We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Islander Inn

2.5 of 5 57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Hotel website
Special Offer
2 nights for $99
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Islander Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Islander Inn
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    108
    33
    18
    12
See reviews for
110
137
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (338)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
There are newer reviews for Islander Inn
See the most recent reviews
Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Pretty good hotel. Beautiful ocean view. NIceTiki bar and gazebo. Good location- within walking distance of local restaurants - pier- and attractions. Continental breakfast could have been better. Rooms were clean and neat. Staff was very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated, we will definitely pass on your compliments to all of our staff. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach. Warmest Regards, Islander... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

First, the price for a oceanfront establishment is very good. The staff were also quite friendly and attentive. The room was very clean, as well. Now, having stayed here back in 2002, I have noticed the place starting to either show it's age or not being as well taken care of as is needed for an oceanfront hotel. - The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated, we will definitely pass on your compliments to all of our staff. We painted all of our ocean front rooms and right now we are doing all the sound side rooms... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We arrived on Sunday and stayed until the following Friday. Our room was clean and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in an Oceanfront room and the view was fabulous!!!! We had one problem with the shower (we did not report it until later in the evening). The staff opened the adjoining room for us to use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Islander Inn and sincerely value customers such as yourself.We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of our wonderful beach. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your kind words about our... More 

Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Location on the beach was perfect had ocean facing room great sunrise pics. Room nice size king bed need to be updated (too soft). We had our 11 year old lab with us so for us the stairs & elevator was a problem. Got lots of exercise walking our dog along the beach after Labour Day no time restriction. Weather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated, we will definitely pass on your compliments to all of our staff. Glad to hear you enjoyed our continental breakfast especially the coffee. Again, we look forward to seeing you again... More 

Indian Land, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Rooms were clean. View was excellent. Staff was super nice. Some of the most comfortable beds I had ever sleep in. I wanted to keep it short, and sweet, however this site says that I have to have at least 200 characters. I now have 266 so now I can post this review.

Was this review helpful? Yes
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated, we will definitely pass on your compliments to all of our staff. Very happy to hear that you thought our beds are so comfortable. Again, we look forward to seeing you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

The Islander Inn hotel was great, the staff was so friendly and caring, it is truly a pet friendly hotel. We went for a wedding/vacation and had a great time. The room facing the ocean was breathtaking, the hotel and the room were so clean I was so happy since out pet is a puppy and they try to eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers. Your kind words about our property are very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to see you again on a future visit to the Islander Inn! Warmest Regards, Islander inn. More 

Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located right on the beach. Enjoyed use of the outdoor and indoor pool as well as the hot tub. The breakfast was suitable and attended to by friendly staff. The towels are very thin and cheap. Overall we enjoyed our stay. There was a size able discount for staying 7 nights (20%)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the Islander Inn. Your kind words about our property and staff are very much appreciated, we will definitely pass on your compliments to all of our staff. Again, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ocean Isle Beach. Warmest Regards, Islander... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

My family stayed at the Islander Inn over labor day weekend. The location is certainly excellent, and on a nice beach. That's where the positive comments end. The staff, particularly at the front desk, was extremely rude and unfriendly. When I made a simple request to get towels after returning from the beach (because my room had not yet been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are unhappy to hear that your experience not as enjoyable as you would have liked. In regards to the issue you had, Your items were shipped to you as requested . Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our behalf. Your words about our property and staff are very much... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

The Islander Hotel is a great location on the beautiful beach in Ocean Isle, NC....but that's about it. The two women working at the hotel office front desk were rude, unfriendly and had no concept of customer service...very poor representation of this hotel. The website and advertising of this hotel is misleading! Our room carpet was dirty and dated, small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are unhappy to hear that your experience not as enjoyable as you would have liked. In regards to some of the issues you had, you can be assured that the staff issue has been taken care of and we do sincerely apologize for that. As far as us misleading people about the TV's we only advertise... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Right on the beach. We had a pet and were in last building from the office. No elevator at this end so it was a long way to walk. Didn't go to breakfast in the mornings because it was so many stairs and a hike to get there. Also only one entry to beach which is at the main office... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
theIslanderInn, Manager at Islander Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are unhappy to hear that your experience not as enjoyable as you would have liked. In regards to there being only 1 beach access that is the rules from the town and not ourselves here at the hotel. We do have only one elevator and that is behind our main office we are sorry to hear... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Address: 57 West First Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Islander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Islander Ocean Isle Beach

124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:25
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay