to accommodate you in future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (64)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockingham
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rockingham
0.4 mi away
Budgetel Inn and Suites
Budgetel Inn and Suites
#2 of 10 in Rockingham
3.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Rockingham
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
The Pine Inn
The Pine Inn
#1 of 1 in Pinebluff
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
20.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Laurinburg
23.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Bennettsville
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay