We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Oak Island hotels

Ocean Crest Motel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Crest Motel to your Saves list
1417 East Beach Drive, Oak Island, NC 28465
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF Extended
  • Overview
  • Reviews (130)
  • Photos (57)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (44)
  • Location
  • More
Ocean Crest Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Oak Island
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oak Island
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    32
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
43
49
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This was out first time in Oak Island and first time at Ocean Crest. Our room (yellow building 2nd floor) was small for 2 adults and a baby but very clean. Same with swimming pool, small but clean & well maintained. Can't beat the proximity to the beach for the price! So glad we found this place, we will definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our 4th year vacationing at Ocean Crest Motel. We absolutely love it!! We recommend you stay if you enjoy friendly people, clean rooms, easy accesses to beach and pier and a nice restaurant all with short walking distance. I need handicap room now, and for past 2 yrs. we have stayed in yellow building which has been GREAT. I'm told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steubenville, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a terrible experience. The room we got was next to leaking ice machine which made the walls in our room moldy. The room was very dark and dirty. While not expecting ocean front we were not told that when you walked out front door you were in the parking lot. The smell was so bad we could not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ocmownr, Owner at Ocean Crest Motel, responded to this review

I am very sorry you had a bad experience during your stay. We strive to insure our guests have a great experience. However, problems do occur in any motel as it does within your own home. I assure you that the ice machine problem was corrected the next day and the wall was thoroughly inspected. We did not find any... More

Troy, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved the hotel! It was very clean and well kept. The office staff was awesome! This was by far the best beach vacation that I have ever had. I look forward to going back soon! Thanks for making our vacation wonderful! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pinebluff, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Back home after another terrific eight day stay at Ocean Crest. I just can't say enough good things about the staff. Melissa and Sherry were friendly and went out of their way to help us extend our stay and extra day. The Townhouse was awesome as usual and we can't wait to get back there next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our second visit. Definitely recommend the blue building, ocean front room. No extended check out though. You must turn in your key by 11amor they threaten to charge another night. Fridge in room, but no microwave. Definitely a motel vs. a hotel, but not a bad place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Taylorsville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were so very lucky to have gotten a room at Ocean Crest Motel! We even stayed an extra night! Sherry in the office was so friendly and helped us add the extra night. Family member health issues made it difficult to plan more then two nights and so the third night had to be made at the last minute.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
mocksville, n.c.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a room in the blu building with an oceanfront balcony top floor. Clean and neat They were very friendly and helpful especially Sherry. There is a restaurant next door along with a long fishing pier Perfect for a beach gateway

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Youngstown, Ohio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the very first phone call to Sherry & 3 visits within 15 months & a 4th visit coming in October 2014-we obviously LOVE this little motel. Sherry answered the phone that day when my husband called to inquire about this place over 1 1/2 years ago, he had many questions since he is a bilateral double amputee & wheelchair... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Randleman, North Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I have been coming to the Ocean Crest since 1990. It's the relaxed atmosphere and the staff that brings us back year after year. The owner, Walt Lorgan, has made all the difference. Not only is he accommodating to your needs, but makes you feel as if you're part of the community, not just a visitor to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ocean Crest Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ocean Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Crest Motel

Address: 1417 East Beach Drive, Oak Island, NC 28465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Oak Island
Also Known As:
Ocean Crest Hotel Oak Island

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the beach providing a unique location on Oak Island and the area. Your choice of 3 room types at fair rates. Stay for 7-Only pay for 5 night special year round. Ask about our awesome oceanfront Townhouse that sleeps 8 persons! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
62

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Crest Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer