We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Oak Island hotels

Ocean Crest Motel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Crest Motel to your Saves list
1417 East Beach Drive, Oak Island, NC 28465
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF Extended
Ocean Crest Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oak Island
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Island
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    33
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
43
50
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We just stayed for two nightS while my husband fished at the pier. The staff was so accommodating from start to finish. We made our reservation at the last minute, and everything went smoothly. The room was exceptionally clean though nothing fancy. It came with a fridge, so we saved on eating out. We can highly recommend this motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Afton, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Ocean Crest Motel for the first time a few weeks ago. Awesome experience, very clean, super friendly. The owners were extremely hospitable and they were very involved in the motel itself and the guests. The beach was truly at our doorstep and almost seemed private due to the location. With the beach right outside your door... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here twice and both times it was a positive experience. We've stayed in an ocean front room both times. The hotel is definitely dated but clean. The front desk staff is friendly and we love the charm of the place. You are steps from the ocean and the motel is close to the grocery store, shopping, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was out first time in Oak Island and first time at Ocean Crest. Our room (yellow building 2nd floor) was small for 2 adults and a baby but very clean. Same with swimming pool, small but clean & well maintained. Can't beat the proximity to the beach for the price! So glad we found this place, we will definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our 4th year vacationing at Ocean Crest Motel. We absolutely love it!! We recommend you stay if you enjoy friendly people, clean rooms, easy accesses to beach and pier and a nice restaurant all with short walking distance. I need handicap room now, and for past 2 yrs. we have stayed in yellow building which has been GREAT. I'm told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steubenville, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a terrible experience. The room we got was next to leaking ice machine which made the walls in our room moldy. The room was very dark and dirty. While not expecting ocean front we were not told that when you walked out front door you were in the parking lot. The smell was so bad we could not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ocmownr, Owner at Ocean Crest Motel, responded to this review

I am very sorry you had a bad experience during your stay. We strive to insure our guests have a great experience. However, problems do occur in any motel as it does within your own home. I assure you that the ice machine problem was corrected the next day and the wall was thoroughly inspected. We did not find any... More

Troy, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved the hotel! It was very clean and well kept. The office staff was awesome! This was by far the best beach vacation that I have ever had. I look forward to going back soon! Thanks for making our vacation wonderful! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pinebluff, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Back home after another terrific eight day stay at Ocean Crest. I just can't say enough good things about the staff. Melissa and Sherry were friendly and went out of their way to help us extend our stay and extra day. The Townhouse was awesome as usual and we can't wait to get back there next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our second visit. Definitely recommend the blue building, ocean front room. No extended check out though. You must turn in your key by 11amor they threaten to charge another night. Fridge in room, but no microwave. Definitely a motel vs. a hotel, but not a bad place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Taylorsville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were so very lucky to have gotten a room at Ocean Crest Motel! We even stayed an extra night! Sherry in the office was so friendly and helped us add the extra night. Family member health issues made it difficult to plan more then two nights and so the third night had to be made at the last minute.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ocean Crest Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ocean Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Crest Motel

Address: 1417 East Beach Drive, Oak Island, NC 28465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Oak Island
Also Known As:
Ocean Crest Hotel Oak Island

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)