We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Pangbourne hotels

The Elephant at Pangbourne

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Church Rd, Pangbourne RG8 7AR, England
Hotel amenities
The Elephant at Pangbourne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Elephant at Pangbourne to your Saves list
74%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Dr John K
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    58
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
19
90
4
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (166)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hoping for a relaxing GnT after a lengthy drive v disappointed to find public bar closed for a wedding from 3pm on a Sat. Surely there's enough space with the function room, cocktail bar and restaurant without need to take over public bar too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

many apologies for not being able to serve you, it is very rare that we close to the public as you will know as we have such a good local trade that we are very grateful for More

Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were attracted by the deal of two main courses and a bottle of house wine for £20. It was clear this was a popular offer because the place was busy. The building is really good and characterful. My wife has fish and chips, cannot speak for the fish since I did not try it but the chips were good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

thank you for your review, sorry that you didn't enjoy the salad, its a very popular dish More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We've passed this place a multitude of times and it has such a wonderful interesting and grand exterior it's always been inviting. Decor wise - It's unique and reasonably well thought out… I just so wish the menu and food had the same attention paid to it. Having eaten in the bar, the menu itself in terms of content was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts, apologies that you felt this way as we really do try and cater for all of our guests More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night and it was an awful experience. The food is terrible; the food is not fresh and is left out for ages before being served. The cheesecake was soggy and clearly bought it ( although this was denied) and in general it was horrible!! Not a very good experience, we wouldn't stay here again .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you feel this way about your stay with us, we would really like you to contact us at the hotel so we can rectify the situation as this certainly isn't up to our usual standard. More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My and my friend stayed for 1 night on Sunday 24th August, considering it was bank holiday weekend we got a great price which included breakfast. There was no one at reception when we arrived but we managed to get someone tracked down, room wasn't ready (to be fair we were nearly 1 hour early!), we ordered hot drinks and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

many thanks for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I had a one night stay in this hotel and I was very happy with the whole experience from the nice check in, the room, the evening meal and to the great nights sleep I enjoyed. I stayed out in the annex building and was extremely surprised. Spacious room, well decorated and a handy location despite being separate from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

thanks for such a positive review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us More

Figeac
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We were absolutely charmed by this unexpected find. There is a real feeling of colonial style and many charming objets d'art from the far east dotted around. We had a delightful bedroom and bathroom overlooking the spacious garden (so very quiet) with everything you could think of provided including lovely toiletries, speciality teas and a small bottle of a local... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

thank you for such a great review and glad you got on your way without too much trouble More

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We visited the hotel last week for a birthday party. The food in the restaurant was very good. The staff, especially our waitress Irene were lovely. There was a wedding at the hotel and only one bar staff on. Service was a bit slow, not his fault as he was very busy. Two male members of our company, said the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

many thanks for taking the time to review, we are looking at the issues mentioned so they don't happen again More

Reading, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I visited The Elephant for a working lunch. Food was lovely - although a little hard to eat the burger without making a complete mess. Service was fairly quick. As it was a lovely sunny day we decided to sit outside - the garden was a lot bigger than I'd expected and the tables were far enough apart that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

thanks for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your lunch and hope to see you again soon More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We visited the hotel for a long weekend break having come across the hotel on an internet search. The hotel and bedrooms are nicely decorated and the welcome received by the staff on arrival was very good. However, the real star is the restaurant. Exceptional quality and a real surprise. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt B, Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review

thanks for such a nice review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Elephant at Pangbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant at Pangbourne

Address: 3 Church Rd, Pangbourne RG8 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant at Pangbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Elephant at Pangbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant At Pangbourne Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Pangbourne

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay