We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Ocean Isle Beach hotels

The Winds Resort Beach Club

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   310 E 1st Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Save Saved
You added The Winds Resort Beach Club to your Saves list
The Winds Resort Beach Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
83%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Ted B Elmira, New York
  • Reviews (398)
  • Photos (194)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (101)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    82
    31
    16
    21
See reviews for
157
148
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our family usually vacations in neighboring Oak Island but my son and his bride decided to have their wedding at The Winds on Ocean Isle. After reading the reviews I was not really looking forward to staying here because of comments of the moisture issues and less than pleasant motel staff. I'm very glad I gave it a shot! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Ted B – Congratulations on the marriage of your son. Thank you for giving us “a shot” and staying with us. And thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We seek to provide each of our guests with the personal attention they need and deserve. I am glad you found that both our property... More

whitmire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at The Winds the week of June 22, 2014 and LOVED this place!!! We will defiantly return. The room was super clean and comfortable. Our king bed was almost as comfortable as our bed at home. Excellent house keeping service every morning. Staff members were all very friendly and attentive to anything we needed. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Michael & Virginia Dillard, Thank you for staying with us this June. We greatly appreciate your patronage. And thank you so much for the glowing review. I’ll make certain our Executive Housekeeper tells her staff of your praise and I will pass your compliments on to our breakfast & Thirsti Tiki cooks. We hope that your next visit to... More

Cullowhee, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Winds is a place that is near and dear to my heart. When my family and I stay here, it takes me back to younger years. There is nothing that beats waking up in a comfy, ocean view room knowing that a delicious homemade breakfast is but a few steps away. From bacon, to corn beef hash, and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacations over the years with us. We love when our guests come back year after year. Thank you for your great comments about our breakfast buffet and our tropical grounds. We are... More

Lenor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I recently stayed at The Winds Resort Beach Club. It was a wonderful week of relaxation and fun. The rooms were so nice and comfortable. The staff was so helpful with anything we needed. Breakfast each morning was an added bonus. (The bacon is delicious!) My family and I will be back next year! Thanks to all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GarisonKaufman, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at The Winds and our rooms and free breakfast buffet (including bacon!). We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back soon! Warmest... More

Valle Crucis, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family members & I have stayed here countless times for over a decade ( probably more ) & always will. Staff members are always pleasant & helpful, our rooms have always been clean & comfortable, the breakfast is always very good ( love the biscuits & gravy ), parking is handy, the pool & hot tub always clean, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others! We thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are happy to hear how much you enjoy our resort. You are correct, we are consistently renovating our property in order to give our guests a better vacation experience. We hope... More

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Their online reservation system is horrible. It deleted my children from my reservation and added my reservation for the date I made the reservation not the date I selected. Even though I made my reservation at almost midnight, the staff was unwilling to refund my money or give me a credit when I called the explain the error. We have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
GarisonKaufman, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

We regret that you encountered issues with our online booking system. As on most online booking engines, occasionally, when a guest has entered into a secure connection and goes back to a previous page, the information options reset to default settings - which is the day you make the reservation. During our peak season we do have a no refund... More

Blfd
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have visited OIB for over twenty years but never stayed at The Winds Resort. I wish we had stayed there long ago! The resort offered everything we needed and more. Every member of the staff was friendly and very helpful. We will be back! I have read some less than stellar reviews but our trip was great. This is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GarisonKaufman, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others! We appreciate your wonderful comments about our resort and our staff. We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation at The Winds and we hope to have you back to stay with us again soon! Warmest Regards, Gary Pope Director Of Marketing More

Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ocean Isle is a great place to take the family to get away from the busy rush of Myrtle Beach - the beaches are nice and the access is good. The island does not offer many hotel or resort options - mostly private homes (which I would recommend). The Winds takes advantage of the lack of competition by charging 5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GarisonKaufman, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Ocean Isle. It is a wonderful beach, unlike many others. We are glad that you found our staff helpful and our rooms clean. While we do quite a lot of renovations... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Did not stay there, but went several nights to the Tiki Bar for drinks and lunch one day. Beautiful setting , can see the ocean and feel the cool ocean breeze. Kim was our waitress and she was great, very entertaining. Fun place to go!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others! We are so glad that you enjoyed the Tiki Bar and the ambience of the oceanfront pool, it's really a piece of paradise on the coast. We hope to have you back to the Tiki bar or to stay with us soon!... More

Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here during the oyster festival. Reserved for several nights, but could only stand to stay in the room for one night. That was after purchasing room deodorizers and placing them throughout the room. The smell took my breath. Went to office and complained and they could offer no solution. There were two large humidifiers in the room that sounded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear cif777, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your stay with us last October. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your room. As you may have gleaned from reading my replies, I have only recently joined the team here at The Winds and can truly only speak to the property and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Winds Resort Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Winds Resort Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winds Resort Beach Club

Address: 310 E 1st Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winds Resort Beach Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Winds Resort Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winds Resort Beach Club Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
The Winds Hotel Beach

194 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tropical island escape… closer than you think! An small, intimate island resort. Ideal for vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, reunions, golf excursions or small meetings. Located in the Northernmost subtropical region on the east coast. The Winds is set oceanfront surrounded by palms, banana trees and hibiscus flowers. Oceanfront rooms, suites and Resort Cottages. Three pools (one indoor), hot Southern breakfast buffet, oceanfront, poolside TikiBar/Restaurant (and more). Golf on over 90 Myrtle Beach area courses. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
86

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer