We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
516 S. Hancock Street, South on US 1, Rockingham, NC 28379 (Formerly Murray Hill Motel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
6
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
South Daytona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the properties clean the rooms are a little dated but very clean overall the helpfulness and quality of the staff was excellent. I left an expensive phone charger and they went out of their way to return it

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to review us. We are gradually renovating keeping in mind the new trend and expectations from our guests. We look forward to your visit again. Best wishes. More 

Delaware, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well. The TVs were newer. That was nice. There wasn't much change though. I had read they were doing some renovations. They have some work in front of them if that is the case. We stayed in room 233 and the ceiling was falling. Two 8x4 sheets were sagging badly. The door closed and locked. But you could see clear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience you had at our hotel during our renovations. You are right, we are renovating one section at a time keeping in mind our guests's needs. Unfortunately, we were not able to satisfy you again. I did not see any complaints on your records here at check out. Most of the time, if any issues or... More 

Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we pulled back our bed there was hair all over the sheets! So nasty...also found hair in shower. Will never stay at America's Best Value again! Would not recommend to anyone. Wifi was free but connection was not good. Had flat screen TV's but picture was fuzzy on all stations. We put towels down on floor so we wouldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We, sincerely, apologize to you for the bad experience you had at our hotel. You are a valued guest and your opinion matters to us. The issues you had are brought to the management's attention. The housekeeping has been counseled regarding this matter. We appreciate our guests who brings out our flaws so that we could train our staff to... More 

Charlotte
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Nothing special, but it was CLEAN. Front desk was friendly. Beds are small. Seems like they are still in the process of renovations. The heating system loud. For the price, I was very pleased. I will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing us. I am glad your stay was comfortable.. You are right. We are renovating and now have LED TVs in all our rooms. We still have few things lined up in renovations. We hope you give us an opportunity to accommodate you again. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

I enjoyed staying at Best Value in Rockingham on my last trip to NC! The management was so friendly and accomodating both times I stayed. I left behind an item and they saved it for me which told me they cared about pleasing their customers. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. I plan on making this a regular stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time in reviewing us. It was such a pleasure having you here. Hope you made it back ok. We look forward to having you back in near future. Take care. More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I stayed here about 20 separate days between August and December 2013, and enjoyed my stay each time. The management was always very friendly and accommodating, the rooms were reasonably nice, and prices were the best in the area in respect to the accommodations provided. I strongly recommend it if you're staying in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Wishing you and your family a very happy new year. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again this year. More 

Sulphur
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Nothing really special, but we just needed a place to stay for the night. Hot water was hot, room was clean, front desk was friendly and area was fine. We had no problems during our one-night stay. Free Wifi worked fine too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

On behalf of the staff at our hotel, a hearty thank you for taking time to review us. We hope you visit us again. Wishing you and your family very Happy Holidays! More 

Independence, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Place was dirty...carpeting didn't look like it was vacuumed and there was a chunk of food on the bed. I felt sick in the room but not out of the room. Reserved two nights...only stayed one. Had things to do in the area so we checked out at 3pm. Discussed the above issues with the room and that it was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to apologize for the lock issue due to weather but there are some maintenance issues that come up unexpected. We would definitely not want any of our guests to spend a night in a room if the bed had food on it. Our housekeepers' work is checked behind after completing all the rooms. I,... More 

Delaware, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Cheap. That is why we stayed. Checked trip advisor and saw some good reviews. So felt confident. We like to stay in Rockingham on the way to Myrtle. Friendly staff. And all the basics were covered. Good size room and it was pretty clean. But the floor/carpet was dirty. TV was old. Decor was old. Parking wasn't well lit. Didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to express your suggestions. We are in process of renovations currently and are keeping in mind the flaws that are pointed out. We thank you for your opinion because it shows that you care and suggestions like these makes us aware of the standards our guests expect from us. We hope you come visit us... More 

Whiteford, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Staff was friendly and went out of their way but cleaning could have been better. Close to shopping and food ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvirock, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Rockingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us. Your suggestions are well taken and discussed. Your opinion matter to us and gives us an opportunity to improve where needed. Thanks again. Hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (62)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities