We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham

2.0 of 5 516 S. Hancock Street, South on US 1, Rockingham, NC 28379 (Formerly Murray Hill Motel)
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
4
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Delaware, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cheap. That is why we stayed. Checked trip advisor and saw some good reviews. So felt confident. We like to stay in Rockingham on the way to Myrtle. Friendly staff. And all the basics were covered. Good size room and it was pretty clean. But the floor/carpet was dirty. TV was old. Decor was old. Parking wasn't well lit. Didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to express your suggestions. We are in process of renovations currently and are keeping in mind the flaws that are pointed out. We thank you for your opinion because it shows that you care and suggestions like these makes us aware of the standards our guests expect from us. We hope you come visit us... More

Whiteford, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff was friendly and went out of their way but cleaning could have been better. Close to shopping and food ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us. Your suggestions are well taken and discussed. Your opinion matter to us and gives us an opportunity to improve where needed. Thanks again. Hope to see you again. More

Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

when we checked in they cold not find our reservation. The room was ok. Great shower pressure. Breakfast not much. Here is the part that almost made this a poor rating. We needed more waffle batter. She took the container in the back and left the door open and I saw here use water from a laundry sink to mix... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time in reviewing us. We apologize for not been able to find your reservation. It was only because it was entered for the next day accidently. We all could make honest mistakes. But we are glad we were able to accommodate you with the type of room you had the reservation for. We try to make... More

Woodleaf, NC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Not high-end but I didn't pay for high-end. Good value for what I paid. Room was clean. Breakfast wasn't much - just a waffle maker and couple muffins. Service was great - I paid over the phone before I arrived and had no problems. I would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to accommodate you. Your suggestions are well noted. We look forward to serving you again. More

Northfield, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have stayed at ABVI for 3 years now. It is our first checkpoint on our way to our vacation. We liked it so much that my parents have joined us. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and quiet. This hotel is located in a safe part of town. I have always felt safe staying... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Thank you very much, Ms. Sheri for reviewing us. It is always a pleasure having you here. We feel like we are extending our family when we see familiar faces coming to visit us. We hope you are having a great vacation. We look forward to having you here in 2015. Take care. More

Alexandria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I spent five days at this motel. It was a great place to rest my head each night after long days in the hot sun watching women's golf!!!! The accommodations were perfect for what I needed and the price was right!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

On behalf of our team at Americas Best, we appreciate your kind words of review. It was a great week to meet people from all over the world. It was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to get the opportunity again in future. Take care. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at the Rockingham ABVI during the US Open at Pinehurst. The front desk person was great, the property not so much. Specifically, the rooms are very tired. I would guess it has been decades since any kind of refresh. I understand this is not a "high-end" property, but a redo once every 8-10 years would be nice. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

First of all, I apologise for the inconvenience you had during your stay. In four days of your stay, if you would have contacted us regarding your concerns we would have made sure that we satisfy your needs. We are here 24 hours at the desk and all our employees are notified to contact the management for any dissatisfaction to... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Clean rooms, great staff and quiet...what more to ask for? No gangs, no drama, no problems staying here. The front desk and staff do all they can to make your stay great, and if you can't like this place, you're one of those who are never satisfied and simply can't be pleased. I'm a frequent renter here as I travel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

On behalf of our management team and staff members, thank you so much for taking time to review us. More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

If you find yourself in Rockingham, NC., Americas Best Value Inn is a great place to stay. The rooms are clean the water is hot and the shower drains well...these are my pet peaves. They have high speed internet and cable TV that actually works. I was recently at the OBX and the cable and internet was out all week... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
abvirock, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

On behalf of our staff, we thank you for taking time in reviewing us. We are glad your stay was comfortable. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope that you visit us every time you are in the area. Best wishes. - Jay and Jyoti Patel More

Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Americas Best Value Inn in Rockingham and were treated like stars. The staff was extremely helpful with everything from a great breakfast to directions around town and to home. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvirock, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again in near future. Hope the weather is clearing up now at home. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham

Address: 516 S. Hancock Street, South on US 1, Rockingham, NC 28379 (Formerly Murray Hill Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Rockingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

67 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (60)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay