We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Pangbourne hotels

The Elephant at Pangbourne

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Church Rd, Pangbourne RG8 7AR, England
Hotel amenities
The Elephant at Pangbourne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Elephant at Pangbourne to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ktigger London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    58
    30
    11
    8
See reviews for
19
95
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (171)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Elephant and it has so much to recommend it but unfortunately its let down by some minor points The good points: 1 - really comfortable beds with lovely sheets, duvets, pillows, etc 2 - nice garden 3 - very dog friendly even down to providing bowls and pet bed 4 -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night in the chic double (The Empire room or number 7) which was as requested a comfortable and quiet room. The room had a double aspect overlooking the church and gardens below. Having stayed in the sister hotel at Bucklers Hard, we are well acquainted with 'quirky' so we knew what to expect with how the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

thank your for your comments, we have actioned all of the maintenance issues that you have highlighted and im pleased to say that the plumbing issue has been rectified More 

Horsham St Faith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here in October with my partner (we got engaged here so I may be biased) and had a lovely stay. We stayed for one night. The bed was very comfy, loved the little things in the room that made it unique. The blackcurrant liqueur, the tea pigs and tea pot. Food in the bar was delicious and great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

thanks for such a great review and congratulations! If your looking for a wedding venue in this area then please do get in touch More 

Berkhamsted, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding on a Sat night. The service was outstanding, the venue was really special, the staff couldn't do enough for us, running around ensuring that all the bars were stocked all night. We stayed in the Spice room & it was really special - the bed was very comfortable & the bottle of elderflower spirit was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

thank you for your review, we are very glad that you enjoyed the wedding and our accommodation More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a 2 night break, for a friend's wedding. From the moment we arrived until we left, we kept on saying what a nice hotel it was. Our room, number 7, was fantastic. It was a great size, with a huge bed and a lovely, well-appointed bathroom. We ate dinner in the hotel bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

many thanks for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Hoping for a relaxing GnT after a lengthy drive v disappointed to find public bar closed for a wedding from 3pm on a Sat. Surely there's enough space with the function room, cocktail bar and restaurant without need to take over public bar too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

many apologies for not being able to serve you, it is very rare that we close to the public as you will know as we have such a good local trade that we are very grateful for More 

Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 via mobile

We were attracted by the deal of two main courses and a bottle of house wine for £20. It was clear this was a popular offer because the place was busy. The building is really good and characterful. My wife has fish and chips, cannot speak for the fish since I did not try it but the chips were good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

thank you for your review, sorry that you didn't enjoy the salad, its a very popular dish More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We've passed this place a multitude of times and it has such a wonderful interesting and grand exterior it's always been inviting. Decor wise - It's unique and reasonably well thought out… I just so wish the menu and food had the same attention paid to it. Having eaten in the bar, the menu itself in terms of content was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts, apologies that you felt this way as we really do try and cater for all of our guests More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night and it was an awful experience. The food is terrible; the food is not fresh and is left out for ages before being served. The cheesecake was soggy and clearly bought it ( although this was denied) and in general it was horrible!! Not a very good experience, we wouldn't stay here again .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you feel this way about your stay with us, we would really like you to contact us at the hotel so we can rectify the situation as this certainly isn't up to our usual standard. More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My and my friend stayed for 1 night on Sunday 24th August, considering it was bank holiday weekend we got a great price which included breakfast. There was no one at reception when we arrived but we managed to get someone tracked down, room wasn't ready (to be fair we were nearly 1 hour early!), we ordered hot drinks and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

many thanks for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Elephant at Pangbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant at Pangbourne

Address: 3 Church Rd, Pangbourne RG8 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant at Pangbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Elephant at Pangbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant At Pangbourne Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Pangbourne

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay