We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 80 Raleigh hotels

Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 1786 (Formerly Clarion Hotel State Capital)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Travelocity Priceline.com
and 6 more sites!
45%
Ranked #50 of 80 hotels in Raleigh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
LorrifromWelcome Welcome, Maryland
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    54
    50
    23
    35
See reviews for
18
48
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Rock n Roll Raleigh was on my to do list for April 13, 2014. Had booked room months before marathon and asked about late checkout since the check out time is 11am! They said no problem just tell the front desk when you sign in. Two weeks before marathon again placed call to confirm registration and late check out. Told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Orlando F, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Congratulations on completing the full marathon at Rock N Roll 2014! I apologize for the confusion regarding extended checkout. Due to the substantial number of guests requesting late-checkouts, it made it extremely difficult to accommodate everyone. I would like for you to contact me so we can further discuss and give me the opportunity to make this... More

Welcome, Maryland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was not the hotel I booked. We ended up here because the one we booked was experiencing maintenance problems. The front desk was friendly. The hotel is old, I thought it was going to be dirty, however I was pleasantly surprised, the floor we stayed on had recently been remodeled. It was clean, with brand new carpeting, fresh bedding.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Orlando F, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay. The foundation of our hotel is old but we recently completed a multi million dollar renovation. On your next visit, please check out our Skye Tower Restaurant and Bar located on our top floor, best view in Downtown Raleigh! Regards, Orlando Faison More

King, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the hotel during a technology conference because it was within walking distance to the convention center. While I was there the water lines messed up & caused all of the showers and sinks to have cold water with virtually no water pressure. Being that this was a business trip this was a HUGE inconvenience and the saddest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Chelsea D, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel from the convention center. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with your room accommodations and the service you received did not live up to your expectations. We have sent... More

Chesley, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

very nice redone hotel these round holiday inns are ancient great parking not bad location with a few local restaurants nearby $90 on priceline But the breakfast restaurant is a disaster!! ARE they on strike??? there was only 1/3 full but the wait staff didnt seem to be bothered to clear any dirty tables. we got the buffet which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Highlights of this stay: While we were there on two separate occasions the hotel lost water pressure and the ability to heat the water to many rooms including ours. In addition, during a rain storm one of the windows in our leaked water into our room. We were with a group traveling on business from a public school. We missed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review

Dear PublicT444, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGCare More

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel has recently gone through a make over, but it was done cheep (like putting lipstick on a pig). Having said that, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff is accommodating. The location is convenient walking distance to downtown restaurants and bars. A couple of issues though: The hotel room keys just kept failing....which is a big... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Ed M, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel in the area and found our staff to be friendly. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with your room keys and any shortfalls you have experienced that did not... More

Elon College, North Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have stayed several times before in this hotel when it was still the Clarion and enjoyed my stay very much, so I expected great things in the newly renovated Holiday Inn. I was VERY disappointed. Problems in order of level of inconvenience: 1) No hot water: The first morning of my stay, I arose at 6am and could only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Tom D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review

Dear BZTaylor, Thank you so very much for taking your time to reflect on your recent stay at our newly refreshed property. We certainly appreciate the kind words in reference to your feelings regarding the new rooms and promise we will have the restaurant breakfast in order as you knew it! We cannot apologize enough for the items in which... More

Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My friend and I drive down from Va for the opening of her boyfriends new restaurant. I stayed in my own room and check-in was seamless. The room was clean, great bed, but the heating/cooling unit is terrible. There is no real comfortable setting. For a newly renovated hotel I expected more. There is also no seal on the doors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando F, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I apologize that your stay was less than accommodating. It is our goal to make sure guests are happy with their accommodations from arrival to departure. In this instance, we fell short of our desired goal, which I am truly sadden by. Please contact me directly so I can bring some sense of resolution for the mishaps... More

Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I find myself at the Clarion every other month or so when I am in Raleigh for business and I have found it to be a comfortable place to be. I was pleasantly surprised with the new renovations but my favorite bartender seems to be missing! I have found it to be an extremely enjoyable to interact with a service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando F, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, From a fellow Wilmingtonian to another, thank you for choosing our downtown location for your lodging accommodations, yet again. Please come back and visit on your next visit to Raleigh, as we are nearing the final stages of becoming Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown-Capital! Thank you for your patronage, Orlando Faison More

Cusco, Peru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed one night there. At the beginning it was great then you can hear very loud sounds cuz I think the walls are thin so you can hear everything but is not that big problem is fine with us because We booked at last minute. The biggest problem was that after Charleston we come back and dropped our phone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Orlando F, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with our front desk staff. I can ensure you this not the way we treat our guest and I will research the incident. Please feel free to contact me if I can provide any further assistance. Thank you, Orlando Faison... More

Been to Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown

Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Raleigh
Clarion State Capital
Clarion Raleigh
Raleigh Clarion
Address: 320 Hillsborough Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 1786 (Formerly Clarion Hotel State Capital)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 80 hotels in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly rebranded to the Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, you will find all of the modern conveniences within our historic building located in the heart of Downtown Raleigh. Just blocks from NC's State Capital, Raleigh's Convention Center, the performing arts, fine dining and nightlife. Our hotel has completed its full renovation including guestrooms, restaurant and lounge, business center, fitness center, exterior entrance and all function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.