We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Ocracoke hotels

The Silver Lake Motel & Inn

Save Saved
You added The Silver Lake Motel & Inn to your Saves list
395 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC
Hotel amenities
The Silver Lake Motel & Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    16
    12
    25
See reviews for
25
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I absolutely love to get away to Ocracoke Island and when I do, my favorite place to stay is the Silverlake Inn. It's very family-friendly, close to everything on the island, has great sunsets and very friendly people. The rooms are very old style, and quaint, reminiscent of the true old-school Ocracoke. And it's pet friendly which is really important!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

What a great way to end our season! We closed for the season on Sunday, October 19 and this review just made my day. Thank you so much for you comments and your visit to Silver Lake Motel and Inn. You pretty much summed up what the Silver Lake is...old style, friendly and quaint. And we love that we can... More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

VERY MOLDY! The entire place smelled very musty and made it very difficult to breath every morning. Upon arrival, we had a very difficult time finding a light that would turn on. Even after finding a light, there were many light bulbs that were out. Also, every time you turned on a light the breaker would trip. The beds are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Ouch. I sent this post to the GM right away and heard back from him. He said he had called you. We are very sorry you had such a bad experience at our inn. We do wish you had let us know of any of these issues while you were here so we could have moved you to another room... More

greensboro,nc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I do miss staying at The Silver Lake Inn. Plenty of room to do what you want. I always had a view of the lighthouse when I relaxed on the porch. Very intriging at night. Got introduced to this establishment when it was the only one left that still had a room. And have been a Big fan ever since.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oldobxer, Guest Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words here, we appreciate you sharing your experience at the Silver Lake Motel and Inn. It is always rewarding to hear that you plan on coming back. Thanks again More

Newport, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here years ago and enjoyed it and it is still a good place to stay. It's older and showing it's age but we still enjoy sitting on the deck overlooking Silver Lake and walking to the Jolly Roger for music and drinks. I'm sure it needs lots of upkeep but hope they keep on doing it because we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your nice review here. We sincerely appreciate it. We are laid back and I agree, we are an "oldie but goodie". Please come back and stay with us again. More

Brevard, NC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Silver Lake Inn and Motel. Our room was a delightful surprise. We booked a suite and had a full kitchen; large living room area, bedroom and wonderful deck with one of the best harbor views available. We could monitor the incoming Ferries on a daily basis! Our room had recently... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments -- and the room number too!--here on tripadvisor. We know that many people use this site to choose where they want to stay and we appreciate it when our guests share their experiences. It sounds like you had a great time on Ocracoke and at Silver Lake Motel and Inn, glad to hear it.... More

Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Stayed here for wife's 50th Birthday. Stayed in SL11 which is the old bar before it was converted into a suite. This room has the best view on the island! Spacious, still has bar top in it, nice King bed and two levels of deck over looking the harbor and the Jolly Roger. The desk staff was friendly and helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

A belated but sincere Happy Birthday and thank you for your review of Silver Lake Motel and Inn. SL 11 does have great views. Glad to hear you had a good stay and please do come back. More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We stayed in suite 208 for 4 nights 8/31 to 9/4. The rooms were clean and spacious. AC was nice and cold but turned it off at times and opened both sliding doors to enjoy the breeze and the temp. Both the king and queen beds were firm and comfortable. The kitchen was fine for our needs, a little sparse... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review here, we appreciate it. You are right, this is not a Hilton, and we do have our quirks and our charms...just like the island itself. And yes, our sunsets are truly amazing. I hope you will be able to come back soon. Thanks again. More

Eastern NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We visited for a week beginning August 10th. We were pleased that The Silver Lake (TSL) was able to accommodate our request for a Sunday to Sunday stay. We stayed in suite 101 because we were looking for room for four that was also pet friendly. While the room did appear a bit dated, we were very pleased with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Glad you had a good stay and thank you for your nice comments about Silver Lake Motel and Inn. We are not fancy but we hope our guests find our inn comfortable and you are right, the location is just wonderful. And the sunsets do not disappoint. It is always gratifying to hear that someone enjoyed their time at Silver... More

Beaufort, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We have stayed numerous times at the Silver Lake and have never been disappointed up until now. We staying in 301A Suite and the roof was leaking in several spots, there was mold growing on the ceiling in the bedrooms, the shower door was broken, freezer door would not stay shut, the door going outside would not stay closed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay with us. We value all of our guests, and especially appreciate those who return to us year after year so it was especially difficult to read this and realize how unhappy you were. I will make sure that the manager sees this review so the issues you mentioned can be... More

Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We were disappointed with this hotel. After booking two rooms one was very moldy smelling and our second room had mold in the bathroom. This caused my son to have trouble breathing and we had to move hotels. We don't recommend this hotel and not stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at The Silver Lake Motel. We always hope our guests enjoy their time here. I have forwarded your post to the innkeeper who will address with housekeeping. Thank you for your post, while difficult to read, we do count on all reviews, negative and positive, to help us learn and... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Silver Lake Motel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Lake Motel & Inn

Address: 395 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
The Silver Lake Motel And Inn
The Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay