We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Ocean Isle Beach hotels

The Winds Resort Beach Club

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   310 E 1st Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Save Saved
You added The Winds Resort Beach Club to your Saves list
The Winds Resort Beach Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
83%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Rusty M Warsaw, Indiana
  • Overview
  • Reviews (405)
  • Photos (206)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (106)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    83
    33
    17
    21
See reviews for
161
150
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just got home from 4 days and 3 nights at the Winds Beach Resort! We had a beautifully decorated, clean oceanfront room. We loved the pool and beautiful beach. Although the lady who checked us in was a bit rude while answering our many questions, the thirsty tiki staff made up for it! Kim has such a kind heart... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Rusty M, Thank you for electing to stay with us this month and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you felt your reception was not all it should have been. I will follow-up with my staff on that. On the other hand, I am pleased to learn... More

Westerville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Winds is the place my Mom and I come every summer for our "girls get away" we've been coming for I think it's ten years this year! We tried a few other beach spots before finding The Winds and once we did we knew it was "our" place. Myrtle Beach was too crowded and commercial and we moved to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear HeatherNG - Happy 10th "Anniversary!" Thank you for sharing the story of how you came to us with our TripAdvisor readers. I hope your girls getaway with us as also included taking advantage of some of the spa and massage options we offer as well as the rocking chairs, great drinks from our Thirsti Tiki and beautiful beach views.... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at the Winds Beach Resort. We had some issues during our stay (trash left on our deck from previous guest, air conditioner quit working on 95 degree day, DVD player not working, one of our rooms in our condo never cooled down) but the staff addressed these issues immediately and were very friendly about our complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Tuckerup- Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Winds and thank you for providing us with your feedback. Let me begin by offering my apologies to you for the inconveniences you experienced. I am pleased that our staff did address your concerns promptly and to your satisfaction. We believe it is our staff that really can... More

Apex, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I just returned home after a a very disappointing stay at The Winds Resort. Upon arrival we found the place in desperate need of upkeep and repair. Since we did not reserve an oceanfront room, we were sent across the street from the main office to find our room. which was not ready for 4PM check in.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear kathy m, Thank you for staying with us in July and thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I am confused by your statement that you needed to duck under a wall to get to your room. Of course that is not at all the case. The building's outside... More

SouthCentral Pensylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family stayed for an abbreviated week over the July 4th 2014 holiday. We had a nice time. I will start with the beach, because that was the best part of our experience. It was clean, not too heavily populated, and quite pleasant. However, keep in mind that The Winds resort really has nothing to do with nature and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear StarryStarryNight- Thank you for celebrating Independence Day with us and thank you for providing us with your review. I am glad to learn that you had a nice time and enjoyed the beach. Unfortunately, washing machines do, occasionally, break down. I am sorry that you experienced such an instance. Our maintenance staff is here 7 days a week to... More

Lake Norman, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were working our way up the SC/NC coast without any sort of hotel reservations - figuring we'd end up at a Hampton Inn somewhere off Hwy 17. We got to Ocean Isle and decided to try to find a room there. We got lucky and The Winds had an ocean view room - for the same cost as we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Pam C - Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your first night so much that you extended your stay. When a room move is required, our Guest Services, Housekeeping and Maintenance coordinate to make the move as painless as possible.... More

Carrboro, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First, I should note that we made a relatively last-minute booking and it was very hard to find a two-bedroom unit for just one night -- so I did appreciate that the Winds accomodated us. We had an oceanfront unit, and I did think the view was lovely. However, as others have noted, it is not really accurate to call... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear NCReviewer, Thank you for staying with us earlier this month. I’m glad you were able to find last minute accommodations to meet your needs. I’m also pleased to read that you enjoyed the Thirsti Tiki’s food, and had a good time staying with us. As you noted in your review, we do have a variety of room types and... More

Elmira, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family usually vacations in neighboring Oak Island but my son and his bride decided to have their wedding at The Winds on Ocean Isle. After reading the reviews I was not really looking forward to staying here because of comments of the moisture issues and less than pleasant motel staff. I'm very glad I gave it a shot! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Ted B – Congratulations on the marriage of your son. Thank you for giving us “a shot” and staying with us. And thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We seek to provide each of our guests with the personal attention they need and deserve. I am glad you found that both our property... More

whitmire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at The Winds the week of June 22, 2014 and LOVED this place!!! We will defiantly return. The room was super clean and comfortable. Our king bed was almost as comfortable as our bed at home. Excellent house keeping service every morning. Staff members were all very friendly and attentive to anything we needed. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Michael & Virginia Dillard, Thank you for staying with us this June. We greatly appreciate your patronage. And thank you so much for the glowing review. I’ll make certain our Executive Housekeeper tells her staff of your praise and I will pass your compliments on to our breakfast & Thirsti Tiki cooks. We hope that your next visit to... More

Cullowhee, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Winds is a place that is near and dear to my heart. When my family and I stay here, it takes me back to younger years. There is nothing that beats waking up in a comfy, ocean view room knowing that a delicious homemade breakfast is but a few steps away. From bacon, to corn beef hash, and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GarisonKaufman, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacations over the years with us. We love when our guests come back year after year. Thank you for your great comments about our breakfast buffet and our tropical grounds. We are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Winds Resort Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Winds Resort Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winds Resort Beach Club

Address: 310 E 1st Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winds Resort Beach Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Winds Resort Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winds Resort Beach Club Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
The Winds Hotel Beach

206 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tropical island escape… closer than you think! An small, intimate island resort. Ideal for vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, reunions, golf excursions or small meetings. Located in the Northernmost subtropical region on the east coast. The Winds is set oceanfront surrounded by palms, banana trees and hibiscus flowers. Oceanfront rooms, suites and Resort Cottages. Three pools (one indoor), hot Southern breakfast buffet, oceanfront, poolside TikiBar/Restaurant (and more). Golf on over 90 Myrtle Beach area courses. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
86

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer