We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Winds Resort Beach Club

Hotel website
310 E 1st Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Winds Resort Beach Club
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Winds Resort Beach Club
Add Photo Write a Review

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    283
    100
    41
    19
    23
See reviews for
183
171
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (466)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (195)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (112)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Wilson, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our oceanfront girls getaway weekend at your Resort. It was exactly what we wanted and your staff is very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean had everything we needed and we were so glad you had a wine opener we could borrow since I always seem to forget to pack one. The beds were very comfortable too.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Gwen B, Thank you for staying with us this past April. We’d be delighted to see you all back here next Spring. For wine enthusiasts, a wine opener is an essential tool. We are happy to be able to provide every guest room with one. Perhaps, on your 2016 “oceanfront girls getaway weekend” you’ll treat yourselves to a tour... More 

Wilson, North Carolina
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

“The Raven” a poem by Edgar Allen Poe employs one word again and again, “Nevermore” The devil bird answers every inquiry with his “Nevermore and nevermore” Our satisfying stay at “The Winds” has prompted me to change the “nevermore” to this one word,. “Evermore” Will I say a good word for “The Winds Ocean Resort?” Yes! Evermore and evermore” My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Dr. John, Our Hibiscus are red, The Ocean is blue, It’d be foolish if I tried to out do Both E.A. Poe and You. Thank you for favoring us with your presence this past week; and thank you for your poetic words of praise. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Winds and all of us, most... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The best thing I can say about this place is that the beach is beautiful and not croweded but you could stay anyhwere on the island to enjoy that. The place is outdated. The tiki bar and pool are old and shabby. We stayed there 3 nights and only at a the breakfast the first day beacause it just was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Eileen H, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for providing us and the TripAdvisor community with your review. I am pleased to know you found our beach beautiful; but I am sorry that you do not feel you received value for your money with your stay here. I further apologize that you were inconvenienced during your... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The resort has been amazing and the location is just wonderful. The atmosphere with the tiki bar next to pool, just steps to beach! Awesome! Perfect for a family get away!!! You should definitely stay minimum 5 nights(which was not enough for us) to feel the relaxation in your heart;))

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear kdrparlar, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for writing a review. I’m sorry you are already missing us. We welcome the opportunity to ease your sorrow soon when you are able to plan a return visit. Till then, well, it’s not quite a substitute, but you can at least refresh your memories of the beach by... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took a short vacation with family and we stayed at the Winds with only 2 weeks notice. Very relaxing, great pool, some of the friendliest staff ever, anywhere I have stayed. The beach was amazing, kids loved the pool, and morning sunrises are worth getting up early for. If you want a beach trip without the hustle and bustle and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear bristolsoxfan, Thank you for joining us at The Winds and thank you for providing us with your feedback. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your spur-of-the-moment vacation here and we look forward to providing you with the same friendly service on your next visit. Best regards, Garison R. Kaufman Guest Services Manager More 

Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for the third time at The Winds in June 2015 with a friend. On the previous two occasions I stayed in the Nautical Breeze and Mariners Breeze buildings and loved it. The hotel and beach are uncrowded, the rooms are nice and comfortable for beach hotel rooms, the grounds are lovely, the bar at the ocean front pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear triptastic104, Thank you for returning to us and thank you for providing us with feedback on your stays. We are, of course, very appreciative of all the compliments you have lavished on our staff and resort. I am sorry, however, that your experience with your most recent room did not match that of your prior stays. We try hard... More 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is nice, rooms look decent but they smell bad and the air conditioning is SO LOUD, which makes it very difficult to sleep. The bathrooms were disgusting and mostly broken. In one bathroom the shower head was ripped out of the wall, the bath was severely damaged and the sink was broken. In the other bathroom the shower felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear smithsm2020- Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry that you did not find The Winds to your satisfaction. Maintenance and I have checked your suite to follow up on the issues you noted. Although the shower head was not “ripped out of the wall,”... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff at The Winds could not be friendlier! Lee arrived early after a series of misadventures and they were so accommodating. We parked and went to the beach until the room was ready, then got settled in as soon as we could. Everyone was beyond friendly to our kids, and fave special attention to my little boy's broken arm.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Farreml 1, Thank you for staying with us at The Winds and thank you for providing us with your comments. I’m sorry you had “a series of misadventures” before you got to us. I am pleased, however, that we were able to get you in and settled and to provide you and your children all the special attention you... More 

Centreville, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I discovered The Winds back in the nineties and always found it a wonderful place to RELAX at the beach. Having not been back since 2006 my recent trip was a most pleasant surprise. Gratefully nothing much as changed on the island since then except for perhaps more homes being built. There are still no fast food or any chain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Penny L, Thank you for returning to The Winds and thank you for providing the TripAdvisor community with your review. I am glad your memories of The Winds were reinforced with your stay here this past May. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to us next year. In the meantime, I hope you have some fresh... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking for a place to completely relax and get away then look no further, you have found Nirvana. Mind you, that is only if you are okay with fun happening around you and being treated like part of a big family. I have never felt as welcomed by the folks employed by a resort as I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GarisonKaufman, Guest Services Manager at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Sherrie v, Thank you for staying with us this May and thank you for lavishing us with such praise. (Jodi, our Food & Beverage Manager is especially appreciative of the shout-out for the Mahi.) I am pleased to know that you felt welcomed by our staff. As a family owned resort, we try hard to offer our guests the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

240 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (175)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay