We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Ocean Isle Beach hotels

The Winds Resort Beach Club

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   310 E 1st Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Save Saved
You added The Winds Resort Beach Club to your Saves list
The Winds Resort Beach Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
83%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
triptastic104 Charlotte, NC
  • Overview
  • Reviews (409)
  • Photos (210)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (109)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    83
    34
    17
    21
See reviews for
163
151
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just spent Friday evening through Sunday morning at this hotel for a birthday weekend get away with a friend. The Winds was every bit as lovely as the pictures and the staff was very friendly. Our room was clean and airy and beautifully appointed. Everything about the hotel was convenient. We had a third floor garden view room on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear triptastic 104- Happy (belated) Birthday! Thank you for choosing The Winds as your celebration destination and thank you for sharing your comments with us and with others. I'm glad you enjoyed our full Southern Breakfast Buffet and the "secret" roof-top deck. Thank you too for mentioning our tropical gardens. I will pass your praises on to our Landscaping Team.... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only got to stay one night but will definitely be going again in near future. Such a nice, relaxing . beautiful place. Lush ocean front garden makes you feel like you are in a tropical oasis! Room was really nice and had all we needed to be comfortable. Beds were great and quiet relaxing atmosphere. We were across the street,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Sherry M - Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to share your observations with us and TripAdvisor readers. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the fact that , unlike most properties on Ocean Isle Beach, we do accept bookings for less than a week's stay. Mini-vacations can... More

Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our week at the Winds Resort Beach Club turned out to be the ideal vacation for our group of 14. The accommodations at the 5 bedroom/5 bath cottage were comfortable, spacious and clean. The beach was beautiful and surprisingly uncrowded, and the 2 pools and many activities offered kept everyone happy. A real plus was the buffet breakfast that is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Virginia & John F - Thank you for choosing The Winds as the site of your family's vacation and thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and TripAdvisor readers. I am glad you all enjoyed yourselves and am so pleased to hear you are considering returning to us. With so many coastal options between... More

Middlebury, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lack of options on Ocean Isle Beach are what keep this place in business. We stayed here for a family gathering and it seemed to be the best of the limited options on the island. The hotel is made up of a series of beach houses acquired over time, which maybe I should have picked up ahead of time,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear staceyrainey, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay on Ocean Isle Beach. It sounds as if you were seeking a large, hotel-style resort like you might find in Myrtle Beach or in some much larger destination, which we and OIB... More

Clemmons, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I just returned from a weekend visit at the Winds and felt compelled to share some observations. This was our second visit to the Winds in the last three (maybe four) years. Our first time, we thoroughly enjoyed everything about the property and agreed we would come back again as we did last weekend. This time, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear PhillyRick- Thank you for returning to The Winds. We appreciate both your patronage and your comments. I apologize that you were disappointed with your return visit to us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the details. I have passed your observations on to the appropriate department heads for them to review and follow-up. As you... More

Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just got home from 4 days and 3 nights at the Winds Beach Resort! We had a beautifully decorated, clean oceanfront room. We loved the pool and beautiful beach. Although the lady who checked us in was a bit rude while answering our many questions, the thirsty tiki staff made up for it! Kim has such a kind heart... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Rusty M, Thank you for electing to stay with us this month and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you felt your reception was not all it should have been. I will follow-up with my staff on that. On the other hand, I am pleased to learn... More

Westerville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Winds is the place my Mom and I come every summer for our "girls get away" we've been coming for I think it's ten years this year! We tried a few other beach spots before finding The Winds and once we did we knew it was "our" place. Myrtle Beach was too crowded and commercial and we moved to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear HeatherNG - Happy 10th "Anniversary!" Thank you for sharing the story of how you came to us with our TripAdvisor readers. I hope your girls getaway with us as also included taking advantage of some of the spa and massage options we offer as well as the rocking chairs, great drinks from our Thirsti Tiki and beautiful beach views.... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Winds Beach Resort. We had some issues during our stay (trash left on our deck from previous guest, air conditioner quit working on 95 degree day, DVD player not working, one of our rooms in our condo never cooled down) but the staff addressed these issues immediately and were very friendly about our complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Tuckerup- Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Winds and thank you for providing us with your feedback. Let me begin by offering my apologies to you for the inconveniences you experienced. I am pleased that our staff did address your concerns promptly and to your satisfaction. We believe it is our staff that really can... More

SouthCentral Pensylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family stayed for an abbreviated week over the July 4th 2014 holiday. We had a nice time. I will start with the beach, because that was the best part of our experience. It was clean, not too heavily populated, and quite pleasant. However, keep in mind that The Winds resort really has nothing to do with nature and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear StarryStarryNight- Thank you for celebrating Independence Day with us and thank you for providing us with your review. I am glad to learn that you had a nice time and enjoyed the beach. Unfortunately, washing machines do, occasionally, break down. I am sorry that you experienced such an instance. Our maintenance staff is here 7 days a week to... More

Lake Norman, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were working our way up the SC/NC coast without any sort of hotel reservations - figuring we'd end up at a Hampton Inn somewhere off Hwy 17. We got to Ocean Isle and decided to try to find a room there. We got lucky and The Winds had an ocean view room - for the same cost as we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Pam C - Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your first night so much that you extended your stay. When a room move is required, our Guest Services, Housekeeping and Maintenance coordinate to make the move as painless as possible.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Winds Resort Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Winds Resort Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winds Resort Beach Club

Address: 310 E 1st Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winds Resort Beach Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Winds Resort Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winds Resort Beach Club Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
The Winds Hotel Beach

210 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (145)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tropical island escape… closer than you think! An small, intimate island resort. Ideal for vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, reunions, golf excursions or small meetings. Located in the Northernmost subtropical region on the east coast. The Winds is set oceanfront surrounded by palms, banana trees and hibiscus flowers. Oceanfront rooms, suites and Resort Cottages. Three pools (one indoor), hot Southern breakfast buffet, oceanfront, poolside TikiBar/Restaurant (and more). Golf on over 90 Myrtle Beach area courses. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
86

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Winds Resort Beach Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer